We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nearly perfect.BUT !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #10 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Rijkevorsel Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nearly perfect.BUT !!!!”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

A very nice hotel...where sometimes "design" is more important than customers comfort.
Breakfast,rooms,service at swimming pool and all inclusive services are super !
BUT ...do not use any of the services that are charged because the prices are scandalous!
So for instance they charged me nearly 600 bath for two "one minute" "local" phone calls..
real cost (verified!!) 14 bath ....this more than the room-maids earn in two days!!!And on my complaint desk-manager laughed in my face..so i promised too mention this on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deluc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCMGM, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Deluc01,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor.

I am glad to know that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind comments on our services.

I have taken a look at your two calls, which were both made to a mobile number and lasted a total of about 15 minutes. I apologise for the inconvenience these charges may have caused. As opposed to most other hotels we offer complimentary Wi-Fi acces to all our guests regardless of their room category and have notebooks available for free of charge use for our guests. Our IT team happily sets up your skype account on the notebook for your convenient use.

Once again my apologies for any inconvenience caused and I hope we may welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Regards
Stefan Noll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,898
    360
    81
    28
    19
See reviews for
465
1,269
117
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

we had a wonderful time at Chedi. The Club suite is very comfortable, clean and large. we stayed with our two kids. The staff was very polite, helpful and nice. The service was equally professional. The breakfast buffet was also quite successful. There is a mosquito problem for sure as the hotel is right next to the river. Beware and bring your own mosquito repellent. The hotel also provides mosquito tablets. The location is very nice, a short walk from the Whole Earth restaurant where we had a wonderful dinner. Highly recommended. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Club suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bade t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed 4 nights in March.
I would echo much of what has been said already in reviews.
- We deliberated whether to upgrade to a Club Suite but decided against it as we felt we'd be out of our room a lot in Chiang Mai and there wasn't any need. The deluxe room was perfect. Spacious, well set out, plenty of storage space for clothes and luggage. In respect of the extras you get with the Club Suite then we didn't feel we missed out on much. An air con taxi from the airport cost only 150baht (250 back to airport when booked via Chedi). There is a laundry about 100 metres from the Chedi charging 70baht per kilo to wash and iron clothes - it's a 24 hour service and was very good. There's a 7/11 next door to the laundry for stocking up on drinks/snacks etc. So, for us, the only real benefit would have been a larger room, which we didn't really need. We didn't use our balcony due to the heat/mosquitoes at this time of year.
- Bed was very comfy.
- Fab shower, best in all 4 hotels we used in Thailand, and very nice toiletries/robes. White fluffy towels.
- Breakfast was superb. Spoilt for choice, and excellent quality. Finally, a hotel that can poach eggs without half a ton of vinegar in the water!
- Gorgeous pool, cold water, huge towels, cold flannels and cooling spray provided on arrival.
- Location good, an easy stroll to some markets, a longer walk in to town (do-able, but challenging in the heat). In any case tuktuks in Chiang Mai are not expensive, and to hire a taxi for a day is also cost effective for longer trips/sightseeing out of town.
- Good wifi service in rooms.
- Great turn down service.

We loved the Chedi and highly recommend it. The staff are excellent and the hotel is very well run. The manager is very sociable and pleasant - all credit to him and his team for the guest experience at the Chedi.

Room Tip: Ask for river view, even if you're not in a Club Suite. If they can accommodate you, they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The management and staff go out of their way to make you comfortable, wanted and important. They are just waiting to please you. The Deluxe Rooms are VERY well appointed. The restaurant serves quality food throughout the day. The hotel shows great generosity towards its guests. Their motto...."we want you back".

Room Tip: We would go back to room 410.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We did a big trip this year, Thailand! We booked this hotel via trailfinders and if you are doing a tour of the north it is well worth while booking their 5day/4night tour with private guide. It is not expensive for what is included. And the Chedi Hotel is a perfect base from which to start. It is beside the river and is very peaceful which is exactly what is needed coming in off the bustling streets in Chang Mai. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and the hotel is very well designed and decorated to a very high standard. The staff here are another jewel in the crown, they are the epitome of Thai hospitality, friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a real treat and you can sit by the river and relax in the morning! We had a very tasty lunch twice and cocktails in the evening. All very good value for the level of service and surroundings. Nothing bad to say about this hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrelandHolidayqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,001 reviews
4.0 km away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 383 in Chiang Mai
461 reviews
0.5 km away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.1 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 km away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Property: Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,141 - ₹ 53,342
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing