We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly amazing. One of the best experiences in my life!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Ranked #2 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Truly amazing. One of the best experiences in my life!!!”
Reviewed 13 June 2009

I cannot begin to describe how amazing a hotel this is. First of all, the people working there are some of the most hospitable, kindest employees I have come across in my life. From our airport greeting, to our greeting at check in, to the presentation of our room, to cocktails with the manager, everything was phenomenal.

Everyone who works there immediately drops what they our doing, gives us a traditional Thai greeting, and asks how they can help us, every time we walk by. During out time there, the staff got to know us, our names, our likes and dislikes, and did whatever they could to accommodate us and make our experience magical. I am not used to such impeccable service.

The grounds are beautiful. Sadly, the website does not do it justice; you have to see it to believe it. The hotel has been build based on a lot of traditional Thai beliefs, cultures, plants, and rituals. The hotel staff uses these as ways to teach visitors about the Thai culture. . Walking around the grounds, was like walking through a fantasy land. The orchids, trees, lotus ponds and rice paddies were designed so well.

Many of the employees loved chatting with us, learning about our experiences, and sharing their experiences. They would even teach us about things that they do, and what their family is like, and bring us “real” Thai dishes that were not on the menu.

The spa is magical; multiple treatment rooms in multiple styles exist to suite your likings and needs. The staff spends so much time to make sure they give you a truly fabulous experience. I help thinking, “am I dreaming.”

The food at the three restaurants we tried was incredible. So many flavors, so much variety, and the northern Thai food is now my new favorite. When you ask for Thai hot at the restaurant, they listen. No bland food toned down here, it’s the real thing. The funny thing is, we also tried some Middle Eastern food at the pool bar, and it tasted better than Middle Eastern food I have eaten in the Middle East itself.

The hotel has a great travel desk that lets you plan trips by looking at costs, pros, cons, and environmental impact. Based on other experiences, I believe this hotel lets you choose the right tour for you, not who will give the hotel the biggest kick back. They help you make appropriate decisions, and offer an extremely fair price. We went into an elephant camp, and took elephant rides, at a humane elephant preservation site that only allows one show per day so as to not wear out the elephants. The trip for two, admissions, a personal guide, a driver, and the use of the hotel car for the day, only cost us around $250 USD total.

Some of the food and drink is on the high end for Chiang Mai, but the quality is incredible and the price is actually very low compared to NY Prices. Also, it’s worth paying a little more than in town just for the experience and freshness. For example, when we ordered ginger mint mohitos, the bar tender ran out to the garden and dug up fresh ginger and mint for our drinks. In fact everything served is grown locally, or purchased from local farmers to help with the local economy.

The price was on the high end compared to what we were originally looking to spend, but still very fair for what we got. We had a two story pool villa overlooking the rice paddies and it cost around $350 USD per night. We were also welcomed with drinks, given a welcome bottle of wine, and treated to all sorts of fresh fruit grown locally every day.

One of the most unique features was that every area of the hotel gives you cool towels as Chiang Mai is very hot. These towels are scented and each section of the hotel has their own scent.

This trip was truly memorable, and was the first time my wife and I didn’t plan where we would go next during our vacation, but planned to return to the same place.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emanon256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,154
    115
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
348
549
51
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Just got back from 3 weeks in SEA and this was our favorite hotel....above Amanpuri. You cannot beat the service, resort grounds and food for the price. You almost don't want to leave the resort because it feels like you are in your own temple complex. Fantastic!

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank roysessions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unterhaching, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Yes, I admit it, we both fall for luxury when we travel - and this place is just what we were looking for: Fantastic! Starting from the airport limo transfer in a Mercedes stretch limousine to the amazing architecture of the hotel, which almost appears to me like an enchanted castle of yesteryear - yet with all the amenities of our day, including 24h-butler service.

Many reviews have adored the large beautiful grounds and spectacular villas - we agree fully. Try to reserve a villa if you can, it is worth the extra expense. And if you want to create a magic moment for your spouse, book a private dinner on the deck of your villa. It's called Villa Barbecue Indulgence and the staff will arrange a fabulous dinner buffet just for both of you, with your very own private chef and waitress, while your pool is decorated with rose petals and candles. I promise this would be an evening no-one of you will ever forget.

The concierge delivers outstanding service. Any problem you may have, tell him and you can be sure it will be solved. Generally the service standard at this hotel is incredibly high, far better than at the overpraised Oriental in Bangkok, which basically lives on its reputation from the past.

We also have tried the Thai Restaurant Lanna one time and haven't been too happy with the quality of the food, maybe we came by too late after a tour (10pm).

Beware, the additional costs at this hotel can be substantial, but then again - we didn't regret a dime.

What a place - we would come back any time.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleSamDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kronberg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Even though there are tons of superb reviews about this resort, I also would like to salute the fabulousness of this utterly devine place.
We booked a villa right on the ricefields edge months before we travelled and I reconfirmed this again some days before our arrival. Once we got there we asked about the possibilities to upgrade and were shown several deluxe pool villas until we came to villa 99, or in other words; a heavenly piece of paradise. We stayed for 5 nights and that gave us the opportunity to fully enjoy the privacy of the full lenght pool, a jacuzzi, a sauna, open air kitchen, upstairs sala, glorious bedroom area and the most stunning view into the ricefield right at the end of the pool, or from the bed, or from underneath the shower, or whilst enjoying tea and daily delicious thai mangos on our terrace.
A young discreet butler unpacked our four suitcases and cleaned the shoes while we were getting massages to overcome the jetlag. Talking about being posh! But never with a feeling of being arrogant or demanding. The service is so friendly and mostly unseen. We were recognised where ever we went, always adressed by name as if they had known us for weeks. The staff seems genuinly pleased to be able to serve you. A pleasure that is only found in the top places in this world and Dhara Dhevi is one of them.
The food is good where ever you eat. The thai restaurant Lanna with the daily thai dance -and music show serves great food and entertainment, not to be missed.
The chinese restaurant serves great dim sum.
The bakery creates lovely pastry and cake and the most delicious macarons.
The frence chef cook, in the italian style akolito veranda restaurant whips up modern mediteranean dishes for your delight. Try the Tagliatelle with lemon and mint.
Whenever you might be visiting Chiang Mai, do stay at the Dhara Dhevi, you will be fully satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxemboug
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

It is expensive...oh yes! But you only live once! Reservations for 2009 have already been made: we'll return for the 4th time...any more questions!?! It's like a second home for us...surrounded by very,very friendly people...some even became close friends we won't miss! Heaven away from the daily struggle...no other comment!
Oh, I forgot! Try to stay some days at the Mandarin Oriental flagship in Bangkok before you return home: The Oriental! The best possible end for your journey!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc et Myriam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
3.5 km away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
7.4 km away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
3.4 km away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
3.8 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
5.9 km away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai

Property: The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Address: 51/4 Moo 1, Chiang Mai - Sankampaeng Road | Tha Sala, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 25,318 - ₹ 60,841
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai is set on 60 acres of verdant tranquil grounds in the historical heartland of Northern Thailand. The hotel's unique design draws from the region's rich architectural and cultural heritage that flourished during the Lanna period, which lasted from the mid-13th century until the mid-16th century, and enjoyed a further resurgence in the last 200 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai
Mandarin Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing