We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Ranked #3 of 369 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Just brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying here several times. Just an incredible experience. First impression was that the hotel seemed a little 'tatty' somehow, but this was not the case at all. It is maintained to an exceptionally high standard and the look is, in places, authentically 'dated'. Have stayed in a 'standard' villa and also an enormous one with piano and steam room and a whole lot of things which I never used!If anything, it was too big! Staff are brilliant. Atmosphere very calm and relaxing. Chiang Mai is very close and is worth the journey in for food etc. The horn bar was nice but quiet when visited. Always book a room that includes breakfast as it is fantastic and the choice is brilliant. There is something very very special about this hotel that I haven't found anywhere else.

Room Tip: Whatever you choose, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brummy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    103
    33
    10
    6
See reviews for
312
504
47
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

During my stay in Chaing Mai with a friend he took me to this hotel for lunch.

We walked round the beautiful grounds and rice field before lunch and wandered round the hotel grounds - fabulous. It does not look like a hotel but this is surely part of the charm.

We ate round the lovely pool and the food was fantastic, excellent service and delightful staff. As we walked back to our car we met up with two water buffalo and their keepers which was a big surprise!

I would like to stay here just to complete the experience at some time. Wonderful - that is why it is not cheap!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dustieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed here with the family in December with my wife and parents and sister. Here are my likes and dislikes

Likes
- This is a beautiful hotel and on huge grounds. I guess the hotel wants the guests to experience the thai 'lanna' northern style lifestyle with the rice fields and the Thai houses and buildings that look like temples. I guess this is what you pay for, as no other hotels in chiangmai offers this sort of experience.
- I preferred the pavilion rooms rather than the villa. The villa was big, but didn't feel luxurious for that price; The pavilion feels more comfortable, and smaller. The bathroom in the pavilion rooms was better designed than in the villas.
- we came here to attend a wedding at the hotel, which was beautifully organised. So this hotel really knows how to organise Thai weddings. I would recommend to couple who wants to organise wedding at this hotel.
- The food was good, as was expected from a mandarin oriental hotel
- The service was good, but nothing outstanding.
- the spa and gym and swimming pool was top class and well maintained.
- we loved the pool which overlooked the rice fields;
- The hotel offered bicycles to ride around the hotel since it was so big.

Dislikes
- This hotel is far from the city center. So to get to chiangmai city, you had to take a taxi which would cost at least Bt. 200;
- Walking distance from the lobby to the room is far. If you don't get the bicycles you had to wait for the cart to come pick you up, or walk 10 minutes to get to the room or lobby.
- the tv in the room was old style. The hotel should upgrade it's TV flat screen TVs.
- there was no wifi in the room (not that i remember)

This hotel i would go once, just to experience the Thai lanna style buildings with the rice field, but not sure the price would make me return to this place. Although it's a beautiful place to organise a wedding.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Profiterole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We r stay villa 17 on 3-5march 2012 coz 4 march 5th wedding anniversary and my birthday. My son would like swimming and very very happy here. Everything Excellent!! / Big Thailand

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BiGGyCastCafe555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed for a week at the Mandarin Oriental and were hugely impressed with the property. The villa we stayed in was fabulous, dark wood and laid out over 2 floors - to be honest we didn't really use the downstairs as the upstairs was huge. The overall resort is huge, but didn't feel overwhelming due to the winding brick paths, the paddy fields and beautiful buildings. We stayed by the quiet pool and on a couple of days we had it completely to ourselves ... the staff were AMAZING, Thailand is so friendly but the staff at the M.O were exemplary - always smiling and there to help. We met the manager at a drinks reception - this was a lovely touch as we got to chat to him and some of his team - in particular Rene was outstanding - we had many interesting chats with him throughout the week about food and wine - we felt very pampered and looked after by absolutely everyone in resort. We were there for a company incentive trip but arrived a few days early to take advantage of the resort .. we had a couple of amazing evenings on the lawn with buffet food which was fantastic, and a "gala dinner" for over 150 which tasted as though it had been cooked for just the two of us ..... an impressive achievement. We also had dinner at the Thai restaurant on resort and the food was fantastic - we felt very special.

I also had a spa treatment and again, could not fault the service, the staff and the massage.

Overall, one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, a real delight ...

Room Tip: we stayed in a villa, the only downside we found were the mosquitoes, they were relentless. Just ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellsterism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
3.5 km away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 369 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
3.4 km away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
7.4 km away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 369 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
3.9 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 369 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
2.3 km away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#30 of 369 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai

Property: The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Address: 51/4 Moo 1, Chiang Mai - Sankampaeng Road | Tha Sala, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 33,964 - ₹ 85,285
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai is set on 60 acres of verdant tranquil grounds in the historical heartland of Northern Thailand. The hotel's unique design draws from the region's rich architectural and cultural heritage that flourished during the Lanna period, which lasted from the mid-13th century until the mid-16th century, and enjoyed a further resurgence in the last 200 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai
Mandarin Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing