We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that great for young people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Ranked #2 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not that great for young people”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Once we arrived we were greeted in a friendly way, they picked us up using a golfcar and drove us to the check in area, I liked the style on this hotel as it was built around a temple and kinda looked like a palace. However, once we arrived at the checkin area the lady at first was friendly but then when there was something wrong she acted in a way, as if we werent the kind of people who would be able to afford to live there. So she started to ask me a bunch of questions that were completely irrelevant for her to know. Anyway, she drove us to our villa and once inside I could already tell that the money wasn't worth it. Not to mention, the room service costs were extreme, the food costs were also double the bangkok/phuket five star rates. Internet went for 600 baht a day, thats more than the major hotel brands charge. You are sort of forced to stay at the hotel unless you have a car or take a taxi, as it's quite far away from "town" and it's hard to go around without any vehicle.

It's not worth the cost, I would probably stay in Four Seasons instead, because atleast they live up to their costs.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pokerstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,154
    115
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
348
549
51
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Was there for two nights in early Feb 2012. The initial scene was "spectacular". The buildings are stunning, especially at night. The ground is very huge. Was impressed. I was booked into a colonial suite room. When asked to be transfer to a villa, the initial response was that all the villas are fulled. I asked again nicely. The frontdesk manager then came out and said there is one available, but needs little touch up. I decided to take up the villa as I wanted a villa experience (which I have heard so much about). I am a little disappointed with Villa 34. It is a hugh villa, but in need of upgrading. The floor boards were scratched. The lights insufficient. The sofa in there was not comfortable. The TV is old. There are a lot of nicer villas that I have stayed in. I will give Villa 34 a star rating of two out of five. The rest of the stay is good. The attendants at the pool and restaurants are attentive. The food is good. I enjoyed the club sandwich at the colonial pool bar alot. The Thai food is also very good. It is very yummy. The Dhara Dhevi needs upgrading to stay on top. I am not sure whether the state of Villa 34 is representative of the other villas. Maybe not as there are so many good reviews from the reviewers here. But if Villa 34 is representative, then I am not impress.

Room Tip: Not Villa 34.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SIN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
151 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Exsotic atmosphear, friendly staff, big rooms, the perfect hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarielaNordell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I loved this hotel, and remains one of my greatest luxury property experiences. Ever. The property is sprawling and luxurious. The buffalo grazing on the rice paddy was a lovely surprise. I stayed in my own little house by the pool, and it was enormous; separate sitting room and a bathroom the size of my sleeping quarters. The food was really delicious, and the spa was incredible. A peak experience in every way.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zeppo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

60-acres property surrounded with lush greenery and intense traditional architecture. Great service from airport transfer to check out. This hotel has excellent Chinese, French and Thai restaurants and offers spa goers a serene oasis of relaxation. The kid’s club boasts a variety of recreational activities for kids, including paddy fields for buffalo riding and rice planting. Perfect place to relax, play and unwind.

Likes – sumptuous dining, fun program for kids and spa treatments fit for a king

Dislike - more a personal dislike than the fault of the hotel, the villas are built using Thai wood and hence create a dim atmosphere in the rooms.

Rooms – mostly 2-storey Villas with a few blocks of Colonial Suites. The Villa is like a village house, with its own living room, dining area, bedroom, bathroom and patio. Practical amenities such as shampoo, toothbrush, cotton bud etc as available in the rooms, so is bottled water for drinking.

Dining – Akalinga restaurant serves international cuisine and is the place for buffet breakfast. Standard American breakfast with a small selection of Indian, Chinese, Japanese, Korean and Middle Eastern breakfast items. Some of the items are not served daily and the kitchen alternate dishes. There are 3 other restaurants: Farang Ses (French), Fujian (Chinese) and the Thai restaurant, serving authentic cuisine in exquisite décor. You must try the dim sum for lunch at the Chinese restaurant. Reasonably priced for the quality they serve.

Spa – if you have 3 hours (plus THB11k) to spare and willing to take 2 showers, go for the Lanna Ceremony treatment. The body scrub, jacuzzi, herbal steam, wrap and massage will leave you floating in heaven. All other shorter treatments are just as good but do go for the Thai massages. There is a resident Ayurveda (traditional Indian medicine) doctor available for consultation. And yes, the abhyanga massage is great too!

Kid’s Club – offers a variety of activities for kids between 4 to 9. They have a great rice planting activity that includes buffalo riding as well. The club houses many educational toys and a humble insect “farm”. If they had a playground, it would make the place more attractive to kids.

Service – no complaints but you will need to be more inquisitive if making travel arrangements at the Travel Desk. Some of the staff are not familiar with hire rates.

Overall, we would visit again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshinetips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
3.5 km away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
7.4 km away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
3.4 km away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
3.8 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
5.9 km away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai

Property: The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Address: 51/4 Moo 1, Chiang Mai - Sankampaeng Road | Tha Sala, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 25,367 - ₹ 60,335
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai is set on 60 acres of verdant tranquil grounds in the historical heartland of Northern Thailand. The hotel's unique design draws from the region's rich architectural and cultural heritage that flourished during the Lanna period, which lasted from the mid-13th century until the mid-16th century, and enjoyed a further resurgence in the last 200 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Prestigia, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai
Mandarin Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing