We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,546)
Filter reviews
1,546 results
Traveller rating
540
628
241
87
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
540
628
241
87
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night bazaar great location premier deluxe room new wing burger king the hotel staff breakfast buffet tour desk egg station swimming pool old city thai food tuk tuk renovation movenpick fah massage
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 1,546 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2018

I attended a congress in Chiang Mai and stayed at Movenpick for 5 nights. The room was clean and comfortable but there was little control of the roar of the air conditioning. Floor 7 also suffers from outside noise of the main air conditioning units so beware.

The hotel generally caters to tourists rather than business guests and during my stay the majority were Chinese. By western standards the breakfast was quite poor and in particular there was very limited fresh fruit and heavily processed fruit juice on offer.

The staff all try hard to provide a good service however I experienced repeated problems with internet that took several days to resolve.

I had the opportunity to visit some other hotels close to Movenpick and am likely to choose one of these for another visit.

Room tip: Floor 7 rooms suffer from noise of main air conditioning units.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve_Th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, General Manager at Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear Khun Steve_Th,

Thank you for staying at the Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai and for taking the time to
share your feedback.

We are delighted to know that you were pleased with our hotel location, service and comfortable room.

On the other hand, we would like to apologize for the slight inconveniences you
experienced during your stay. Please be assured that your valuable comments are
positively taken onboard and have been addressed to the concerned managers for the
necessary and corrective action to be taken.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back again during your next visit to Chiang Mai.

With best regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

Hotel is located in the heart of the night market area, and about a 10 minute walk to the old city moat and East Gate. Shopping and great food within minutes of walking out of the front door, staff are very friendly and helpful

Room tip: Access to rooms is easy we were in the back wing which had recently been refurbished. 2 Bedroom family was perfect for us.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, General Manager at Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear Khun Dean H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive feedback on the Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel services during your stay with us.

Since we are committed to provide our guests with the highest quality services and facilities, should you have noticed any area that might have gone unnoticed or could have been better with some additional touch, please do let us know.

We sincerely hope that your future plans to Chiangmai include the Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel where we will await to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

With best regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

Service , room , and food were excellent
We enjoyed the 3 night stay very much and highly recommend .
Once you step out of the hotel , you are centrally located in the night bazar, with no need for taxi .

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, General Manager at Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018


Dear Khun Sharon B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive feedback on the Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel services during your stay with us.

Since we are committed to provide our guests with the highest quality services and facilities, should you have noticed any area that might have gone unnoticed or could have been better with some additional touch, please do let us know.

We sincerely hope that your future plans to Chiangmai include the Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel where we will await to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

With best regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

This hotel deserve a 2 star rating or 3 star max
- we were first assigned to a room at old wing which was smelly and dim (the lights in bathroom n bedroom not working) and requested for a room change
- the duty manager was very reluctant to change the room for us and keep saying it's fully booked and not helpful at all
- the new room (changed the next day) at new wing was renovated but the shower water flows very very slowly and the white towel was grey in color
- window has no view at all
- got bite by mosquito in a closed window room
- breakfast was bad n we did not go second time
- housekeep staff will lock on your door around 9am and ran into your room direct checking if there any laundry
We minimized the time we stayed at the hotel room and certainly will never choose this chain hotel anymore

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank YvonneN1140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, General Manager at Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear Khun Yvonne N,

Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your willingness to share your experience is genuinely appreciated.

Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our valued guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Please be rest assured that we are taking immediate measures to solve the issues.

I hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you once again and provide you with the level of service expected from us.

Sincerely,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here in the month of June for two nights. Smooth check-in and our rooms were upgraded. Since we were given front facing rooms, we had a nice view. Room was also good. We got complimentary 30 min Thai massage. At night realised water was leaking from AC vent. Next morning our room not only changed but upgraded to suite. Breakfast spread was good.
The best thing, however, was the location. The weekend night bazaar is right in front. Hard Rock Cafe on the right. Kalare night bazaar is only 1 min walking distance. Here there are many food options. Opposite Hard Rock Cafe there is another small street food market but only on Sat. Tuk tuk easily available outside hotel, but just walk away a little from the front to get one at a reasonable rate. In the hotel there is a tour operator counter where we took a adventure sports package.We enjoyed our stay here.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sutapa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, General Manager at Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear Khun Sutapa G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive feedback on the Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel services during your stay with us.

Since we are committed to provide our guests with the highest quality services and facilities, should you have noticed any area that might have gone unnoticed or could have been better with some additional touch, please do let us know.

We sincerely hope that your future plans to Chiangmai include the Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel where we will await to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

With best regards,

Vinai Chitaratsanee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews