We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
156
77
28
2
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
77
28
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool ping river boutique hotel river view cooked prawns riverside terrace minute walk across the bridge pomelo salad large balconies view room concrete floor flower market brick wall included breakfast is stayed nights here base to explore enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2018

Very mix feeling after cheking-out from Sala Lanna. No major faux-pas but a considerable lack of 1/ Attention to details 2/ Empathy.

1/ Attention to detail: while some effort was done at the time of construction (the original design was quite nice), the interior designer's vision seems to have been eroded by time and the management haven't kept up much with the original plan:

- The check-in counter is sad, busy, messy, dark and gloomy. The intention of the designer (and all official website pictures) show a certain taste for sobriety but the check-in desk is poorly maintained and not aesthetically pleasant anymore.

- I wished we had been informed than the rooftop was under renovation (till November 2018) and that we wouldn't have access to the rooftop bar/pool. Unfortunately they were the main reason I had booked at Sala Lanna.

- The very attractive website pictures didn't quite match with the actual state of the place either: rooms aged, and the patio where I was so looking forward to sipping cocktails and reading books was not set up, leaving a huge blank space of fake grass in the middle of the property, where it should have been the highlight of the hotel.

- When booking your room you can't imagine how close they are from the street (literally ON the street), and a busy-noisy one. Therefore I would suggest to choose the garden view rooms (with balcony), not the regular rooms (on the street).

- Rooms are provided with a sound-system... unfortunately it turns out to be totally outdated -useless- as it would only work with an iPod (God I haven't used that word for a decade!) and first versions of iPhone (iPhone 1 to 3). Adaptor not provided. USB connexion didn't work either so be advised to bring your own CDs (if you still remember what they are).

- I don't recommend the hotel breakfast. Although it is served on the riverside terrace the choice and quality of the menu items is extremely disappointing to say the least. I opted for an outside coffee-shop 5mn walking from the hotel (Tanita café) that serves a pretty good and inexpensive breakfast.

2/ Lack of empathy: you would assume a boutique hotel would provide hearted service as opposed to big chains 'hotels. Unfortunately Sala Lanna's service is nearly non-existent and cruelly lacks soul.

- Upon arrival we were not welcomed by the hotel staff, neither were we helped to carry our luggages.

- There was never more than one staff at a time visible in the hotel (excluding the cleaning ladies team). All the guest relation, check-in/out, information, concierge, and operator duties were handled by one solitary staff. It doesn't help creating an atmosphere. Single-handed, she understandably had to be quick and all phases of the check-in were accomplished with zero empathy, dryly and rather expeditiously.

- On a rainy day we were provided with a broken umbrella that could never close. The handle was also coming off the shaft, the umbrella had to be handled with two hands. We thought about abandoning it during one of our visit days but didn't dare. Later, we found out that every room were supplied with a perfect pair of them. It would have made sense to just let us know...

- Sala Lanna is not a boutique hotel but felt more like a service appartment and doesn't have more soul and atmosphere than an AirBnb. If you value the charm of a small hotel, a warm an individual attention from the staff, a smile or a recommendations, in short a heart-warmer Thai stay in Chiang Mai, don't consider this venue. Just be dropped, pick-up your keys, get your room, go for a stroll, period.

The devil being in the details it is definitely not at Sana Lanna.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

This is a Boutique Hotel (small but with big personality) and when we compare we need to compare apple to apple.

Location: There is no right or wrong location as the location is chosen to suit your travel activities. For us, we wanted a hotel that is slightly away from the city but still close enough. Across the near by bridge is the local market and within walking distance is the daily night market. A hotel next to a river and with a raining season, expect plenty of friendly mosquitoes. However, the hotel has anti-mosquitoes measures.

Hotel: Generally, the hotel is clean despite being a bit dark especially in the reception area where guest check in. Since it is a boutique hotel, the land area is expected to be small. There is a small car park area in front of the hotel which makes getting aboard taxi easy and safely. The hotel is linked to On the Ping Restaurant where we had our daily breakfast.

Room: We had a balcony room but was obstructed by a huge tree and so the Ping River was not exactly in view but we enjoy the green. The room is reasonably size. Some may find it awkward because only a filmsy curtain separates the bedroom from the bath-tub. If you need privacy there is the shower (rainforest shower head). Unfortunately, if you travel with family or friends, privacy can be a issue. There is only one sliding door used to either close the shower room or toilet. There is available bottled water including coffee and tea (complimentary). The bed is comfortable and clean.

Staff: Like anyway we travel, if we as travellers are polite and courteous to the staff, we can expect the same or even better from the staff. The staff, as in Thai tradition, are polite and helpful. They do have interesting names: Toi and Film (we call here Movie in good fun) who are great staff and are great asset to the Sala Lanna Group.

On the Ping Restaurant: We had our daily breakfast which was including in our stay. It is not buffet style but more than adequate with variety for a 6 day stay. The staff always serve with a gentle smile. Our dinner was on the expensive side when compared to nearby restaurant of similar ambience. The dinner was mared by our pomelo salad which comes with 4 pieces of prawns. The prawns were completely raw (not cooked) in much of the prawn which was quickly replaced with 4 new cooked prawns. Apart from the that, the food is reasonably tasty. There are a few good restaurants along the road where Sala Lanna is located. So explore with your taste buds.

Would we return? No hotel is perfect, just as there is no perfect guest. The most important point is: we must be felt welcome, genuine service with a smile, responsive to issues and reaonable request and a safe environment. Yes, we would return.

Thank you.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank KALT2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALAGuestServicesMgr, Manager at sala lanna Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Signature KALT2008, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and interesting account of you stay with us at sala lanna Chiang Mai. It certainly sounds as though you had a thoroughly enjoyable time in Chiang May enjoying our location, our property, your room, breakfast and our lovely sala team. We do hope very much you will return in the future.
Our kindest regards the sala management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

It was a fantastic start to our trip. The concept of a dedicated member of staff responsible for all aspects of your stay meant that we didn’t have to fuss about the details - we simply asked to book reservations and it was taken care of in the background without fuss!

The hotel itself is in a beautiful location atop overlooking the Ping river. The accommodation is beautiful and maintained to an extremely high standard. The food was fantastic, we enjoyed each and every meal On the ping eatery and Bar. Very special is TOM YUM GOONG in a Clay pot and Special fruit dessert in Chaing mai sason.It's easy to walk-in and easy to walk around with community .

The view from the main pool is fantastic also.

As for the staff....first class, world leading service. The staff are extremely friendly, happy to drop whatever they are doing to assist you and always happy to say hello or stop for a pleasant chat!

You won’t be disappointed.
JODs'

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Voyager802094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALAGuestServicesMgr, Manager at sala lanna Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Signature กิตติกรณ์ เ, we are so chuffed that you had such an amazing stay and really appreciate all aspects of our beautiful property sala lanna Chiang Mai. Our goal is to ensure each and every one of our guests feels special and it certainly sounds as though we achieved this with you. It pleases us the most when we receive great admiration of our sala team and we are so grateful you have taken the time to share your review. We do hope you’ll return and please contact us directly so we make take extra special care of your reservation. All the best the sala management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

My lunch at On the Ping was impressive! The best Roti I’ve had. Green curry came with large prawns and the soup is tick enough for me to order an extra jasmine rice to go with. They didn’t just try to impressed only tourists but also local, and it impress me.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Sinee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALAGuestServicesMgr, Manager at sala lanna Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Signature Sinee S, we are really pleased that you were so impressed with our cuisine and that you had a thoroughly enjoyable lunch. We hope you’ll return, the sala management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Great hotel with really friendly staff. Had an upgraded room with loads of space and an excellent decor. The complimentary drink at the hotel was in a great location, and served as the breakfast restaurant. Location was ideal as it is busy during the day, but quiet at night. Definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ScotPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALAGuestServicesMgr, Manager at sala lanna Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Signature ScotPhil, thank you for choosing to stay in Chiang Mai with us at sala lanna and it is always so rewarding for us when we receive such great compliments about our sala team. Thank you and please do let us know when you’d like to return.
Our kind regards the sala management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews