We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outdoor ambience and delicious dishes”
Review of Fern Forest Cafe

Fern Forest Cafe
Ranked #10 of 127 Dessert in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff - some were nice and helpful, and some were ordinary
Location - convenient but no proper parking space
Ambience - outdoor with lots of trees, should apply bugs away spray (you can ask from staff). Most of the tables are for 4 persons or less.
Food and beverage - delicious, but some of the dishes ran out which was kind of disappointed.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nopparat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Although it’s a delightful outdoor space, a simple order of two dishes took more than an hour for one to arrive. We then canceled the second dish and had tremendous difficulty getting a piece of coconut cream pie. I don’t know what the problem was, but nothing beyond a “sorry” from a waitress who hadn’t helped us before was the only restitution we got. Chiang Mai is full of great restaurants with great service. Try a different one.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank TomofOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had just come back from trekking and wanted a relaxing dinner, and this really was perfect. It was quiet and comfortable, we sat in the garden and were offered mosquito spray, but never saw one. The have a wide variety of western & Thai food, we had a very delicious green curry, which we asked to be spicy - it was. We also tried the local spicy sausage with rice, which was very tasty. We enjoyed a nice coffee and Black Forrest to finish. With a cocktail & large beer the bill was 900 THB. You certainly can eat cheaper, but we enjoyed the ambiance and the food was good. It does close at 20.30, but we were ready to eat early.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Jandorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2018 via mobile

Came here many times,but never gave a review. This place is just cozy and perfect for relaxing. Love the live piano,the lush garden and the food! The price is very reasonable as well. The service of course is nice. Will be back again and again!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Luckypol168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2018

As noted above. Servers were highly attentive (and not in a rush like in some places), the garden is gorgeous, and the food is decent. Certainly not hole-in-the-wall cheap, but still a tad stronger than most of its peers in the same class (such as The Old House Cafe).

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank SiminT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fern Forest Cafe also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Fern Forest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing