We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“kind of ok hotel...if you not expect too much..and just need a bed and shower” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel
Ranked #205 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Seminyak, Indonesia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“kind of ok hotel...if you not expect too much..and just need a bed and shower”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

stay there at the end of december, prior to arrival i called from bkk airport to ensure my booking but receptionist said that they have no booking for me and that night they only have suite left, even i have made a booking and airport pick up 2 weeks earlier...
anyway airport pick up was there when i arrived in chiang mai airport and so far so good, have a good conversation with the driver..
first impression about the hotel was ok and the interior is typical thai traditional hotel.
By the pictures that they hung in front of elevator you will notice that this hotel was one of the best in 80's or 90's. many public figures were staying here (or were here)

everything in this hotel looks old, breakfast was not as i expected, and english might become challenging if you not familiar with thai accent (lucky me that i live in thai so get used to with their accent). also it take almost 30 minutes to serve espresso and cappucino in lobby bar

good things about this hotel is, easy to reach from airport (10 minutes away), it located just beside the old wall of ancient city which not far from most of chiang mai attractions including the infamous chiang mai walkin street - night bazzar. Right beside the hotel, is the electronic mall which have so many fast food restaurants. and there's one convenience store right in front of the hotel (7eleven)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poly_only
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    101
    67
    23
    17
See reviews for
22
51
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We went to use the pool and although the pool is fine the staff really did not not want to be there! They were surly to the point of rudeness.
The place is so dated and even the staff at reception barely spoke English.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Londoner056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Oakland, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

This was my first stay at this hotel. The service was wonderful but the hotel was a bit old and dated. The room was comfortable and very clean with older furnishings and an older bathroom. My only complaint was that there was no in-room safe...and I like having one of those.

The buffet breakfast, which was included, was one of the best of any hotel I have ever stayed at. The selection was great and they even had a omelet and noodle station that made items for you. That alone is unusual in a hotel of this level.

The location is ok. You have to take a red-truck taxi if you want to go closer to the Night Market or tourist area.

If you are coming from the airport, arrange with the hotel for their shuttle to the hotel. It is cheaper and easier than a meter taxi.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larryjw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

The hotel is quite conveniently located and reasonably priced but it really is looking the worse for wear these days. Shabby around the edges and not the friendliest of places. The internet is a joke. It is provided free of charge on certain floors but if you are more than two rooms from the server you wont get a signal at all. Even if you are next to the server it is so slow, snail mail would almost be quicker. Buffet breakfast was OK but mostly only lukewarm.
The two rooms that I have stayed in had adjoining doors. It was very noisy - not that my neighbours were noisy, there was no soundproofing!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maric960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

This hotel appears to be aimed primarily at the conference/function market and is well located, being right next door to a big shopping centre.

But it is looking very worn and tired and is in need of complete refurbishment. I am well used to Thai standards of maintenance, but at 3,500 baht for a small suite, I do not expect to have to endure peeling paint, knackered plumbing and broken drawers/cupboard doors. There was black dirt around the air-con vents; I wonder when the filters had last been cleaned or replaced…

Most staff pleasant and helpful. But reception staff unable to think outside of their comfort zone and deal with a simple request.

Buffet breakfast was a disappointment for the room price - poorly managed and we had difficulty in finding a table that had been cleared from previous use.

Possibly ok for a cheaper room on a deal, but this hotel is way past its “best-before” date.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chanrakthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 km away
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
#86 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.8 km away
Chiangmai Hill 2000 Hotel
Chiangmai Hill 2000 Hotel
#300 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.7 km away
Vulcano Hotel Chiang Mai
Vulcano Hotel Chiang Mai
#230 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Dome Residence
The Dome Residence
#121 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.7 km away
Furama Chiang Mai
Furama Chiang Mai
#256 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
3.1 km away
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
#166 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel

Property: Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel
Address: 23 Huay Kaew Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,738 - ₹ 3,476
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Chiang Mai Orchid, you have a choice of seven different types of rooms altogether there are 266 of them. All are designed and decorated as living testimony to the artistic elegance of the Lanna Thai Era combined with the most modern state of the art convenience facilities. And to top it all, each room has a scenic view of beautiful Chiang Mai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Chiang Mai Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing