We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #64 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“comfortable stay!”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in April. We stayed in 2 superior rooms as we were traveling with 4 teenagers. We were given inter connecting rooms which was good. We arrived at 11pm at night and checkin was no problem, but when we got to room found that the 2 extra beds had not been put in. This was quickly fixed.

The rooms and bathrooms were clean but both a little dated and old looking. It also smelt a little old. The beds were comfortable and linen and towels were clean.

The breakfast was also very average and if you went down after 9am not a lot of food left or replaced.

It was well located to the night Bazzar and also had a great washing lady accross the road.
The 2 swimming pools were kept clean but it was very hard to find someone to order a drink through.

A bonus for this hotel was the free wifi, and also the great cake stand in the lobby :) also the guards that open the elevator for you were great with the kids.

Would have no problem staying here again as it suits our budget.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anitansteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    773
    395
    101
    48
See reviews for
284
557
115
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
312 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The rooms fair, comfortable. Again, I wish the bathrooms would use face towels as I hate not using one, and they did not have any for guests. Location was OK, plenty of shopping just around thecorner and other shops to get things you need

The staff however, some were good, as per expected for Thai hospitality, but some were not that friendly. Older lady at the front desk, geeezzz, grumpy or what!

I left something in the room and they said that theyw ouldlook for it. Never heard from them again, and I even e-mailed them.

The breakfast buffet was actualy pretty good, decent selection.

Overall, not too bad. But we did not go back when we returned a week later.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bulldogtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time for posting here on Trip Advisor!

We have taken note of your comments. Our hotel provides 2 sets each of face towel, hand towel and bath towel in each guest bathroom. Our housekeeping department is keeping a record of all left behind objects and keeps them for 6 months. Perhaps an e-mail could be sent to the undersigned directly.
peter@imperialmaeping.com and a reply will be sent within the same day or next day.
We would like to thank you for staying with us on your first call to Chiang Mai.

Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel Team!

Peter A. Schnyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
Level Contributor
282 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Have been a regular at this hotel on business for the last year - staying around 4-5 times and have enjoyed staying here.
However, my trip here for 4 nights in April 2012 (bringing my wife) was very different and will be the LAST visit at the Imperial Mae Ping. There is very loud noise at their Karoke bar near the swimming pool on the ground floor EVERY night until very late. We were on the 11th floor but the music was so loud it felt like it was next to us. I note the Manager's comment to the last reviewer - however the band has not turned down the volume - the later into the night, the band noise just gets even louder. Sleep quality here is dreadful. If the hotel has changed to have a Karoke business then it should just do that and forget about accommodating people.
Despite its good location, I will never visit here again because I do like to sleep at night!! I would also recommend to all my friends on Trip Advisor and elsewhere to stay away from Imperial Mae Ping until they close down the Karoke Bar.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel completely if you want to sleep at night - go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scobie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor and also our guest questionnaire which you kindly completed upon your departure. Much appreciated and thank you for your comments.

We are sorry to read that your recent visit was your last one.

Perhaps we can explain to you - and all other potential guests - who are reading your comment, the exact situation.

Our hotel has NO Karaoke bar near the swimming pool. During the winter months October to April, the Chang Garden serves food and beverages and serves as an outdoor venue. On six days of the week a resident band plays popular local and international tunes. They usually start around 19.30 hrs with one guitar player who is then joined by a female vocalist and a few other musicians around 20.15. They play until 23.00 hrs and NOT until very late. As with all local bands, they tend to overdo their performances and are sometimes carried away.

We are quite surprised that you have NOT informed our duty manager about the disturbance, which the band has caused you. He could have moved you to a room facing the mountains as you have had, during your TWO visits last June.

We thank you for staying with us in the past and should you change your mind, please let us know.

Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel Team!

Peter A Schnyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights on a business trip to Chiang Mai. Friendly staff, good facilities, clean, liked the swimming pool. The hotel is centrally located, easy to walk to one of the many night markets and to sample local mall shopping. Breakfast is very generous, wide choice of western and eastern food. I particularly liked the chai (tea made Indian style, with condensed milk). One criticism. If you have children or want an early night, I recommend you ask for a room on the opposite side of the hotel to the garden and swimming pool. There's a Karaoke most nights in the garden bar and it's quite intrusive if you're in a room on that side of the hotel. Otherwise this is a very good value hotel and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: See above - chose a room on the opposite side to the garden bar for a quieter evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DennisinkCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor

We thank you for staying with us here at the Imperial Mae Ping Hotel here in Chiang Mai during your recent business trip. We have taken note of your criticism and have requested the band to tune down their volume whiles they are playing their favourite tunes.

It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel Team

Peter Schnyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We had read all the reviews of course so had mixed expectations about what we would find. We were so very pleasantly surprised. The grounds and pool are very beautiful, we really enjoyed them. Our room was on the 17th floor with a view overlooking the city, this was another pleasant surprise. The room was fine for our needs and very clean. sure the bathroom was older style but that didnt worry us.The reception staff were very helpful and having the free wifi in our room even with multiple pieces of technology was accommodated with no problem.We booked a fabulous tour to the Baan Chang elephant mahout training through the tour desk, I had great experiences at the Mae Ping Fish Spa just behind the swimming pool. Fabulous location, all in all we were most happy with our stay at the Imperial mae Ping and will not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sil_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor

Thank you very much for your wonderful posting and we are so happy to have had the chance to accommodate you during your stay here in Chiang Mai. Delighted to hear that our team met with your expectations .

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon and wish you all the best during your travels here in Thailand.

with kind regards
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel Team

Peter Schnyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 km away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#40 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,229 reviews
0.2 km away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,300 reviews
0.1 km away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#106 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,807 reviews
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#53 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,601 reviews
0.5 km away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Property: The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,168 - ₹ 7,057
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing