We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #64 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Central location, good value”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights on a business trip to Chiang Mai. Friendly staff, good facilities, clean, liked the swimming pool. The hotel is centrally located, easy to walk to one of the many night markets and to sample local mall shopping. Breakfast is very generous, wide choice of western and eastern food. I particularly liked the chai (tea made Indian style, with condensed milk). One criticism. If you have children or want an early night, I recommend you ask for a room on the opposite side of the hotel to the garden and swimming pool. There's a Karaoke most nights in the garden bar and it's quite intrusive if you're in a room on that side of the hotel. Otherwise this is a very good value hotel and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: See above - chose a room on the opposite side to the garden bar for a quieter evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DennisinkCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor

We thank you for staying with us here at the Imperial Mae Ping Hotel here in Chiang Mai during your recent business trip. We have taken note of your criticism and have requested the band to tune down their volume whiles they are playing their favourite tunes.

It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel Team

Peter Schnyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    782
    399
    105
    49
See reviews for
291
569
117
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We had read all the reviews of course so had mixed expectations about what we would find. We were so very pleasantly surprised. The grounds and pool are very beautiful, we really enjoyed them. Our room was on the 17th floor with a view overlooking the city, this was another pleasant surprise. The room was fine for our needs and very clean. sure the bathroom was older style but that didnt worry us.The reception staff were very helpful and having the free wifi in our room even with multiple pieces of technology was accommodated with no problem.We booked a fabulous tour to the Baan Chang elephant mahout training through the tour desk, I had great experiences at the Mae Ping Fish Spa just behind the swimming pool. Fabulous location, all in all we were most happy with our stay at the Imperial mae Ping and will not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sil_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor

Thank you very much for your wonderful posting and we are so happy to have had the chance to accommodate you during your stay here in Chiang Mai. Delighted to hear that our team met with your expectations .

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon and wish you all the best during your travels here in Thailand.

with kind regards
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel Team

Peter Schnyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Loved this hotel! Very clean and comfortable. Staff came in everyday to ensure room was kept to a high standard.Toiletries were also a very high standard. The Air-conditioner was nice and cool for the warm climate we had. I had breakfast every morning and there was a variety of food on offer.
A very quiet location. I was on the 14th floor.
They have 2 pools and towels on offer pool side. We had bar service right beside the pool and we must of consumed at least 4 cocktails on the first day! The hotel is very cheap in Thailand. Cost was around $70 AUD a night (2240 Bhat). This was for the deluxe room with the cocktails, room service for food a few nights and all other stuff we did there. I think without all the services and drinks we had it was around $55 AUD a night (1750 Bhat) but this included breakfast.
Location is good and close to the night markets. Thai Massage places were also close by. If you want to do your laundry, you just walk outside and there are a few places ranging from 20-50 Bhat a kilo of clothes.
The only thing I found was the main counter really needed a good English speaker. All because I had lost my debit card in an ATM and an emergency card was being sent to the hotel. It took a lot of talking and explaining to get them to understand that a card was coming for me and would they contact me when it arrived. Other then that there really was no problems.
We hired mopeds and we had complimentary parking on the hotel grounds.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not close or near the elevators as you will constantly hear the ring of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wooey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor!

First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay here in Chiang Mai. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us here. We have taken note of the comments about the lift gong and we will adjust it if possible. We aim to improve the English language among the key staff and are conducting regular classes for the staff. Sorry for the inconvenience caused about your debit card.
It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back to our hotel on another occasion in the not too far future.

Your Imperial Mae Ping Hotel Team
Peter A. Schnyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Lovely basic hotel in heart of Chiang Mai. I wish we stayed longer, this hotel is perfect for families with children who love to swim and play as the grounds are large. Rooms are big enough, very outdated but thats what I liked it was like a hotel where flight crew would stay in the 70's! Nice views with curtains that make it lovely and dark.
We didnt eat here as there are so many restaurants around but has a few drinks around the poolside. request a room over looking the pool ,its a nicer outlook.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skibunnykerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments here on Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to read your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel during your sojourn here in Chiang Mai. Happy to see that your children enjoyed our gardens and two swimming pools.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too far future and we remain with kind regards.

The Imperial Mae Ping Team
Peter Schnyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed three nights. First room had a flimsy connecting door, we asked to be moved. Second room overlooked the beer garden, sleep impossible the music was so loud, asked to be moved again. Third room, we were woken up by a group of about 15 youths playing football in the corridor outside the room. (Thought there was closed circuit TV ??? )
What really annoyed me, was after being moved to the third room, we had just got to sleep when the porter arrived, banging on the door. He had an empty Kit Kat wrapper and insisted that I swap it for the full KitKat in the fridge. Surely this could have waited until the morning, or just bill me ???
It was a busy trip, and if I had more time, I would have checked out after the first night.
Agree with other comments about mouldy bathrooms, old/tired linen and a general jaded appearance. Wake up Mae Ping, you have lost another customer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the other side to the beer garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank_pelagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to post here on Trip Advisor!
Your comments have been noted and we have spoken to the band to reduce the volume of sound.
Indeed the hotel is equipped with a closed circuit camera system. Additionally our in house security staff circulate all our corridors at regular intervals. The bell service has been instructed not to disturb our guests after they have checked in and wish to keep their privacy. The hotel provides signs to hang at the door knob, in order not to be disturbed.
We thank you for staying with us and can assure you that your points are being addressed to the relevant departments.
Kind regards - The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel Team
Peter A. Schnyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 km away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#57 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,310 reviews
0.2 km away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#40 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,247 reviews
0.4 km away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#105 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,905 reviews
0.5 km away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#51 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,307 reviews
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#56 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Property: The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,083 - ₹ 12,108
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelQuickly and HostelWorld so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing