We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,862)
Filter reviews
1,862 results
Traveller rating
520
840
338
112
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
520
840
338
112
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tuk tuk ihg member night market river view lobby bar ping river executive floor free shuttle concierge staff an upgrade breakfast buffet bit dated corner room large room welcome drink old town inns
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 1,862 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

Average Holiday Inn. Rooms are large with Asian accent. Unfortunately room smelled of serious mold. An ionizer was brought up to the room but provided little relief. Power socket shorted out my laptop power supply (scorch marks on plug should have been a warning). Carpet stains... A lack of serious monetary investment and preventative maintenance keeps this property from shining and achieving 4 stars.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 593dn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orathai T, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear D N,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel.

We truly value your feedback and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. This is certainly not the high standard of service we are aiming to provide to all our guests. Please rest assured that these issues will be looked into and have been brought to the attention of our Executive Housekeeping team to ensure that actions are taken prior to allocating the room for guest in order to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

I do hope you will give us the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Barry Pitman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

I stayed only for a few days and they upgraded me straight away at checkin! i was given a lovely large room with a breathtaking view of the city, river and every else. It was on the 23rd floor and big windows right around! wow! I only wish the furniture and room setup was a little modern. Im sure holiday inn can do better.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ahamed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orathai T, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Ahamed S,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time yto share your stay experience with us.

We are delighted to know that your stay was enjoyable and that you found our hotel and service to be great. We also appreciate your feedback with regards to the condition of the furniture and room setup. Rest assured that we will continue to work harder to enhance our guest experience.

Thank you for the valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Barry Pitman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay. Very large room, simple but comfortable. Big spacious bathroom with tub and shower. The latter could do with some TLC. A bit tired. Lovely river view from window. TV a bit small. Tea and coffee in room. Modern amenities. Good Wi-Fi all over.
Big breakfast with many stations but missing something. Not top gourmet. Dinner one night. Buffet kind of a mish mash. Best was our coffee and cheesecake at the coffee shop.
Hotel has shuttles to the night market and the weekend markets. A bit chaotic as people don't always keep to return schedules and there are more people to come back at the last pick up than can be accommodated. Our airport pick up and drop off worked fine as did an extra hour for late checkout. The hotel also booked a half day excursion of the hill tribes and a temple which was very nice. We also took a tuk-tuk from outside the hotel to have a feel of the town centre. The night markets and weekend markets were amazing.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kiran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orathai T, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Kiran M,

Thank you for taking time to share your stay experience with us.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a great time during your stay with us and we would like to thank you on the areas that require improvements. Please rest assured that we take your feedback very seriously and will be taking steps to ensure that we constantly improve to provide a better experience for all our guests.

Thank you again for staying with us and we sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Barry Pitman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Local food around there easy to walk. 7-11 also near by. Hotel stay beside the river and good location. Little bit far from the city but hotel have shutter service. Breakfast very good plenty to taste of local style.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Radchada M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orathai T, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Radchada M,

Thank you for the 5-star review of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable and pleasant stay with us, and found our unique location to be convenient for you.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Barry Pitman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

I was with the hotel for 4 days for work and then sight seeing and I am really happy to share about Holiday Inn Hotel which is located by the Ping river.

Some things that I loved about this place -

- Lovely view on the 19th floor
- Humongous space in the room
- Top class room cleanliness
- Great WiFi speed
- Fantastic location
- More then sufficient Room amenities
- The floors are well carpeted makes the place very quiet
- love the food quality - it’s fresh as well

Few things that need attention and you should know -

- Elevator
during morning time it can take upto 7 Mins to get one

- Breakfast
Restaurant is chaos and on auto mode ~ don’t expect any service
All Staff are only doing clearance
Basic options repetitive menu with limited choices

- Staff
Are polite and humble but not very efficient
Especially Guest services and some at Reception

Suggestion
- more standees and flyers inside the room about the Hotel promotions for guests to explore
- you can use elevators for the same

Including hotel facilities and restaurant offerings

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank DirtyDJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orathai T, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear 631deepakj,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review on TripAdvisor.

We truly value your constructive feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and especially the room. However, I sincerely apologize that you were not entirely satisfied with the service provided by our staff. This is certainly not the high standard of service we are aiming to provide to all our guests and please rest assured that I have shared your feedback with the department heads to look into improvement opportunities in order to avoid any further guest disappointment and to ensure that the retraining has been put in place to avoid a re-occurrence.

Once again, I am truly apologize for the failure to deliver our true hospitality. I hope that the experience will not deter you from choosing Holiday Inn Chiangmai for your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Barry Pitman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews