We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but understaffed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Ranked #53 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Rooms are big. The Ping River is not the best view because the water's brown, but it's not too bad. The hotel's old, so it shows, but bedding and beds are comfy, and shower amenities are good.

Breakfast spread wasn't bad for the price and venue, but it was very understaffed when we were there as our dirty plates piled high, but only had our plates cleared away like once or twice? My husband actually had to take those to the bussing station because it was that bad. But when it was brought to the management, they apologized and said they'd fix, so that's all you can ask of a hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2busy4myowngood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orathai T, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear 2busy4myowngood,

Thank you for taking the time to post the review during your recent stay with us.

I was glad to hear that our rooms ideally met your expectations. However, I was of course disappointed to see that we failed to meet your expectations in certain areas. I appreciate that you took time to raise the problem you had experienced at breakfast. I understand your frustration and the inconvenience in which you were experiencing and I have raised your concern to my Executive Chef and Director of Food & Beverage to work harder to improve our service in order to avoid any further guest disappointment and prevent any similar situations from occurring in the future.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and valued guests such as yourself help us improve our delivery of service. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Barry Pitman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 51 of 1,714 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Big rooms,views of the river, might be one of the largest hotels in Chiang Mai. No complaints but very generic high rise hotel, but includes everything you would expect in a good chain style hotel. I only stayed for a few hrs to sleep before moving to the Rati Lanna resort across the river.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orathai T, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Larry B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations. It is wonderful to know that you found us a good choice for your stay, and that you enjoyed your time with us. Although it was just a short stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again, next time you visit Chiang Mai.

Yours sincerely,

Barry Pitman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

This hotel has great staff and the service is very friendly, warm and accommodating. Facilities are family and kid friendly as well. Location is only 15 mins away from the airport and major shopping centers. My only recommendation for the property's management is to consider upgrading the facilities since the interior is fairly dated. Further, not all bathrooms have the hand shower for cleaning up (available only in suites). Otherwise, highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nidal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orathai T, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Nidal T,

Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Chiangmai and for taking time to share your feedback with us.

We are thrilled that you had a positive experience and it is great to hear that our staff was able to provide a great service. This is certainly an endorsement and a great motivation to the team to continue to keep up the good service.

I also appreciate your suggestions on the other areas that we could improve in order to avoid any further guest disappointment. We are continuing to work with our Owning Company to enhance the room’s product.

If your travel plan bring you back to Chiang Mai, I hope we would have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,

Barry Pitman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We had an excellent experience with this hotel. The hotel is beautiful , with excellent location , one 7 eleven in the back. The breakfast and Dinner excellent with one station to cook fresh fish, meat or eggs. The rooms super big with beautiful view of mountains. Also has available smoking and non smoking rooms. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toyosmiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orathai T, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear toyosmiguel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your personal experience from your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Chiangmai.

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and happy to learn that our location, room and food exceed your expectations. It is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback.

Once again, thank you for recommending our hotel. We certainly look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Barry Pitman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Just on the edge of main the CM tourist areas, so transport is needed.
Buffets are very popular in the hotels.
Had nice time and a enjoyable meal.
It's a popular venue for lunch goers. And for many with children.
Various dishes catering for all.
As a veggie I had a good choice.
If their is one item I felt was a bit pricey was the drinks such as the wines (300 baht per glass ) and the beer (175 baht small bottle).
We were a large group of 30 ladies, the staff assigned to us were friendly and attentive.


Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orathai T, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear Cynthia B,

Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your positive feedback with us.

It is delightful to hear that you are happy with our food and service. Your kind words about the friendliness and attentiveness of our staff have been shared with the team to keep them inspired. I also appreciate your suggestions on areas that we could improve and already shared your feedback with my Director of Food & Beverage who will look into it in particular review the price of drinks in order to avoid any further guest disappointment.

We look forward to serving you again.

Yours sincerely,

Barry Pitman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2 km away
Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
2 km away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,397 reviews
2.3 km away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#74 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,710 reviews
1.2 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#48 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,571 reviews
2.4 km away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chiang Mai

Address: 318/1 Chiangmai-Lamphun Road | Watket Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: ₹ 3,957 - ₹ 7,466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Chiangmai is ideally located on the banks of the Mae Ping River with easy access to business & shopping districts. It is the only riverside international hotel brand on the Northern bank of Chiangmai with 526 rooms & 25-storeys offering expansive riverside views from both guest & functional rooms. The hotel is only minutes away from the famous temples & the renowned night bazaar. Complimentary Shuttle Services to Night Bazaar, Walking Street, Nimman Road also provided free of charge.Guest Rooms are the largest in Chiangmai & have been designed with every comfort in mind. Every room has beautiful views over the idyllic Mae Ping River & towards Doi Suthep, the sacred mountain or Chiangmai city views. At Holiday Inn®, we guarantee your comfort with a double size for twin bed & pillow menu.Executive Lounge is the latest benefit for guests who stay on the Executive floor with multiple benefits such all day drinks, Happy Hours, free laundry, free Wi-Fi and Express check-in/check-out.China Palace is the most famous Chinese Restaurant in town with superb Dim Sum menu & Shabu Shabu buffet.River Terrace is an all day dining restaurant with daily theme night dinners & an outdoor space.Just a few minutes from the hotel you can explore Chiangmai Night Bazaar, Wiang Kum Kam Historical site, Chiangmai International Airport & shopping malls. Chiang Mai has many places to visit & many activities to do such as Doi Suthep, Chiangmai Zoo & Aquarium, golf or adventurous activities such as jungle flight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Holiday Inn Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Holiday Inn
Sheraton Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing