We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well managed and good food”

Paak Dang Riverside Dining
Ranked #29 of 2,383 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 6
Cuisines: Asian, Diner, Delicatessen, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Set on the Ping River, Paak Dang offers a beautiful dining experience in a 2 story Lanna Style Teak Wood house. We serve authentic Thai food that will tickle and tantalise the tastebuds of both the Thai local palate and our friends from all over the world. The open concept kitchen run by led by Chef K-Jin offers a full Thai menu with something to suit each and every single person. Paak Dang has also been set up with a mission and vision - to provide employment to the less privileged from the neighbouring villages and hilltribes and currently has a team of more then 20 staff catering to a 60 seat restaurant. With a wealth of experience between them, the owners of Paak Dang, K-Jin & K-Lin both work hand in hand to equip their staff with many important life skills. Open for dinner daily with a serene and beautiful setting on the Ping River. Reservations highly recommended for the best tables by the river. Come and have an unforgettable dining experience at Paak Dang!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you are looking for the restaurant, don’t expect to see that huge sign that I have posted, cos that faces the river. The entrance is a bit more modest than that. Definitely more local style, yet suitable for tourists. Not cheap, but unless you are backpacking through Thailand, you should be fine. English is fine, and the staffs are friendly. The extra large prawns are really good, so do have them even if they are a bit more pricy than the other items. All in all, a very enjoyable meal.

Thank Gabriel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

great ambience - right on the river with a semi-open space. great decor. food itself was fantastic. highly recommend to anyone looking for great thai dinner option

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 21malwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Its a nice place o be right at the river. Not too far away from downtown , just a 10 minutes cab drive up north. Service was excellent from 1 st minute to departure. Service staff asked upfront if they should call a cab - very kind. Food was also very good - Fresh King Prawns and even tastier the Grilled Octopus. I also strongly recommend the the Northern Thai Sausage - spice and very authentic.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stefan0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Situated on the river and brimming with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, this restaurant is one of the nicest I’ve been to so far. The restaurant was set up to invest in employees from humble backgrounds and train them up into positions in catering and management. The introduction in the menu asks for your patience, but don’t let that mislead you: the staff were knowledgeable, friendly and could not have been more helpful if they tried. Our waiter even called for taxis at the end of our meal to ensure we made it back safely.

Thank Suzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The foods are really poor for the price we paid for. They are charging an exorbitant price for the foods whereby we can get it cheaper, tastier at any street stall. Moreover, they insist to charge bring in wine per bottle at Baht 300. The only restaurant thus far that imposed corkage charge in Chiang Mai. We are afraid to order crabs and lobster after trying on their basic foods. Definitely not authentic Thai foods.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Boonma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K-Lin L, Owner at Paak Dang Riverside Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Madam, your review didn't come as a surprise to me and if I may say so, I was in fact waiting for it.

You were upset from the onset simply because we wanted to charge you a corkage fee for the 2 bottles of wine that you brought. And because of this you are now giving us a bad 2 star review despite us offering to charge you corkage for only one bottle. You claim that no other restaurant charges corkage and if this is the case, you haven’t been to the right restaurants. Please note that we have fully done our research before implementing a corkage fee.

Your reluctance to pay the corkage fee is like telling a hotel you want a discount on the room rate because you brought your own towels. The hotel still has to offer towels to other guests and your room rate is based on what it takes for the hotel to run. Whether you use your own towels or not, the rates pay for everyone’s towels. Likewise for a restaurant, the owners will still need to pay for their staff to wash your glasses and to serve you. Maybe you should try bringing your own meat to the next restaurant you go to so that you can get a discount off?

You say that our food is absolutely bad and to this I have the following to say. If this was true, why then did your table finish every single morsel of food???We would say more but the countless 5 star reviews we have received raving about our food and service say it all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paak Dang Riverside Dining also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Paak Dang Riverside Dining? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing