We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
10
11
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
11
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

I've lived in Chiang Mai for 3 years and this is by far the best apartment available in its price range. There's everything you need to be comfortable. The owner, Ake, is awesome and accommodating. You can even rent a scooter through him. Location has everything you need close by, including a 7/11, laundromat, restaurants, supermarkets, etc. Great for short or long term stay. Two months security deposit on a 5,000/month apartment for long stay. Highly recommended but book early. It's usually full.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
Thank Junkirri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Been here for a couple months now. Location is perfect. Can walk out to 20-30 restaurants within a few hundred metres. Close to Nimman (if you're into that sort of thing lol), old city, KSK, Maya, Mueng Mai. Big local market 5 mins away. Great value for money (building isn't new but super clean). It's pretty quiet in the room considering the location. We've got a room facing away from Suthep. No view but we only get morning sun so the room stays much cooler - our preference. The building recently became Sinet ready - we pay for our own line as building wifi is patchy at times (though still super useable for those on a budget). It's a local area.

Ake the building manager runs a very tight ship (Western standards). Super responsive and friendly - goes out of his way to make things happen for you. He is quite literally amazing. I've lived all over Asia for years and never had a landlord like Ake (he would be a stand-out in the West). You won't regret staying here - if you're looking for a cheap base for a month or 6, email Ake and book.

Cons: Water pressure is a bit crap in our room (about a 4 out of 10 so not terrible in context) but considering all else this is nothing.

Room Tip: Avoid afternoon sun by getting a room on the East side of the building - the view is crappy but your room will stay cooler
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank had0ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

This place is amazing.

I've been living here for a month and can safely say that this is the property of most value at this price point in Chiang Mai.

For 5000 baht (roughly $140 USD), I've got a clean, spacious, quiet studio with fast Wi-Fi, air conditioning, tons of storage space and a huge bathroom. The location is great, you're a 10 minute songtaew ride or 5 minute scooter ride to both the old city or Nimmanhaemin. There are tons of food stalls near the building, as well as Tesco Express, 7/11 and other restaurants. The manager, Ake, is truly amazing. I pestered him with so many questions before moving in and he was always patient with me, answering everything promptly. You can have your room cleaned for 200 baht ($7 CAD).

You can rent a bike or scooter through Ake at a really reasonable price and there are washing machines and a drinking water machine on site. All of the rooms come with spacious balconies that have clotheslines to dry laundry on. There's also a rooftop with a gorgeous view on the top floor - it has a sweeping view of Doi Suthep as well as the surrounding neighborhood, Santitam. The area surrounding the property is filled with all sorts of artists and students so you'll never get bored. Make sure to check out the nearby Akha Ahma coffee, Imm Aim vegetarian restaurant and Tanin Market.

The only minor thing I can think of mentioning is that the mattresses are pretty hard. Not crazily uncomfortable, but probably not what you're used to. I quickly solved this by buying a mattress pad ($70) near Chiang Mai university. View Doi mansion provides pillows, a sheet and a fleece blanket but I ended up buying my own light duvet too. You can easily sleep well with what's provided though.

Amazing place all around. Don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank TheSpaceCadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Good, clean, spacious, basic studio apartments for a good deal. Plus one floor of 1 bedroom apartments. Some rooms have an excellent view of the mountain. The manager Ake is a great landlord. He really looked after us when anything went wrong. Location is good near cheap local eateries. There seems to nearly always be a full sign on the door so don't get your hopes up of staying here. There are plenty of otger options nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 7uhvc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

I have lived here in Doi Ping Mansion for over 1 year. The location is great, You can walk to the downtown area with in 5 min. Doi Ping Mansion is across the Ping river and you can enjoy a walk crossing the Iron bridge to get to the other side to shop or go to new of the many restaurants there. Doi Ping Mansion has a good security with guards 24 hours a day. At night the gates are locked. I enjoy living here.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thomasgomezelchicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews