We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
10
11
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
11
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The bottom line is I love these people. I had left for a month to continue my travels around SE Asia and wanted to finish in Chiang Mai. I emailed the owners and they were very accomodating. Even though they operate at 98% occupancy at any given time, they were able to move things around to give me back the room I had before.

The internet issue has been resolved- wifi routers have been placed all over the place and they took my advice and got a new provider. Rarely, if ever is down, unlike my biggest complaint about the place.

Ask about renting a moto from the owners of View Doi, much cheaper and super convenient to take it from them. These people know how to run a guesthouse. I can't say enough. Nicest people ever, anywhere.

Another big bonus is to grab breakfast, lunch or dinner at Satva Yoga directly across the street - the owner, Tukta, is super sweet and makes very healthy and affordable grub, and is a cool place to hang out and meet other hippies from all over the world. She also sells everything from CDs to clothing to yoga gear. There is a yoga studio on the 3rd floor you can use for the day for a small fee as well. You HAVE to go there if you are in the area.

Bottom line is if you are in Chiang Mai, email this place and book a room. It is very much worth the stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank inspectorjavert70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

There are MANY long term stays in the area, but personally I think this one is of the best for the money. One can pay 500 baht/night OR the monthly stay for 5000 baht/month, plus some add-ons, (electricity/water/cleaning), which would make it out to 280 baht/night. There is a lift, parking, balcony, restaurants all over the area and an unusual thing for these kinds of hotels, a partition that divides the toilet and the shower. Still fairly new as of this writing, it is the best option for the price.
The people that work the front desk are very nice, when you can find them. Their office hours are supposed to be 10 am-6 pm, but in reality it is about 10:30 am - 5:30 pm. They tend to disappear during the day, but really, very nice people.
After hours you are given a scan card to get in the rear door, where there is a security guard during dark hours. My room was quiet and mostly peaceful.
If I had a complaint, the internet is just horrible. The internet is plugged into a wall with a short card, wifi in most rooms is non-existant. The service goes off all the time. Many nights I have found myself sitting in front of a closed resataurant in the area, getting eaten by mosquitos while borrowing their wifi. I complained about it many times, wondering quite aloud how a closed little restaurant across the street can have working wifi while a pretty big guest house has their internet go out 2-3 days a week. They do apologize profusely, but the solution never comes. All they do is tape a piece of paper on the wall near the elevator with the word INTERNET and an "x" through it. In the year 2011, it just doesn't add up that this goes on.
If internet isn't important, and especially if you are doing a long term stay, I highly recommend staying here. It may not be in the middle of the old city, but a red truck can get you there in no time, and you are closer to real Thai culture, not in the middle of tourist central.

Room Tip: pick rooms on the LEFT side of the building
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank inspectorjavert70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: je höher desto schönere Aussicht
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews