We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect class to learn all you need to know about thai vegetables, spices and herbs.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basil Cookery School

Basil Cookery School
Ranked #13 of 66 Food & Drink in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Basil Cookery School, you get to do all the cooking. Don’t worry, even if you have never done a cooking class before, we make Thai cooking easy.Unlike other cookery schools that held 10-20 people per one class we limit our class to only 1-6 people so you can get the plenty of time learning with us. Ask any question you want while we're enjoy cooking together. As we take you step by step through the recipes, our class will give you confidence and we guarantee that you will be able to eat your very first delicious Thai dish. We pride ourselves on quality, from the freshest ingredients, high quality cooking utensils, clean and clear kitchens, to our customer service.
Cork
1 review
“The perfect class to learn all you need to know about thai vegetables, spices and herbs.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Having researched cooking schools we chose this one and so glad we did. Everybody in the class gets to chose their own 6 dishes (7 if you include the paste for the curry). The class is very organised and runs realy smoothly with Boom taking charge and explaining everything every step of the way. You get a cookery book at the end with all the recipe options which is a lovely touch as I have been to lessons before where you only get the ones you cook yourself. Boom collects you fom your hotel and drops you back after. Tip - don't eat anything beforehand, you'll come out absolutely stuffed. I have done many cooking lessons in many different countries and this by far was the best - very professional, fun, well explained and excellent English. Boom also gives you good alternatives to ingredients if they are hard to find where you are from. Can't reccommend this class highly enough. Thanks so much Boom.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deniswithane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    51
    11
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic - a must when in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Boom is an excellent teacher with max class size of 6. Boom first takes you to a local market and explains the differences with different chillies, rices etc. The market is very interesting and helps you to identify ingredients when you go home and want to buy them.
The selection of what you can cook is excellent - making 6 dishes in total. Boom is highly organised. There were 6 people in my class and at times different people were cooking 3 different things. Boom gave clear instructions and I knew what I was supposed to be doing at all times. Boom gave great tips and demonstrated what we needed to do. The food was absolutely delicious. Boom has a great sense of humour and the night is thoroughly enjoyable. My only tip - dont eat lunch before you go as there is heaps of food to eat! You wont be disappointed and at the end you get a very comprehensive cooking book with all the recipes and suggestions of alternative products if you cant get something back home.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 7Guinevere7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable afternoon cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

As a very, very novice chef.....i enjoy eating more than preparing food; however, this class was quite enjoyable. Boom picks you up and takes you to the market to explain a bit about various Thai ingredients. Then, you head back to a small house and start cooking! It's quite nice as Boom does a lot of the prep work. So much food. Seriously, I know that everyone states it.....but there is no reason to eat breakfast. you'll have your first dish at around 1030.....and the food never stops. Great selection and the cookbook will be helpful for the future.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Learning to cook!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

A great class with great taste! The class size (6 max) is perfect and intimate. We learned a lot, received a cook book and the teacher was very patient. Recommend for anyone wanting a nice meal and to learn how to cook!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank zensaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tasty Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Great cooking school... first you go to the market and Boom explains basic ingredients used in Thai cooking, which was really helpful. If you take the morning session there is no need to eat breakfast before coming! The food was very tasty, but we would have preferred to make less dishes if only we had more time on each one... it was definitely a bit rushed. However, we had fun with the other two couples in the class. The small class size is very nice.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ckoois01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basil Cookery School also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Basil Cookery School? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing