We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first elephant encounter!”

Baanchang Elephant Park - Private Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 45.34*
and up
Elephant's Heaven: Half-Day Elephant Experience at Baanchang Elephant Park in...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Baanchang Elephant Park: Is dedicated to providing elephants with the highest quality-of-life possible.Our elephant park run by 100 % Thai Owner. Our Park completely owned and rescued 39 Elephants. The program will provide you the wonderful introductions to the lifestyle of Thai elephants including all details involved about them, also you can learn how to control and bath the elephants as if you are a Mahout. By the way, you will be able to ride elephants bareback through the hills around in our park area.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Dubai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great first elephant encounter!”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We booked this excursion as a family with two teenage kids! Although we are animal lovers and horse people, nothing really prepares you for the size of those gentle giants! I was blown away and a bit scared at first. Our guide Woody was excellent in his instructions how to handle and approach the elephants and about the mission and rescue efforts very informative. After feeding, learning how to ride them, give commands etc. we had a nice lunch, whilst the elephants had theirs. The track through the jungle was great, every elephant was accompanied by their trainer and Woody came, which calmed me down! Indeed, the up and down on narrow tracks in not for the light hearted, but can be managed by everyone....and it is not too long. Very nice was the washing of our pregnant elephant afterwards. By then, you confidence around those giants has gown a lot! I am very glad we booked this trip. Care is taken that elephants don't carry too much weight, no saddles are used and the location and staff are relaxed and very friendly. There were only 8 people in our party, which was great and we were safely taken back to our hotel.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Margitta483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,539
    214
    43
    22
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you can spend overnight, it is remarkable”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I am staying in Chiang Mai for 3 months (Feb to May) for a global justice assignment and chose to celebrate my March birthday with an overnight with the elephants. Our guide was Woody (a treasure of information) and the one day mahout training was exciting and fun. BUT - only 5 of us stayed overnight which was stellar! We had extended quiet time with the elephants, lovely outside dinner, very nice sleeping quarters. Here's the double but - after dinner there was a fireside party (including birthday Thai lanterns and toasts), singing by and with the mahouts, birthday sticky rice made in the fire in a piece of bamboo. The next morning we rode the elephants to the lake before riding them up a mountain where we had a great picnic together: the five of us, 3 mahouts and our guide Woody - and our elephants who just hung out. The numbers let me ride my elephant bareback. Back down the mountain and again to the lake to play and scrub the elephants. Our attachment level to the elephants and our comfort level with the elephants because of this extended exposure was exponential. Kudos to Woody for his role as guide - so sorry I can't add photos from this computer. On a scale of 1 to 10 - this is a 10.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun day for the kids and us but..”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We were told by the guide that the elephants constantly moving and rocking was a sign that they were happy. Being interested I looked this up and found it was a sign of boredom and sometimes distress. We had a great time and the elephants certainly seemed to enjoy their bath and were well fed. There were definately no metal seats and we didn't see any cruelty to the animals but I hope that with the new area being built that the elephants can get to roam around without chains and socialise normally with each other. It wouldn't put me off going though as the elephants have been rescued from far worse environments.

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oustanding trip. Magical Experience”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We went on the one day trip (booked through our hostel) and loved it. Feeding the elephants was great fun - they grab whole bunches of bananas out of your hands using their trunks. Being on top of one was simply amazing and slightly surreal. You get a real impression of just how powerful they are. You also get to bathe with the elephants and give them a scrub!

We were picked up from our hostel after breakfast and dropped back there in the afternoon, The guide and mahouts (trainers) were friendly and knowledgeable, and clearly cared for the elephants. A slight shame is that they have to keep the elephants chained up for a lot of the day (other than when you are riding on top of them or taking the bath) but we understood that this is the case in many such sanctuaries to avoid them fighting, escapiting etc.

Definitely worth a visit if you haven't tried before.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pm2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Fun Day”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Such a neat experience to be up close and personal with elephants. The day was very well organized, and we learned a lot about how the elephants are cared for and where they come from. Our guide - Tom (maybe one of the managers?) - was terrific.
We learned how to ride the elephants, give commands, feed them, and even bathe them. Wow!
It was quite pricey, but the money goes directly to the elephant park and food. A fun day, though it didn't blow my socks off :)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baanchang Elephant Park - Private Day Tours also viewed

 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Baanchang Elephant Park - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing