We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing guesthouse with local sauna facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club One Seven Chiang Mai
Ranked #118 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“relaxing guesthouse with local sauna facilities”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This gay guesthouse is a little outside the city centre, just along the river Ping, where they have a gymnasium and verandah with the views over the river and the big concrete structure of the Holiday Inn at the other side of the river. It is an old teak house with a garden and a small pool and at the back of the hotel are the sauna and steam room, a bar, the gymnasium and a huge darkroom.... Every day about ten to thirty local guys visit the sauna and are mostly only interested in other Thai boys, logical, no ? Staff are cute and very friendly as well as reception and its manager, all very friendly although a problem throughout Thailand English is not spoken fluently and could cause some minor problems. Chiang Mai is fine. Much lovelier and nicer than Bangkok and Pattaya region. Rooms in this guesthouse are rather small and dark due to the dark brown teak and so walls are very, very thin and everyhting wat happens in the room next to yours is as if it was in your own room. I also had some doubts about the products they used in the pool, and they should clean it more. There is airco and wireless internet inside the rooms and other computers are available. Some local mostly muslim restaurants in vicinity but better to go to the city center or take a tuk tuk. Transfers are possible and have to be paid for. It will be the car of the manager, who is very friendly and speaks English very well. There was a big tree fallen onto the roof and some works are still in progress so the garden for the moment looks a bit messy. Thailand is nothing for me, not very beautiful, people mostly only polite when money involved and too many tourists.

Room Tip: downstairs are the standard rooms, I believe there is only one, bit is way bigger than my superior r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    57
    18
    12
    10
See reviews for
8
54
64
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for six nights in April... It was my second time staying here and I loved it just aaa much as the first time. The staff are all incredible, especially Andy and Khun Tang... Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie Single traveller
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hi There
Went back to Chiagn Mai to see how they do Songkran ( Thai New Year ) again I was not disappointed with the level of service I received from Andy and Tang and all the crew at C17 they make you feel part of a greater famliy. Had the same room looking over the Ping River which was nice and clean and very comfortable. In the afternoon all guest was invite to celbrate Songkran the water festivle and this was so much fun. If you get a chance check out C17 they are alway improving there services for the guest

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

thanks for a truly fantastic stay at your club - it was so great to be with you.
Your service is the best - you made us feel more like friends than just guests. Had so much fun with you celebrating songkran. Hope to see you again

Room Tip: when staying in the charming 130 yrs old building try to get one of the original rooms on first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casper W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My partner and i stayed for 6 nights in late february. We originally booked for 3 nights to keep our options open but enjoyed our stay so much that we booked for a further 3 nights. We spend 5 nights in an upstairs room (201) and the last night downstairs in the smaller room (101). I am struggling to believe that I stayed at the same place as the two previous reviewers on this site. The rooms are certainly quite dark but there is a lot of LED and spot lighting to create atmosphere. As this is a restored 130 year old Lanna style teak wood house (as it says on the website) you would expect it to be quite dark because of the teak wood finish. The upstairs rooms are larger and slightly more expensive but my partner and I had no problem finding space for ourselves, suitcases and lots of shopping. i would say that both rooms were larger than a typical hotel room would be for the same price . The rooms were clean (and made up daily) and well fitted. The towel folding was very imaginative to say the least.

It has been mentioned repeatedly that Manager and staff are very friendly and helpful and we definately found this to be the case. Tang and Andy and staff were fantastic. So polite and genuinly friendly and helpful that it was a pleasure to spend time with them. Some of the newer boys don't have great English skills but I did note that they are all studying to improve so practising their English with guests is a beneficial experience all round. I make a special mention of "Tuk Tuk" as he was such a delight and so very helpful when we had problems with our door lock.

The sauna side of things is certainly quiet with only a few thai visitors (mostly younger guys 20-30) during the week. So if you stay there with the expectation that it will be a frenzy of bodies and action like Babylon you may be disappointed. Saturday is by far the busiest night. The most popular time every day is between 7 and 9pm.

The location is great and quiet (we didnt hear any noise inside the rooms from either the street or the next room, contrary to one recent review). It is not in the busiest or most touristed part of town but getting a tuk tuk is easy either right outside or on the next street and never took more than 5 minutes. Maybe at 3am it might. It costs 80 to 100B to get to closer activities like the night bazaar and sunday market and up to about 150B to get to the other gay nightclubs & sauna. You should be aware that gay nightlife is not really crowded into one or two soi's like Bangkok or Pattata and things are relatively spread out.

As the location of C17 is on the Ping River there are mosquitos at sunrise/sunset so be prepared with some insect spray/repellent. The staff are very aware and generous with the distribution of mosquito coils. The breakfast is fine (try the pancakes - they're very special but also very filling) and the dinner menu small but quite nice dieshes. I would assume that a visitor would not necessarily want to spend all of their on the premises and would be venturing out reasonably regularly for meals/sightseeing/shopping. This area of town is near a mosque and there are quite a lot of muslim street stalls and restaurants in the area. This provides extra diversity for dining options. We discovered a small stall featuring a "Chicken Biriyani" sign immediately next to the 7-11 across the bridge and right at the first corner (very close to Holiday Inn) where the food was fantastic. We went back several times just to have chicken biryani for breakfast. This place is open about 18 hours a day as are many of the food places, except maybe on Sunday when they open a little later.

If you are looking for big smoke frenzied action this may not be your place. If you are not gay this may not be your place. For evenyone else, you should have a great, relaxing time here with beautiful and handsome staff. You will be treated like family.

Room Tip: The upstairs room are larger and some have a view. There is a common balcony. Room 201 looks over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank psygram9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 km away
Nordwind Hotel
Nordwind Hotel
#121 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
5.8 km away
B2 Ayatana Premier Hotel & Resort
2.7 km away
Karinthip Village
Karinthip Village
#175 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#81 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.9 km away
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
#113 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
2.8 km away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#45 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club One Seven Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club One Seven Chiang Mai

Property: Club One Seven Chiang Mai
Address: 385/2 Charoen Prathet Rd. | Changklan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,326 - ₹ 3,425
Hotel Class:3 star — Club One Seven Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built circa 1880, Club One Seven Chiang Mai, with its peaked roof and wide veranda porches, are a perfect example of an old-fashioned Thai style teak wood house that sits in a lush tropical garden. There's a real friendly ambiance that makes guests content to just spend time relaxing around the place particularly at one of the favored spots - overlooking the serene Ping River. For those just looking to unwind, read a book and use up as little energy as possible, this is certainly a place to consider. Club One Seven is a full service facility not just a guesthouse. Additional to the guesthouse there is a gym, swimming pool with jacuzzi jets, steam room, sauna, massage salon, internet tv room and cafe. Regular monthly party events are held on the 1st, 7th, 17th and 27th of the month as well as special holidays. Club One Seven Chiang Mai, is one of the more unusual places you will find designed for the gay male community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Club One Seven Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club One Seven Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Club 1 7 Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing