We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the highlights of our trip!”

Classic Home Cooking
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manitoba
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our trip!”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

My mother and I attended an evening cooking class and loved every minute of it. Vannee and her husband picked us up from our hotel and took us first to a local market. On the way there we picked 4 different dishes EACH which we would be cooking. The market visit was interesting and enjoyable and Vannee even bought us a little snack to try which she served to us when we arrived at their home. While Vannee and her assistant were doing some of the prep work her husband pointed out different herbs and vegetables growing in their garden. Then we started cooking! While I have cooked some Thai dishes in the past I learned many new things from Vannee. She is a very patient and kind instructor. Even my mother who doesn't love cooking like I do completely enjoyed herself. The evening was so nice and relaxed compared to the rest of our Thailand touring, a nice respite. Everything we cooked was SO delicious but we couldn't begin to finish it all. Vannee packaged it up for us and then we were driven back to our hotel and even gave us a hug good bye when we were dropped off.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank MBPrairie-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    17
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was the highlight of our Thailand trip!”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We - some of us non-cookers! - enjoyed every bit of this cooking class, starting with an hour+ visit with our host to the local market to select our ingredients and ending with a super-delicious meal that we made ourselves under the perfect preparation and instruction by the charming couple who hosted us. The class is held in a very well-equipped outdoor "classroom" at their home, and staffed by a few helpers that make sure your cooking areas are wiped clean by the time you're ready to prepare the next dish. In addition to tummies filled with excellent Thai homemade dishes and smiles, we left with a cookbook containing about 100 recipes, including those we prepared. The 6 of us had a wonderful time, and highly recommend spending 5 hours in this off-the-beaten-path shangri-la.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I can't possibly do Vannee and Meo justice in a written review like this. They are both wonderful friendly and helpful people, and this cooking class was such a wonderful experience. From the walk through the market to purchase produce, to the cooking of so many dishes, to the eating - it was such a great day. We did this class as a family (my wife and I and three teenage children), and we were all expertly guided by both Vannee and Meo. Our kids loved it, and it has certainly helped their love of good food, and how to effectively prepare it.
As others have said, don't eat much (if any) breakfast, because you will have your hands full trying to eat everything you cook. Unfortunately our hotel didn't have a fridge, so we couldn't take any of the leftovers (of which there were heaps).
You'll learn so much, and have such a blast. We've used the cookbook already since we've been home, and have cooked a few meals - which have turned out great. Thanks so much Vannee and Meo for a wonderful day for us as a family - this was one of the highlights of our stay in Chiang Mai.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank RfsowV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't eat breakfast the morning you go!”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Outstanding value for money; you will learn a great number of cooking secrets and enjoy the best Thai food you will ever eat, of which there will be way too much; your hotel fridge may not be able to handle all the leftovers.

And don't worry about forgetting what you've learned; you'll get a cookbook with all the recipes to take home.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank wjbmd48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a worthwhile experience and feed!”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

This experience was a highlight. Vannee and Meo pick you up from your accomodation, let you choose your menu and then take you to the local markets to collect your ingredients. After you've shopped with the locals for ingredients, you head back to Vannee and Meo's outdoor cooking area for some one on one lessons in Thai cooking. For any one who loves cooking, or just loves Thai food - you'll come home thinking you're an expert.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank honeymonkey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Classic Home Cooking also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Classic Home Cooking? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing