We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,028)
Filter reviews
1,028 results
Traveller rating
813
152
48
14
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
813
152
48
14
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolonial stylevintage mercedesnakara jardinroyal grand deluxelocal snacksnight marketbeautiful hotelcomplimentary mini barreplenished dailysmall hotelsmall buffetturn down serviceour honeymoontuk tukold citycommon areastour desk
Filter
Updating list...
638 - 643 of 1,028 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed three nights at the hotel and loved it! The rooms are large and nice, the facilities very veyr nice, and the breakfast the best we had on our trip.

The hotel is a bit out of the city center which makes it calm and quiet, but still only a short walk from the night market, masage places, restos etc.

The only small downside was that the girl at the concierge didnt really know about things we asked her. She could have probably booked a tour, but couldnt give advice on what to do, where to et etc. Other that that the staff were very helpful and service minded. A wonderful experience all in all!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back where street noise is minimal
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinnishMexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This hotel provided a restful experience in a quiet street in Chiang Mai. The staff were obliging and helpful. The included breakfast was very nice and served in a restful area near the pool. Great bathroom facilities in a hotel and room with real character.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The Ping Nakara was the first stop on our Thailand honeymoon in December 2011 - we spent 4 nights there as we explored Chiang Mai and the surrounding areas.

Conveniently located within easy walking distance of the night markets, temples and central Chiang Mai, the hotel is elegant and immaculate throughout. The staff were pleasant and helpful whenever called upon,

Could not recommend this place enough

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juanmilanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This hotel is full of little details that make it a really special boutique hotel. Large & well designed rooms, excellent meals, and a pool that's a nice oasis from the busy streets of Chiang Mai. (I'd like to see a coffee table and larger bedside tables in the rooms...but it didn't compromise my comfort).
It is located on a fairly busy street that can be noisy in the morning. Fortunately the rooms are well designed to block all that out. But it can be a bit disconcerting that first morning after such a quiet and peaceful sleep to open that outer door. My fellow friends who travel through Asia a lot took no exception to this. The pool, restaurant, etc are all well sheltered from the noise/street.
The location makes it an easy walk to the night market, restaurants, and old city. And if your feet give out, it's never more than about $3 CDN to get anywhere by Tuk Tuk.
Highlights of my stay here? - the staff: I felt genuinely uplifted with every encounter. They are attentive, gracious, and humble. This could be said about many of the Thai people but the staff here never failed me. One night we had the 'taste of Thailand' for dinner in the restaurant and loved it! Every dish was delicious, and plenty of variety too. And finally, the hotel itself...it truly transports you to another era with all the comforts of today.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCD1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

LOCATION: As of November 2012, the Ping Nakara Hotel provides round trip airport transfers free of charge if the room booking is made by e-mailing the hotel directly. Booking through the hotel’s own website is not eligible. The hotel driver provided a courteous, smooth 15-minute ride from the airport. Ping Nakara is located a short 7-minute walk to the Night Bazaar. There are not many taxis in Chiang Mai. Though the hotel can book one for you, the waiting time can sometimes be rather long. If you are not a big fan of tuk-tuk, a chauffeured car can also conveniently be arranged at the hotel for THB 1000 for a 4-hour service.

HOTEL: Less than a smooth check-in. Only one staff manning the front desk and she clearly had problem keeping her cool. Right after stepping into the hotel lobby, I was greeted by a rather harsh “Good morning. Please, wait it the waiting room.” Though there were also another staff at the nearby information desk and two more tending the bar, none seemed to bother bringing a glass of water for a waiting guest. After a long, awkward wait, I decided to go back to the reception and raise my concern with the lack of information and hospitality. Ping Nakara is a small hotel, and I do not expect an early check-in, but since I have business to tend to that morning, a more efficient dialog from the staff would have been much appreciated.

(Royal Grand Deluxe Room): Generous size room. Nicely decorated. Functional lay-out. Effective, quiet air-conditioning. Very good bed and comfortable pillows. Good size bathroom. The shower provided intermittent low shower water pressure and hot water.
Attentive and courteous breakfast staff served a rather bland breakfast, except for the pancakes, which were delicious.

Fast, courteous check-out.

CONCLUSION: Staff are polite and courteous, especially the hotel driver. Ping Nakara could easily have got a five-star review if not for the botched check-in and the sub-par shower.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
Thank HKasyouare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are sorry that your check-in experience was not as happy as you would have liked. We usually have enough staff at the front, but unfortunately that day several guests were in hurry to checkout and get to the airport (though, our checkout process was very fast as you had mentioned). We must say that this situation is rare, since we have only 19 exclusive rooms and normally guests do not incidentally show up at the same time. We apologize that we kept you waiting for a few minutes, and you raise a good point in that we should have waitpersons to assist when things get overloaded. We will implement that now.

Re the shower water, after thoroughly checking, we could not find any problem with the water pressure. As we have a computer water pressure control system, it may have malfunctioned during your usage. However, we didn’t hear about the issue from other rooms during that period. Still, we have checked out the computer to confirm that it is working properly to control the pressure.

Your comments mean a lot to us as we are constantly striving to make the Ping Nakara a world-class destination for our guests. I hope you will return someday and will make sure the shower is fine for you.

Kind regards,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews