We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handsome property. Issues with shower and stressed front desk staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2012

LOCATION: As of November 2012, the Ping Nakara Hotel provides round trip airport transfers free of charge if the room booking is made by e-mailing the hotel directly. Booking through the hotel’s own website is not eligible. The hotel driver provided a courteous, smooth 15-minute ride from the airport. Ping Nakara is located a short 7-minute walk to the Night Bazaar. There are not many taxis in Chiang Mai. Though the hotel can book one for you, the waiting time can sometimes be rather long. If you are not a big fan of tuk-tuk, a chauffeured car can also conveniently be arranged at the hotel for THB 1000 for a 4-hour service.

HOTEL: Less than a smooth check-in. Only one staff manning the front desk and she clearly had problem keeping her cool. Right after stepping into the hotel lobby, I was greeted by a rather harsh “Good morning. Please, wait it the waiting room.” Though there were also another staff at the nearby information desk and two more tending the bar, none seemed to bother bringing a glass of water for a waiting guest. After a long, awkward wait, I decided to go back to the reception and raise my concern with the lack of information and hospitality. Ping Nakara is a small hotel, and I do not expect an early check-in, but since I have business to tend to that morning, a more efficient dialog from the staff would have been much appreciated.

(Royal Grand Deluxe Room): Generous size room. Nicely decorated. Functional lay-out. Effective, quiet air-conditioning. Very good bed and comfortable pillows. Good size bathroom. The shower provided intermittent low shower water pressure and hot water.
Attentive and courteous breakfast staff served a rather bland breakfast, except for the pancakes, which were delicious.

Fast, courteous check-out.

CONCLUSION: Staff are polite and courteous, especially the hotel driver. Ping Nakara could easily have got a five-star review if not for the botched check-in and the sub-par shower.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
Thank HKasyouare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are sorry that your check-in experience was not as happy as you would have liked. We usually have enough staff at the front, but unfortunately that day several guests were in hurry to checkout and get to the airport (though, our checkout process was very fast as you had mentioned). We must say that this situation is rare, since we have only 19 exclusive rooms and normally guests do not incidentally show up at the same time. We apologize that we kept you waiting for a few minutes, and you raise a good point in that we should have waitpersons to assist when things get overloaded. We will implement that now.

Re the shower water, after thoroughly checking, we could not find any problem with the water pressure. As we have a computer water pressure control system, it may have malfunctioned during your usage. However, we didn’t hear about the issue from other rooms during that period. Still, we have checked out the computer to confirm that it is working properly to control the pressure.

Your comments mean a lot to us as we are constantly striving to make the Ping Nakara a world-class destination for our guests. I hope you will return someday and will make sure the shower is fine for you.

Kind regards,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 600 of 973 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel, lovely staff, lovely service.

Although the hotel is only 3 years old, the design and workmanship transports you to a colonial era.

At check-in you are welcomed to tea in a sitting room. The bedrooms are spacious and elegant. The spa was a delightful experience in service quality. The breakfast was plentiful and diverse given the boutique hotel size.
It is a 5 minute walk to the night market.

Thanks for a great time.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoseMHern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed at Ping Nakara Hotel & Spa in October 2012 in room 210. The bedroom was spacious and the bathroom had a lovely deep bathtub and a separate shower. Extras like the free minibar and coconut caramels in the room were a lovely touch and much appreciated. Breakfast was included in the rate and with buffet and menu choices everyone was happy. Our late-night checkin was handled efficiently and staff were helpful at all times. The building is lovely, and the grounds are immaculate. Our only regret is that our stay was too short - we will definitely return to Ping Nakara.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soozziiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Ping Nakara was a great choice of a hotel. The service was terrific! They were friendly, they always remembered our names. The breakfast was included and it had a great variety from the buffet to personalized menu items. The pool was cute, good size, and CLEAN. The rooms were clean, cozy, and roomy. The bathroom had a large tub, bathroom sink had a small counter space, and the toilet had a sliding door to the shower.

The location is perfect. Just a few blocks away from town/markets. Rather easy to find too. We would recommend for our friends, and if we were to go back to Chiang Mai, we'd probably stay here again.

Sometimes in the middle of the night you will hear the temple dogs barking, but you'll hear that anywhere in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thatgurlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We spent 1 week at the Ping Nakara and couldnt complain about anything! its small only 19 rooms so you rarely see anyone, very relaxing, has a great pool. The staff were all fantastic and very helpful, we ate most of our meals at the restaurant, all the dishes we ordered we loved and it was very cheap as well! Room and property was beautiful! Pillow menu which we used and a movie menu with lots of choice! free mini bar in room which is a bonus and home made sweets! On arrival the staff were so kind and made us feel very welcome. There is someone available to organize tours which we used and was very helpful, close to the old wall and walking street.Breakfast was great lots of choice and all yummy, choice of hot breakfast freshly made and a buffet of fruits, cereals, croissants, juices, etc. We had the best time here and will definitely be back! you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bta411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,106 reviews
1.1 km away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
4.2 km away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 395 in Chiang Mai
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#9 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,531 reviews
0.1 km away
Na Nirand Romantic Boutique Resort
3.2 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 135/9 Charoenprathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: ₹ 10,255 - ₹ 24,140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa. Set in the awe-inspiring colonial style of the early 1900’s, the Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa is located at the heart of Chiang Mai’s vibrant business centre and entertainment venues. The hotel is just a five minute walking distance from Chiang Mai’s famous Night Bazaar to the numerous riverside restaurants, while at the same time allowing guests to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the natural surroundings. The three-storey hotel with a central elevator boasts of 19 luxury guestrooms, all individually styled and elegantly furbished with the colonial charm. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all the rooms including a TV, DVD player and a free mini bar. The hotel's restaurant offers a wide variety of food from authentic Thai cuisine to Western dishes. Coffee and tea, soft drinks, wines and liquor are served at the Lobby Bar, and guests can enjoy their drinks in the comfort of the library or at the peaceful verandah by the outdoor pool. For holistic health and relaxation, guests can unwind and enjoy the genuine Ayurvedic treatment from the hotel’s Nakara Spa. Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel and Spa offers a broad range of services, facilities and amenities designed to provide personalized service and first class hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing