We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Small Chiang Mai
Ranked #140 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great location great hotel”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

stayed here for 7 nights in Oct had excellent service very nicely located very central close to all markets teh walk to adn through flower market and china town is intoxicating with perfumes and aromas and less than 5 inutes away pool is small but servied its purpose breakfast room was great room service ordinary but the inhouse massage service was to die for

Room Tip: get front of hotel balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nols59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    124
    83
    30
    20
See reviews for
30
126
42
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kl
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Once we arrived,the staff are friendly and help us to take the baggage and give welcome drink. The design of the hotel is simple but nice. The hotel room is well equip, clean and quite. Although the breakfast choice isn't much but I'm satisfied.

Unfortunately, not every staff is friendly and responsible. I saw a staff sleeping on sofa while we check out in the morning.

But overall is good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yeong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxas City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We got a really good deal from an on-line travel agency and we were not expecting too much. So we were pleasantly surprised to find that The Small Hotel Chiang Mai offers all amenities that a 5-star hotel would - including slippers, bathrobes, flat TV, the works. The only issue I have with this hotel is that there aren't any restaurants nearby - one has to go to the old city to grab a bite. So we ended up ordering room service - their Thai food is good, but not their sandwiches.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickydmd888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

It never ceases to amaze me as to what people expect for a relatively low price. All in all our experience was positive. Yes there are some minor matters such as more appropriate lighting but overall it was fine. Staff were very welcoming, willing to help and friendly.We arrived at 9am, quite early I am sure you will agree and they were happy to let us into our room without us even requesting it. Overall no problems and would recommend it and stay again.
We recommend you visit the Raming Tea House next door. Excellent coffee in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garrycathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Greeted by the most unusual carpet at the narrow lobby of the Small Hotel. A hand crafted art carpet long and narrow leading to the little reception. Very friendly an warm welcome by the staff makes you feel so comfortable. When we went to our room, we were surprised at the hand painted art mural on the entire wall.... and the splases of vibrant colors thrown on the cushions , bed spread....and all are very tastefully done with style.

In the morning the breakfast is served on the roof top garden cafe !!

Fantastic stay...will go back for sure. A word of advise is to book online is much cheaper.

Room Tip: book online is much cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterpatterpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 km away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#71 of 383 in Chiang Mai
167 reviews
0.9 km away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#137 of 383 in Chiang Mai
248 reviews
0.5 km away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#57 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Tawan Court
Tawan Court
#96 of 383 in Chiang Mai
100 reviews
0.8 km away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#179 of 383 in Chiang Mai
287 reviews
0.5 km away
Mandala House
Mandala House
#175 of 747 in Chiang Mai
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Small Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Small Chiang Mai

Property: The Small Chiang Mai
Address: 148-150 Ta Pae Road | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,356 - ₹ 4,585
Hotel Class:3 star — The Small Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newcomer boutique hotel “The Small Hotel, Chiang Mai” is now opened. With 35 boutique rooms that are stylishly furnished wherein each provides all necessities to ensure guests comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EaseMyTrip, HotelQuickly, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your The Small Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing