We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant, quirky, affordable.”

The Spirit House Restaurant & Bar
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Vladivostok, Russia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pleasant, quirky, affordable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

It's not at all hard to find this place- as some other obviously ocularly-challenged reviewers claim- what with the big blue neon sign that says "Spirit House" out front and everything. And yes, it's off the beaten path but since the beaten path is so full of annoying, tattooed gap year Eurotwits there's nothing wrong with that. The Spirit House is a pretty nice yet surprisingly affordable spot to eat and drink at. There are plenty of interesting statues and antiques all over the place and the small waterfall outside is a nice touch. While both the "specials" list and the menu are indeed lengthy (leading me to wonder how all the ingredients they use could possibly be fresh), the food didn't make me ill or anything so it must be verging on okay. It's in a part of Chiangmai that most tourists don't normally visit so just getting there is kind of interesting and although the service is a bit spotty (I think some of the staff there are on work-study programs from one of Chiangmai's many trade schools), there's no reason to get worked up about it. I ate there with a friend of mine and starters, mains, and a drink came to a mere 360 baht each and that's okay given the ambience and general okay quality of the food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FattM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    35
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Very warm and friendly welcome but food-wise not so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We enjoyed sitting under the stars in the holy garden, chatting to the western owner who is extremely friendly and knowledgeable about food and antiques (lots of antiques in the restaurant). The place is very spacious and relaxing, with indoor and outdoor dining areas. I felt I was more in an antique museum than in a restaurant, which makes this place uniques.
Food-wise, the soup we had were served luke-warm, my friend's main course (as agreed to by the owner) was not what was ordered and served cold with under-cooked potatoes.
TIP: Best to go there for pre-dinner drinks, then go elsewhere for your dinner.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Silverlucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Pehn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food for body and soul!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Initially hhad trouble finding the resturant. Much easier now that the trees at the front have been trimmed. From the opening weklcome to the final good bye Spirit House is an experience. The setting is inside and in individual chalets outside. We have sat outside on four occasions. The soft sounds of music and trickling water seem to isolste one from the rest of the clients. The food is simple and extremely well prepared. I have got to the stage where I just tell the host how many dishes are required and leave it o him. I have never been sisappointed. The service is friendlky, quiet, attendive but very unobtrusive.
Looking forward to next visit to Chiang Mai.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Greeted by owner and special explained in person. They really know their food and ingredients. Cool "vibe" with the orange floors and antiques for sale. Owner was ex-antique dealer, so he can tell you lots of information about the antiques and area. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal. No wine list only choice of red or white. Red was served very hot. Not sure what happened? Would recommend reservations and if you are a wine lover, asking if you can bring your own wine for a corkage fee.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank mitzimorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This is my favourite restaurant in Chiang Mai. It is a gem in a world of increasingly bland options. Stay exactly as you are, Spirit House, and I will keep coming.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank peterxhosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spirit House Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing