We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Ranked #11 of 775 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2011

It's already a few weeks ago that we returned from our Thailand holiday but we still have vivant and good memories of this nice guesthouse. Host Daphne makes a great effort to make you feel welcome and provides you with useful information. The rooms are clean, big and comfortable - we stayed with two adults and two small boys in a normal room and still had enough place to move. The restaurant and outside sitting area is a perfect place to hang out and to have relaxed conversations with other travelers or with Daphne herself. The food Daphne offers are Belgian classics, like 'vol-au-vent' of 'stoofvlees met frietjes, what is a handy and tasty food solution when you have a Asian food overkill. Also, the pancakes and french toasts for breakfast are delicious. Other assets are the kids play area and the pool.

It's a bit out of the center of Chiang Mai but transport to the major attractions is not that pricey and a short tuk tuk drive away.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ellen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 128 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

Of you look voor a nice place to stay, far from the touristsgroups but more close to the Thai people than you should choose for Liam's Guesthouse. Daphne, the owner will give you good advice what to do in Chiang Mai and surroundings and she arranges it for you whithout any problem. The accomodation is lovely, a kind of your own livingroom felling is what you get there. But one with a swimmingpool. Not to forget the big clean rooms and the nice food, the pancakes especially.
For us a place to comeback. Wonderful place with wonderful people.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ramona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daffietje, Owner at Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Hello,

Thank you so much for writing this lovely review! We had a wonderful time together and the best thing is people arrive here as strangers and they leave as friends!
All the best for you and your family!

Daphne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Liam's Suan Dok Mai is a small and charming guesthouse just a little outside of Chiang mai. It has a nice pool and a great restaurant. Breakfast is really good with fresh fruits, pancakes, conflakes and nice bread. We stayed in a nice, specious and clean room with good mattresses. The staff is really sweet and friendly. The hostess, Daphne, is also really friendly and knows al lot about things to do in and around Chiang Mai. Daphne gives really great tips and can arrange tours, taxi and tuktuk rides for you. She gave us good tips and made our stay memorable. We loved our stay in Liam's Suan Dok Mai and hope to come back there!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank W S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daffietje, Owner at Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Hello,

Thank you so much for your nice review! It's our job to make our guests' holiday as easy as possible with helping out on booking tours and giving advice!

We hope to see you again, some day!

Regards,
Daphne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed this summer during our trip in Thailand with our kids (14, 15 and 16 yrs old) three nights at Liam Suan Dok Mai Guest Home. Of all hotels, guesthouses, lodges etc we’ve been this holiday, this place is the best in our memory.
In the first place the rooms are very comfortable and tastefull, the beds and sanitary are of good quality (always important item for critical spoiled Dutch people like us). We enjoyed 2 weeks of (delicious) Thai food, but the menu of Liam Suan Dok Mai Guest Home was a very welcome variation. Our kids enjoyed the European food and…..so did we! Served by the very very kind staffmember named “Tu”.
It needs no explination that the free WIFI was a very welcome item for our kids. But most important for us was the owner of this accommodation, Daphne. A very warm and friendly woman who is capable to give you a coming-home feeling in her place. She‘s always there but in a very pleasant way. You can see and feel that she takes care for her customers. Hard to explain what her quality is, but trust me……it’s just what makes you feel comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank frankie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daffietje, Owner at Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Hello,

Thank you so much for the kind words!! It was a pleasure meeting you and I love to read your children had a great time!!
Hopefully we'll meet again some day!

Take care,
Daphne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Me and my family went there to stay for two days. The pancake from breakfast was delicious!
The five people room was not small and crowded. It was very comfortable. In the morning I rode the bicycle around the neighborhood, enjoying the quiet morning and the wonderful local houses. The Liam's Suan Dok Mai hostel is a little far from the hostel(about 15 minutes from downtown) but I think after a exhausted downtown exploring, it is really great to get away from all the noise of the traffic and relax in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank niki266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.9 km away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#51 of 386 in Chiang Mai
904 reviews
1.1 km away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#4 of 775 in Chiang Mai
714 reviews
3.4 km away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#6 of 775 in Chiang Mai
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Swiss-Lanna Lodge
Swiss-Lanna Lodge
#10 of 775 in Chiang Mai
223 reviews
3.4 km away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#4 of 882 in Chiang Mai
667 reviews
3.3 km away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#12 of 775 in Chiang Mai
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai

Address: 87/45 Moo 7 Tambon Faham, | Moo Baan Samakon, A. Muang,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 775 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: ₹ 1,993 - ₹ 3,278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small guesthouse in a local Thai area, not too far from the hustle and bustle from the old city centre but perfect for those who prefer a quiet surrounding and homey feeling, it's time to relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing