We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“introduction to Thai Cooking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Kitchen Cookery Centre

Thai Kitchen Cookery Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: First Cooking School In Chiang MaiTubtim - Tuk and his family Run the Original and Only Cooking School in Chiang Mai that is by Completely Hands On !! That means that You Chop, Cook and Make all your Own Sauces. This is not a Demonstration or Jigsaw Puzzle COURSE ! The Cookbook Consists of Original Family Recipes handed down from Generation to Generation and Now to YOU. It is not a Copied Cookbook!! Tubtim-Tuk will Welcome You into his Family Home to Teach You the Secrets of Thai Cooking !!
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“introduction to Thai Cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Interesting visit to the market to see all the ingredients ot start with. A cooking lesson that proved that great tasting food can be easy to prepare. 4 easy dishes and a cookbook with the dishes we prepared. Loved it and will try it out @home.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arnold T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    35
    8
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cavendish, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Our instructor was truly amazing, she was very knowledgeable in what she was teaching, she laughed alot and made it a very enjoyable fun day. Not to mention the food was delicious, everything right from the garden.. I would recommend this to everyone, the farm is beautiful, very well laid out. Everything you need.. Now to make it at home will be the challenge.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Canyoncamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food made to look so easy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

My sister in law and I did the half day morning course - it was simply wonderful. I will say from the outset that I am a novice in all things culinary.
We started off by going to the markets where Jay showed us all the ingredients in their raw state before heading back to the kitchen to begin our lessons.
We chose 4 dishes and a curry paste to make. All of the staff could not have been more helpful (even down to tracking down our driver when we couldn't find him), the meals turned out well and we left with a recipe book with easy to follow instructions.
We thoroughly recommend Jay and her team for anyone wanting to learn Thai cooking.

Helpful?
Thank SunshineStatesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We did the afternoon school which was probably a bad choice as we didn't get to do the market visit that's included in the morning school (we were in a rush and couldn't fit the morning school into our schedule). However, after a slow start things got going and we chose 4 dishes to learn to cook. All the prep work is mostly done in advance so no need to chop chicken or peel things. Each dish's ingredients are set out on a tray for each person and an instructor shows you how to prepare green papaya for the salad etc. It's not so much learning to cook as just following what the instructor tells you to do and the dishes are not at all difficult. At the end I did feel proud of my 4 dishes and they did taste great. So all in all a fun experience. Nice little cookbook to take home and I have already made 3 or 4 meals from it. Well worth the price!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank lizhSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Evening class was great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

My girlfriend and I did the evening course and were able to make 2 dishes each, a curry paste and a curry. The class was not too busy, the teacher was excellent and you got to do all of the cooking, not just observe. Would highly recommend.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Kitchen Cookery Centre also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Thai Kitchen Cookery Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing