We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an inconvenient room”
Review of Pat's Klangviang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pat's Klangviang
Ranked #116 of 732 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“an inconvenient room”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

4 stars for the service, 3 stars for the room.

Service - everyone at the front desk was always friendly, but not always helpful. One night, I asked for something to help with mosquitoes in the room. They promptly handed me a couple of mosquito repellent incense. However, they couldn't find any matches or lighters, so that was useless. One day, I put out the sign that said "please clean room." When I returned in the evening, I saw the room was not cleaned. They explained that the maid wasn't there that day, and someone should have told me in the morning. No big deal, it didn't bother me one bit. The next day, I put out the sign that said "do not disturb," since I didn't want the room cleaned that day. When I returned, I saw the room was cleaned, sheets were made, etc. Again, not a big deal - but inconsistencies with what I requested.
They were best with their breakfast service - very attentive. I had to leave early the day I checked out, and they got up early to fix me something. Very nice of them.

Room- this is what I liked least. The room was big enough just for a bed and built-in "table" for the TV. The problem is that there is no counter space, no place at all to put up your luggage. Same thing in the bathroom - no space at all in the shower. If they had shower gel and shampoo dispensers on the wall, then I wouldn't have minded. But the provided little jars, so I had no place to put them. Also no counter space by the sink. I had to put my toiletries on the shower rack. Lastly, the room was dimly lit, definitely not enough for reading. All in all, a most inconvenient room. I got the superior room, maybe the deluxe room would have solved these problems, but still - I expect these basic things in any room.

Location - right in the middle of the old city, so great if you like that. not many choices in terms of food nearby - had to go outside the old city near the night bazaar area for food mostly. But not bad. beware there there's quite a bit of noise as the guest house is on a busy street.

summary - nice friendly staff. they tried to accommodate my requests, but sometimes not the right results. the room was the big problem for me, though.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axelutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    55
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
18
119
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tucson,AZ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I did my usual homework on TA before picking this place and I was rewarded with a great 3 night stay here. They arranged a cheap (150 Baht) and smooth airport pickup for me prior to my arrival, and the staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly with arranging a half-day trip to Doi Suthep by taxi. Location in Old City was very convenient to many of the famous Wats and many good cheap restaurants....all within short walking distance. It is not as convenient to reach the Night Bazaar or river area, but it is a manageable 15 minute walk to get there. Breakfasts were also good. For 1200-1400 Baht it is an excellent value to stay here.

Room Tip: Room #2 facing the front of the building has a great view of the Wat across the street but the trade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler62577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlock, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We loved our stay at Pat's and wish we could've stayed longer! The staff was always helpful and friendly and with the central location, we walked almost everywhere. They even arranged tickets to the Royal Floral exhibition which we were very thankful for.
If we're ever in Chiang Mai again, we'd definitely stay here again! Thanks Pat and team - you are stars!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuiseMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
333 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I have only glowing, positive things to say about Pat's Klangviang after a very lovely experience staying there. First, the staff is amazing and graciously accommodated us at every turn. They even anticipated our needs and were unfailingly pleasant. We appreciated that they helped us plan, arrange, and confirm tours during our visit. We ate breakfast each morning on the patio out front, which has a nice view of a wat to enjoy along with the delicious homemade food. The atmosphere in the hotel is very relaxed and breezy - much appreciated after international travel! Our room was quite lovely as well, with comfortable beds, a mini-fridge, a good-sized bathroom, and great AC. Everything was very clean. Though the internet wasn't functioning reliably for a few days while we were there (this was months ago), they brought a technician in to fix it ASAP and in the meantime they helped me find the internet cafe/shop that is just a couple blocks down on the same street.

My favorite part of staying at Pat's Klangviang was probably the neighborhood. It was in the center of Chiang Mai and just a short walk to the main attractions, yet it was not in a seedy area. Chiang Mai is very quiet at night, in particular, if you are not near all the bars and massage shops. The one night we walked through the bar/massage shop area, I was so relieved not to be staying over there - it was noisy and more than a bit tacky. In contrast, Pat's is in a nice neighborhood where it's quiet and peaceful at night but not so deserted that you feel unsafe. You really can't do better on location than this. And luckily, there's plenty to like beyond just its location. I would stay here 1000 times over!

Room Tip: I saw several rooms; I do not think there's a bad one. All are equally quiet, since the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Picking Pats Klang Viang was the best travel decision I've made thus far. Even before we were officially checked in (long story short we were actually staying at a sump down the street: Sathu Boutique and we had to get outta there) Ploy at the front desk treated us like gold. She booked a taxi for us to Doi Suthep and answered all of the many questions we had for her.  Upon checking in we were greeted with a fresh fruit smoothie and Ram brought out bags upstairs.  Our room (on the top floor) offered a breathtaking view of the temple right across the street (the same temple that you have a view of as you eat a delicious complimentary breakfast every morning).  Breakfast is amazing, which a choice of toast, eggs, bacon/sausage OR toast, muesli, yogurt and fresh tropical fruit OR rice soup with chicken. all option come with tea/coffee/Thai tea(my recommendation).
The staff at Pats is so friendly and will do anything you need. There are computers you can use, free wifi throughout, lots and lots of TV channels, a book swap area, a huge flatscreen in your room and a big bathroom. 
If you are lucky enough to be in Chiang Mai while Pats has vacancy make sure you stay there!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fueled_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 km away
Buri Gallery House
Buri Gallery House
#94 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.2 km away
Log Home Boutique Hotel
Log Home Boutique Hotel
#65 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.0 km away
Phoothawee House
Phoothawee House
#206 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
ThongRan's House
ThongRan's House
#11 of 732 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.0 km away
See You Soon, Chiang Mai
See You Soon, Chiang Mai
#63 of 732 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 km away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pat's Klangviang? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pat's Klangviang

Property: Pat's Klangviang
Address: 154/1-2 Prapokklao Road | Thumbon Prasing, Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 732 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,298 - ₹ 2,465
Hotel Class:3 star — Pat's Klangviang 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In historical Klangviang neighborhood, Pat and her staffs offer nine cozy guest rooms in an old commercial building that had been lovingly renovated into a stylish boutique guest house. Our guest house is just five-minute walk from Chiangmai Gate fresh market and a few steps off the famous Sunday walking street. Our location is great! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Pat's Klangviang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pat`s Klangviang Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing