We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A glorious spot for a further stay of over 6 weeks”
Review of Baan Hanibah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baan Hanibah
Ranked #26 of 808 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I stayed at Baan Hanibah last year in October and have already reviewed this B & B but wanted to write another one as I really enjoyed my first stay and it is just marvellous to be back. It truly is a perfect spot and I always find the staff so warm and helpful and ready to assist with anything and will endeavour to find out if they do not know. Each one is a university student and has a good understanding of English and speak it very well. I know they do their best to help guests and learn from their mistakes, like most of us do! I have so appreciated the service provided here at Baan Hanibah - always with a lovely smile! I continue to enjoy my second, longstay, experience in such a unique and idyllic teak wooden B & B. Thank you to the attentive owners and courteous staff.

Room Tip: Each room is different so it is very individual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samlanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 142 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

We have been here for 3 nights. The room was okay and spacious. What was really annoying was that one day, when we came home in the afternoon to rest a bit in the room they had some guys there to clean the AC in our room. So without letting us know in advance they let these guys into our room and while they were cleaning the parts outside the door to our room was open all the time. Because we were not informed we had all our valuables lying around in the room and now open to everybody. Apart from that the had the lights on in the room so that hundreds of mosquitos came into the room. This is not a good service at all! But apart from that the B&B is okay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PrinzessinKnopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Baan Hanibah is one of the best guesthouses I have ever stayed in. Fabulously welcoming staff, sumptuous breakfasts (the sticky rice with banana or sweet potato...delicious!), all in a beautiful, old teak house. Excellent value. Great location. Beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Given the price range in Chiang Mai, this place would be a little on the high side. That would be based on what we heard about other, similar, accommodations. That said, the rooms were perfectly suitable and the breakfast was great. The one real shortfall here was that the otherwise wonderful staff knew little or nothing about the city or how best to tackle it. We had to venture out and learn on our own and, frankly, when we came back and shared our what-every-visitor-should-know intelligence with our innkeepers, they didn't seem to care at all. I think they need to work on this.

Room Tip: Stay away from #4 unless they've removed the cabinet that smells really, really bad. If they had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cap'n_Crunchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baanhanibah, Owner at Baan Hanibah, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review regarding our staff. Please accept our apology for the services that could not meet your expectation. Your advice about our staff is being seriously considered as we always try our best to bring the best service to our guests.
Regarding the cabinet in room 4, we have investigated the cause of the smell and found that it is the smell of wood-stain. We have used this cabinet since the guesthouse was opened, yet never received any complaints before, thus this came into a surprising notification. Nevertheless, we have removed that cabinet from the room and replace with the new one in order to ensure the most pleasant atmosphere for the room.
Sincerely yours,
Nai
Owner & Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We were two backpackers going around in Thailand for a month and staying in places with price level of 600-1500 TBH in 2010 and we stayed in many places in the South of Thailand on the islands, in Bangkok and in Chiang Mai, North of Bangkok. In total we probably tested something like 10 places and I can sincerely tell you not a single one was close to Baan Hanibah in terms of quality and experience. Not a single other place gave me a feeling of home in Thailand, but this one absolutely did. I felt I was safe and welcome.

You do not only get clean and marvelous hotel, wonderful breakfast, friendly staff, but you actually get to stay in a wonderful traditional Thai house of Lanna style. The owners pay a lot of attention to authenticity, preservation of Thai culture, and I assume it is their mission and pleasure to make their guests feel the true Thai experience. I loved the owners dress style too - authentic Lanna cloth and patterns. If you choose this place, you get two in one - a service that is worth the money and also a possibility to get to know Thai culture better.

The owners also pay attention to environmental management in order to reduce their footprint. I think they would appreciate your advice on how to improve.

The place is safe - there is a guardian throughout the night. Noise is not tolerated in this place, therefore, I got the impression that only calm, peace-loving people choose this accommodation. There are books in the common area upstairs and free internet access by a computer. There is a kettle, tea and sugar - everyone is free to serve themselves for free.The location is excellent. Away from noisy streets and close enough for the main downtown attractions.

You should also see their board at the entrance with cards from all over the world sending them greetings and many thanks for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Book in advance to make sure they have the room of your needs: double, single, twin or family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoraM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 km away
Pak Chiang Mai
Pak Chiang Mai
#30 of 808 in Chiang Mai
511 reviews
0.9 km away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#15 of 808 in Chiang Mai
870 reviews
0.1 km away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#25 of 808 in Chiang Mai
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
#12 of 808 in Chiang Mai
325 reviews
0.3 km away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#9 of 808 in Chiang Mai
256 reviews
0.1 km away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#19 of 808 in Chiang Mai
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Hanibah? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Hanibah

Address: 6 Moonmuang Road | Soi 8 A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 808 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: ₹ 2,840 - ₹ 5,100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Hanibah 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the old town area and surrounded by the local community, the house provides you with a peaceful, relaxing environment, as well as a convenient location. Major tourist attractions - the Three Kings Monument, Museum, Temples , Warorot Market, Sunday Walking Street, Thapae Gate and many more - are within 5-15 minutes walking distance. At Baan Hanibah, we go to great lengths to enhance your stay with us and our 10 eclectic-styled rooms are equipped with the same service items found in luxurious hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Baan Hanibah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Hanibah Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing