We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
An awesome day spending time with the elephants!

Today my girlfriend and I went to the Blue Daily Elephant Care center, and it was awesome! We did... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
dvorenkamp
,
Carlsbad, California, United States
via mobile
Blue Daily Elephant Care simply amazing!

I had a fantastic day, the elephants are really well cared and I had the pleasure of spending time... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Seaside72201
via mobile
Read all 586 reviews
  
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
426
23
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
23
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mr toto half day tour baby elephant our tour guide amazing experience hugs and kisses strawberry fields morning visit prepared food scenic drive beautiful pictures ethical elephant elephant camp watering hole well taken care female elephants beautiful elephants
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Today my girlfriend and I went to the Blue Daily Elephant Care center, and it was awesome! We did the half day morning session, and it seemed like the perfect amount of time. We were reading and it seemed like the full day just got you a longer walk to a hidden waterfall.

We were picked up at about 6:40am (quoted between 6:30am and 7am). The drive to the village with the elephants was about 90 minutes. We stopped at 7-11 before heading up the mountain for bathroom usage and coffee/snacks.

The actual village is very rural, in the middle of the mountains and mostly huts. The elephants were there waiting for us when we arrived. The location has 9 elephants in total right now, we saw 6 of them. There was a grandma (over 50 years old), young male (16 with huge tusks), a 3 year old female (smaller, very playful), and a 9 month old baby, among others. The trainers said the babies stay with their mothers until about age 3, at which time they leave their mother's side.

The activities were:

- making snacks for the elephants (sticky rice, dried rice, tamarind, and banana mushed together)
- went for a walk with the elephants up the hill and through the trees
- back down to bathe with the elephants in the river (including jumping in and washing them with brushes)
- eat lunch which was chicken and vegetables, chicken wings, sticky rice, potatoes in green curry sauce, and fresh pineapple and watermelon
- feed the elephants a snack again, consisting of sugar cane and bananas

The whole day was a lot of fun and overall the elephants seem mostly happy. They are trained to do different things on command like hug you with their snout, give you a kiss, put their snout up so you can feed them, walk faster, stop, etc. They obey commands very well and were happy to be with the visitors. They're always hungry and when they bring fed by us they were often out looking for branches and snacks. I highly recommend seeing the elephants while in Chiang Mai, and this tour was a great experience and a good overall value ($1700 Baht/person for half day, 6:30am-2pm).

Thank dvorenkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I had a fantastic day, the elephants are really well cared and I had the pleasure of spending time with the baby elephant Valentine. Billy, our guide, is really nice and looked after us very well. I will never forget that day, cooking for the elephants, walking, bathing and having fun with them at the waterfall. Super recommend! Thanks Billy and all the team.

Thank Seaside72201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Even though we only did a half day tour, it was still such an amazing experience. CLose encounters with the elephants such a lovely experience, they truly are gentle giants. They are so sweet giving tourist kisses whenever they like lol. The tour guide, Mr. Louis is very accommodating and professional, he picked us up on time, guided us all throughout the tour and made such lovely pictures. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!

Thank Tedz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Since we booked the full day tour, we were alone wirh two guides and three elephants. All the half day tours were really crowded. Oure guids Toto and „Ice“ were incredible, knew a lot about elephants and took perfect pictures!
Will recommend this tour to all our friends!

Thank Lara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Blue Daily Elephant sanctuary was great. my 7 year old daughter and I loved the whole day. Was great to interact with the beautiful elephants including the babies! would highly recommend.

Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you like animals, you should definitely see elephants!
Make sure to ask for guide Toto - he has a great sense of humour and will gladly answer all your questions
The place takes good care of elephants, you will get to make food,feed them, wash them in the river and walk together. We got a fun-packed day - elephants, waterfall, temple, bamboo rafting (take a change of clothes, your butt will definitely get soaked) and it was definitely worth it.
P.S. There was a baby elephant!

Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I cane to Chiang Mai for some sightseeing and typical tourist stuff. Our original tour had fallen through and so we looked to find a comparable tour that was still available last minute. That’s when Blue Daily fell into our laps and it was probably the best thing to happen to us while in Chiang Mai.

First off, to Billy the guide and the rest of the staff, Kop khun. You were all wonderful.

We arrived in the early morning after being picked up from our hotel. As soon as we got off the shuttle we were greeted by 8 month old Valentine and his 2 other female companions. I apologize I do not recall their names. We started the day by learning a few of their commands and acclimating to being around these enormous creatures.

They are the gentlest and sweetest animals ever and you quickly figure this out and get comfortable with them being around and so close. This really is a hands on experience so don’t be shy, take advantage of this opportunity and show them the love they deserve.

After Valentine and his friends, we set off to the main camp to change into Blue Daily staff clothes and received a little back story on the camp and history of the elephants. We then continued on to make the elephants some fruit and rice balls to feed them. This was probably my most favorite part.

After feeding we took a short hike up into the jungle and received more information on the elephants and how they live in the wild. Seeing them interact with their normal surrounding was really something to see. Tearing down tree limbs like it was nothing, reminding you that these gentle animals you were just feeding can literally uproot a tree if they want to. But don’t let that deter you, because as soon as we got back to camp it was bathing time in the river.

15 minutes or so if splashing around in the river with them and it was off the feed them some more.

If you actually read through this all then please make the choice to come here. No riding, no torture, just lots of love and food as it should be.

Thank 418kristopherw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The tour was amazing, Lida & her team where kind and had a lot off information about the elephants. Beautiful area where the elephants life. For us a experience of a lifetime!

Thank lisannemettinkhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well organized, a lot of time spent with the elephants ( amazing and so emotional animals!), Our guide, Mr. Toto, was great with a lot of knowledge about the elephants and very good level of English. Do not leave it out of your plan guys! Thank you, Toto!

Thank ioannisd498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second visit with blue daily elephant. Mr Toto picked us up from our hotel on time and was a careful driver on the steep roads to the camp, it took about 1.5 hrs to get there.
Amazing to see the elephants again, the baby had grown into a very big baby and has as little brother now, we met their pregnant mum on the last visit so lovely to see the family growing.
Same handlers with the elephants caring so well for them. The elephants move into the jungle at night and sleep untethered.
Delicious freshly cooked lunch then final goodbyes before we headed back to Chiang Mai.
I do not hesitate recommending Blue Elephant Daily as a company to use to meet Elephants getting cared for in a big free roaming camp. Enjoy your trip with them.

Thank Explorer635496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews