We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must close for renovation ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Diamond Riverside Hotel
Ranked #321 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

I booked 5 rooms for two nights but we changed our mind and stayed at this terrible hotel for one night only.everything in the hotel is outdated and below the expectations of any traveler around the world; the rooms furniture are super tired and the colors becomes dirty. The windows curtains are half closing . The water in the showers is cold and needs at least 10 minutes to get hot.the buffet breakfast is bread , butter and jam for people who does not eat Thai food in the morning. The only positive thing I can say is the friendliness of the hotel staff.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Med K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Not as bad as the reviews might suggest as yes it is old but it is still great value for money. For $25 per night for 2 people with breakfast and a river Ping view and a short walk to the Night Market we actually enjoyed it. Yes it is an old hotel but the staff were friendly and the breakfast adequate if you are a budget traveller you will not complain. The bed was firm but comfortable and the furnishings a bit run down but still we found it a good choice to stay and actually ended up adding a extra night as other hotels were 3x the cost of here and this had everything we needed including free parking lot and a swimming pool. Recommended for budget stays.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Captain_Rob_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Yes, this a older hotel, that said it was once a grand hotel. Highrise with lots of open lobby area. It is set in a large area right on the river, steps away from the Night Bazaar.

The rooms ( mine) had been painted and new carpet and the views over the river and surrounds were magical. The room furniture was a bit dated but again they were clean and serviceable.
There is onsite parking and a large outdoor pool.
Breakfast was copious but not a big variety.

This hotel is very popular with Thais and the breakfast caters to their tastes, rice and noodles.

I was very happy here and would stay again.

If you want modern, go elsewhere but this is pretty good value.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PeterAUCNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

I had read some reasonable reviews on Expedia and other sites, but pretty shoddy ones on Trip Advisor. This hotel is like a grand, elegant old lady who needs a new set of flash lingerie and some cool outer garments. If the owner of this establishment wants to contact me, I can give him/her/them some really good ideas for making this a great hotel again.
Yes, it can use a good coat of paint and some new wallpaper and carpets, but I found no bugs or anything really bad; the staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast this morning was very good (a small selection of western things and mostly asian) - but, guess what folks, the hotel is in northern Thailand, if you want Cumberland sausages and bacon for breakfast then go to Weston-Super-Mare or Brighton!!
All in all, a perfectly adequate budget hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billdeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

stayed just 2 nights here. very old run down, cobwebs in the shower, broken fittings, bad smell, no service, unhappy lobby staff. only plus is location for nightlife and a huge carpark which is why we stayed. better accomodation elsewhere.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank chris600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.3 km away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#148 of 395 in Chiang Mai
88 reviews
1.2 km away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#317 of 395 in Chiang Mai
378 reviews
2 km away
Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel
#288 of 395 in Chiang Mai
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Lanna Palace 2004 Hotel
Lanna Palace 2004 Hotel
#295 of 395 in Chiang Mai
159 reviews
0.6 km away
Casa Marocc Hotel By Andacura
Casa Marocc Hotel By Andacura
#91 of 395 in Chiang Mai
38 reviews
1.3 km away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#271 of 395 in Chiang Mai
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Riverside Hotel

Address: 33/10-11 Charoen Prated Rd., Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: ₹ 1,468 - ₹ 1,723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Diamond Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing