We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality acomodation at good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Minicost Apartment & Guesthouse
Ranked #97 of 732 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good quality acomodation at good price”
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Enjoyed the hotel - good price - very clean and spacious - good service in good area. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    52
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
77
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Have stayed in Minicost twice now. (2 + weeks each time)
over the years have done the cheap places to stay. Now more important that rooms are good, bright, clean. Minicost is all of these and more.... Beds are so comfortable. Staff and reception so helpful and friendly. Reccomended to my family who have also stayed there several times. Close to Night Bazaar, Thapae Rd, and right on top of walking street.
Excellent place to stay

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thailandfanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

So when I booked MiniCost from New Zealand, it seemed cheap as chips in Kiwi dollars. However, once I reached Chiang Mai, I realised it was actually pretty expensive compared to other Chiang Mai guesthouses. My partner, who's stayed in Chiang Mai many times, was horrified that I'd spent so much money on accommodation! That's what he gets for leaving it to the Chiang Mai virgin, though.

Anyway, since an overseas holiday is a rare treat for me, I think it's worth spending that little bit extra to stay in a really nice place. Especially when, as I said, it's still cheap as chips in Kiwi money. And MiniCost was just that little bit nicer. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable and spacious. There was plenty of space for all our luggage and all our shopping (OK, all MY shopping), a desk from which to send email updates in comfort, and armchairs in which to relax. There were also two - count 'em, two! - balconies. One was a shared balcony which provided access to all the rooms on the level. There were extremely comfy outdoor chairs to relax in and meet the neighbours. The other was a private and secluded balcony, perfect for chilling out with a book.

The bathroom was nice and big and perfectly clean. The rooms were cleaned each day, with fresh towels provided every day and the sheets changed every second day. Staff were super friendly and helpful, and incredibly laid-back. There was also a on-site laundry service. which was great.

Oh, and the location, two minutes walk from Tha Pae Gate and 10 minutes walk from the Night Bazaar, was awesome.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lenamuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

The hotel is a little more pricey than some of the other options, so if you're on a very tight backpacker budget this may not be a good fit. But if you can afford a few extra dollars you definitely get what you pay for. Rooms are emaculately clean, spacious and nicely decorated. Large common balcony has comfy chairs to relax in. The lady that runs the place speaks excellent english and is very helpful with whatever you need, be it ordering a taxi so you don't get ripped off, helping you with your bookings or just giving directions or recommendations. 3 of us stayed here for several days and then I came back with just my sister after a trekk. Very happy with the place.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boogykilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

My colleagues and I booked three rooms at the Minicost Guesthouse over the phone. We arrived on a late flight from Bangkok on a Friday and caught the 'limo' taxi from the stand at the airport to the guesthouse. The location is less than 5 minutes walk to the start of the small city centre. There was no problem with our late arrival and we were shown to our rooms in no time at all. The rooms are an excellent size, clean and comfortable, plus free bottles of water are kept in the fridge for guests.
We used the guesthouse mainly as a base for the weekend and managed to pack in 'The Flight of the Gibbon' on Saturday; which is an excellent way to spend a morning or afternoon. Plus, the night markets on Saturday evening and a couple of the local bars.
On Sunday we hired a songthaew to take us to Doi Suithep and spent a few hours enjoying the atmosphere of the temple and the surrounds. And came back for an excellent kaeng hang le curry at Aroon Rai on Kotchasarn Rd.
There is so much more to do in Chiang Mai and the surrounds that I would recommend staying a lot longer than a weekend, but I can recommend Minicost as a great base for anytime spent in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSydney07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 km away
TJR Boutique House
TJR Boutique House
#105 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 km away
Vieng Mantra Hotel
Vieng Mantra Hotel
#53 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.1 km away
Pissamorn House
Pissamorn House
#62 of 820 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Thapae Loft Hotel
Thapae Loft Hotel
#36 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.5 km away
Yin Yang Guesthouse
Yin Yang Guesthouse
#47 of 820 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 km away
Boonthavon
Boonthavon
#203 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minicost Apartment & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minicost Apartment & Guesthouse

Property: Minicost Apartment & Guesthouse
Address: 19 - 19 / 4 Rachadamnoen Rd., Soi 1 | Tha Pae Gate T.Sriphum, Chiang Mai 50200 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 732 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,551 - ₹ 1,810
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Minicost Apartment & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minicost Apartment And Guesthouse
Minicost Apartment & Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing