We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent services in this hotel”
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #12 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
shanghai china
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent services in this hotel”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

When i arrived at Chiangmai airport, I hadnt any idea about the accomodation.
As the Orient-thai airline company made one mistake on my baggage, they hadnt sticked the tag on my luggage. So when i arrived but my baggage still stayed at bangkok.
For me, the lucky thing was that i met the handsome staff of this company named Chevan. He listened to my complaint patiently, told me take it easy,they will try their best to resend my baggage in one day. He made many calls to bangkok-airport office and hongkong-airport office to make sure where my baggage is.
Meanwhile, he lent me his pc to book my hotel and left message to colleague if the baggage have found, send it to the address where i will stay in.
After comparison, the staff of Nepal airport was so irresponsible. They only told me go back to airport to pick my baggage in two days if the baggage still could find. Then neither said other words nor any compassion.
So the experience is that when ur baggage will be checked, pls stare at the baggage if be signed.
Return to the subject about the hotel. I booked the u-chiangmai hotel by agoda when i waited for the information of my luggage. When i booked i just think that it is one four star hotel no others. After check-in, i found there is so many surprise to me.
The first staff I met , named A, easy to remember. The pretty girl showed me around the hotel. The restaurant, the gym, the swimming pool, the room, these facilities are all worth to recommend.
In u-chiangmai, U could have breakfirst at anytime, I stayed for two night, and went to restaurant for it both at afternoon. They also could supply anything u want in morning buffet.
In the gym, they suppy the group entertainment, such like roam aroud the old city with one guide, and bicycle group also with one guide in morning at 6am. I booked one yoga class at 6am, also they hadnt this class at that day, the teacher still serviced for me, although there was only one member.And they also supply bicycles for rent. The key is that they r all free.
In the room, I like the best is the balcony, every balcony of the rooms face to the swimming pool. U could read a nice book on the sofa in balcony to kill time.
The last is about the swimming pool, it is clean. And they will forbid the guest to swim after 9pm, avoid loud noice to bother others.
By the way, they also have one library with good decoration
After all, when i stayed there i do really feel like stay at home.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buttefly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    329
    67
    16
    7
See reviews for
216
787
76
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My friend and I stayed at U Chiang Mai for 3 nights and we absolutely loved it. The staff are all very attentive and helpful and the location could not be any better. It's centrally located inside the moat and near a lot of the sightseeing and only a 5 minute tuk-tuk ride from the night market. The hotel itself is an oasis once you step inside. The rooms are decorated with modern touches and spacious enough to where you can move around easily without stepping into each other's space. My friend and I love to eat so we thought the breakfast at the hotel was excellent! The congee was our favorite. If I am ever back in Chiang Mai, I would definitely stay at U Chiang Mai again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlee515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the U Chiang Mai and loved it. The location is excellent - in the centre of the old town and walking distance to many restaurants/cafes. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. Breakfast was very good and can be taken at any time of day so it was no problem to have a long lie in. Haven't got anything negative at all to say about this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Good location, very friendly and helpful staff, nice food served.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mininn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This hotel keeps getting 5 out of 5 on here for a reason! The hotel, staff, and breakfast are simply stunning and 5-star quality.

The location in the heart of the old city is excellent - to be able to stay in such a great boutique hotel and yet still be in the center of all of the tourist attractions is convenient and pretty unique b/c most times hotels that are in the center like this are either shady or overpriced. However, the U Chiang Mai is simply perfect.

We ate breakfast every day in the hotel restaurant (even though you can order any time). We loved eating in the restaurant because in addition to your entree selection, there is a huge fresh buffet of fruit, cereals, and pastries!

One of us took advantage of the free yoga class at 6am on Wednesdays and Fridays. The instructor was really great (the class is conducted in English, and she spoke it very well). What a great opportunity to practice yoga in Thailand!!

There isn't much else to add to what's already been said: pool is stunning, service is excellent, rooms are chic, trendy, and luxurious. So act fast, and book your room before it's at capacity when you'd like visit :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 2lambstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 km away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#25 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,814 reviews
4.3 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.9 km away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,065 reviews
1.4 km away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,957 reviews
0.6 km away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 381 in Chiang Mai
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Property: U Chiang Mai
Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,364 - ₹ 14,470
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotel.de so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing