We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thapae Boutique House
Ranked #128 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We selected ChiangMai as our honeymoon spot in Thailand because we wanted to be away from all the hustle and bustle. Just wanted peace and quiet, we LOVE shopping. The B&B was kind enough to arrange our pickup from the airport, which was delayed as the taxi driver couldn't find us and we couldn't find her :p

Upon reaching the hotel, about 10 mins drive, we were greeted by Kai who was the manager there. We had selected the normal Deluxe room which was a great value for money. It was clean, tidy and adequate to our needs. The room had a small fridge, television - cable, wardrobe for clothes and a dressing table. The bathroom was spacious and had heated and cold water.

The staff there was really helpful. They arranged taxis for us and also recommended some good places for us to visit. They also allowed us to use their kitchen during off times so we could heat our food. The breakfast was great and included in the room rates. Thou they end serving it at 10, so you better be up early. The B&B has a courtyard where one can sit and read - my wife loved hanging out there with the resident cat. The breakfast area also has a TV, computers and internet available.

The hotel is situated in middle of the market area, the famous night market is just a 10 min walk from the hotel and Anusarn market was 20 min walk (a great place which has plenty of Halal food). The sunday bazaar was 5 min walk. The local market; Warrorat, is about 15 mins away. There is also a 7-11 shop right next to the street.
The stay was well worth every penny spent and we look forward to visiting Thailand again next year and staying at Thapae Boutique. The best staff I have ever encountered in a B&B/hotel. Kai was a great person and so was Teep (sorry for the spelling error, if any, in the names). Over all a very good place to stay as it is comfortable, close to shops and has great staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AhmadLatif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 93 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

A friend and I stayed here for three nights in mid March. We were slightly worried that the hotel was going to be more of a backpackers type of place, but we had no need to worry. Thapae house was perfect for our needs, which was a simple B&B type of accommodation near to Thapae Gate. We were offered a quiet twin bed room at the back of the house away from street noise and, although we did hear nieghbourhood dogs barking off and on during the day, we didn't have any issues at night (I took earplugs just in case!) I have a bad neck, so although I didn't mind the firm mattress, the hard pillow did cause some discomfort. Breakfast was the same each day: coffee or tea, juice, watermelon and a choice of eggs with toast. Simple fare but at a pretty good standard. We had a delicious lunch one day at the small hotel accross the street. Kai was extremely helpful throughout our stay. She took time to read our list of things we wanted to do, offered advice on the best way to plan our days and made arrangements for transport etc (Big was our driver for the most part & we'd highly recommend him). All in all a perfect place in a great location...we enjoyed meandering along the quiet Soi and soaking up the atmosphere. Would definately go back there.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the house away from the street. Take earplugs just in case the dog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annielees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Good location, lovely place, nice staff very attentive and caring. It's clean an quiet, had the chance to be awake with the birds every morning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie-Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

First let me say that if you are looking for a "western" type hotel, and expect a modern room and amenities, this might not be for you. However if you want a quiet, bed and breakfast style guesthouse within close proximity to the Thapae gate and attractions, this is an ideal choice. We stayed here for two days when we first got to chiang mai and loved it so much we came back a week later for another four days. It is located off a side street of thapae road, just a couple of blocks down from the main gate. Due to its location it is tucked away from all the bustle and craziness of the gate area. It is quiet and comfortable and very close to many great restaurants (both local and western), Warowot Market, The sunday night walking market, and small shops of all kinds.
The breakfast (included) is basic and "western" geared but good and sufficient for us. Included coffee/tea, fruit, eggs, wheat toast, and a breakfast meat. Additionally, there is always a fresh squeezed juice of some kind. The first couple of days we had orange, and on the more recent visit it was fresh blended frothy pineapple juice that was delicious!
The rooms are fairly basic but cute, clean and comfortable (the beds may be hard for some. we liked them though). The walls seem to have hand painted floral design on them, which is cute and homey. The well maintained wood floors and the interesting colored glass windows add to the charm and quaintness.
The air conditioning is sufficient, however some of the units are older than others (we stayed in two different rooms and the a\c in the second one was much better than the first.
The bathroom (like most here in thailand) are all in one (meaning there is no shower curtain, just a small separation step between the shower and the rest of the bathroom. The showers are nice and hot with decent water pressure. The commodes (again, like the rest of thailand) should NOT have toilet paper flushed down them. This is noted in the guestbook in each room and there is a bidet device to use.
The staff members are lovely and very helpful. They even remembered us from our first stay when we came back even though we were only there for two days!
There is a nice little courtyard and outdoor eating area and communal area (very nice to sit and read on). A very sweet kitty patrols the area and likes its head scratched.
The ONLY issue of noise (depending on location of your room) can be attributed to neighboring dogs. This was not an issue for us, but bring earplugs if this is a concern.
One noise we DID love, was the sweet singing and chirping of birds, many of them tropical sounds that we don't get in the united states. You can hear them most of the day, but they are especially vocal in the morning and as the sun wanes in early evening.
We stayed in the superior double both times and there are other room options available.
Also, this is a three story building and there is no lift, so if stairs aren't an option for you request a first floor room.
Non of the other guests were noisy or obtrusive which adds to the quiet nature of the place. Most of the other guests we saw were couples or single travelers and on occasion a small family but no backpackers.
All in all it was a very pleasant stay and we will DEFINITELY return the next time we are in Chiang mai!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christopherheberly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Down a quiet soi, on the edge of the action; location is the main reason to stay at this small hotel. We stayed for 4 nights and found nothing to complain about. The deluxe room we occupied was average in size and in good condition. The bed was 2 singles pushed together but they do have big beds in some rooms. The TV was a good size with lots of channels. Free WiFi was fast and trouble free. Breakfast is standard fare but is well presented and they do try to vary it now and then.
Criticisms are few: the shower floor can be slow to drain and the basin tap was worn out and should be replaced.
The friendly staff help to create the calm ambience at this hotel and all in all this hotel represents a good choice for the mid-range traveller.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 km away
Roong Ruang Hotel
Roong Ruang Hotel
#173 of 392 in Chiang Mai
82 reviews
0.1 km away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#65 of 392 in Chiang Mai
469 reviews
0.5 km away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#160 of 392 in Chiang Mai
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#130 of 392 in Chiang Mai
265 reviews
0.5 km away
Kavil Guesthouse
Kavil Guesthouse
#95 of 392 in Chiang Mai
119 reviews
0.3 km away
Tapae Place Hotel
Tapae Place Hotel
#152 of 392 in Chiang Mai
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thapae Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thapae Boutique House

Address: 4 soi 5 Thapae Rd | Changklan Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: ₹ 1,368 - ₹ 2,670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thapae Boutique House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious and immaculate rooms are finished in a harmonious blend of chocolate teak wood and cool pastel hues of green, lemon and cream. All have air-con and televisions. Beds are positively sleep inducing and mounted in custom designed teak frames. Bathrooms are spotless and elegantly finished with attractive fixtures and colorful ceramic tiling. Our large open air lobby gracefully leads to a lush garden patio. Located in the heart of downtown for your continence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Thapae Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thapae Boutique House Hotel Chiang Mai
Thapae Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing