We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location & helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thapae Boutique House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thapae Boutique House
Ranked #114 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location & helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

A friend and I stayed here for three nights in mid March. We were slightly worried that the hotel was going to be more of a backpackers type of place, but we had no need to worry. Thapae house was perfect for our needs, which was a simple B&B type of accommodation near to Thapae Gate. We were offered a quiet twin bed room at the back of the house away from street noise and, although we did hear nieghbourhood dogs barking off and on during the day, we didn't have any issues at night (I took earplugs just in case!) I have a bad neck, so although I didn't mind the firm mattress, the hard pillow did cause some discomfort. Breakfast was the same each day: coffee or tea, juice, watermelon and a choice of eggs with toast. Simple fare but at a pretty good standard. We had a delicious lunch one day at the small hotel accross the street. Kai was extremely helpful throughout our stay. She took time to read our list of things we wanted to do, offered advice on the best way to plan our days and made arrangements for transport etc (Big was our driver for the most part & we'd highly recommend him). All in all a perfect place in a great location...we enjoyed meandering along the quiet Soi and soaking up the atmosphere. Would definately go back there.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the house away from the street. Take earplugs just in case the dog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annielees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    77
    34
    8
    11
See reviews for
18
77
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Good location, lovely place, nice staff very attentive and caring. It's clean an quiet, had the chance to be awake with the birds every morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie-Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

First let me say that if you are looking for a "western" type hotel, and expect a modern room and amenities, this might not be for you. However if you want a quiet, bed and breakfast style guesthouse within close proximity to the Thapae gate and attractions, this is an ideal choice. We stayed here for two days when we first got to chiang mai and loved it so much we came back a week later for another four days. It is located off a side street of thapae road, just a couple of blocks down from the main gate. Due to its location it is tucked away from all the bustle and craziness of the gate area. It is quiet and comfortable and very close to many great restaurants (both local and western), Warowot Market, The sunday night walking market, and small shops of all kinds.
The breakfast (included) is basic and "western" geared but good and sufficient for us. Included coffee/tea, fruit, eggs, wheat toast, and a breakfast meat. Additionally, there is always a fresh squeezed juice of some kind. The first couple of days we had orange, and on the more recent visit it was fresh blended frothy pineapple juice that was delicious!
The rooms are fairly basic but cute, clean and comfortable (the beds may be hard for some. we liked them though). The walls seem to have hand painted floral design on them, which is cute and homey. The well maintained wood floors and the interesting colored glass windows add to the charm and quaintness.
The air conditioning is sufficient, however some of the units are older than others (we stayed in two different rooms and the a\c in the second one was much better than the first.
The bathroom (like most here in thailand) are all in one (meaning there is no shower curtain, just a small separation step between the shower and the rest of the bathroom. The showers are nice and hot with decent water pressure. The commodes (again, like the rest of thailand) should NOT have toilet paper flushed down them. This is noted in the guestbook in each room and there is a bidet device to use.
The staff members are lovely and very helpful. They even remembered us from our first stay when we came back even though we were only there for two days!
There is a nice little courtyard and outdoor eating area and communal area (very nice to sit and read on). A very sweet kitty patrols the area and likes its head scratched.
The ONLY issue of noise (depending on location of your room) can be attributed to neighboring dogs. This was not an issue for us, but bring earplugs if this is a concern.
One noise we DID love, was the sweet singing and chirping of birds, many of them tropical sounds that we don't get in the united states. You can hear them most of the day, but they are especially vocal in the morning and as the sun wanes in early evening.
We stayed in the superior double both times and there are other room options available.
Also, this is a three story building and there is no lift, so if stairs aren't an option for you request a first floor room.
Non of the other guests were noisy or obtrusive which adds to the quiet nature of the place. Most of the other guests we saw were couples or single travelers and on occasion a small family but no backpackers.
All in all it was a very pleasant stay and we will DEFINITELY return the next time we are in Chiang mai!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christopherheberly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Down a quiet soi, on the edge of the action; location is the main reason to stay at this small hotel. We stayed for 4 nights and found nothing to complain about. The deluxe room we occupied was average in size and in good condition. The bed was 2 singles pushed together but they do have big beds in some rooms. The TV was a good size with lots of channels. Free WiFi was fast and trouble free. Breakfast is standard fare but is well presented and they do try to vary it now and then.
Criticisms are few: the shower floor can be slow to drain and the basin tap was worn out and should be replaced.
The friendly staff help to create the calm ambience at this hotel and all in all this hotel represents a good choice for the mid-range traveller.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed here from 19 to 22 February. Booked through Hotels.com. Had no problems checking in and got our room almost immediately, as if they were waiting for us. The lady at the reception named Gai was very friendly and spoke English. She was very helpful in suggesting to us some attractions and transport options.

When we reached the place, it looked very ordinary. Nothing "boutiquey" about it. But after a short while, we felt that this was a very cosy place. We could just laze around the chairs (and tables) near the reception and dining area.

The room we got was on the second level at Block A (there is another Block B). There are no lifts here and you have to walk up to your room. The room was clean and tidy. However, there were several mosquitoes waiting around. No bathtub (which suited us fine) but the water pressure was low. Hot water flow to the shower head was not consistent. Due to the wooden floorings, we could hear quite loudly when people walked about in the room above us. We also heard some dogs barking in the evening but only for short periods.

The free breakfast consisted of 2 slices of bread with an egg (done either sunny-side-up, omelette or scrambled), a small sausage, a slice of ham, butter and jam, a glass of orange juice and coffee/tea. Not quite enough to fill a big eater though.

Accessibility to other places of interest was convenient. We walked to the Sunday market (4 minutes), Night Bazaar (10 minutes), Warorot Market (10 minutes).

We liked the place and will return here if visiting Chiang Mai again.

Room Tip: If you are very sensitive to creaking noise generated by people walking above, ask for a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taukwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 km away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#75 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.5 km away
Kavil Guesthouse
Kavil Guesthouse
#92 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.5 km away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#138 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Tawan Court
Tawan Court
#91 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 km away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#147 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.9 km away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#43 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thapae Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thapae Boutique House

Property: Thapae Boutique House
Address: 4 soi 5 Thapae Rd | Changklan Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,172 - ₹ 1,824
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thapae Boutique House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious and immaculate rooms are finished in a harmonious blend of chocolate teak wood and cool pastel hues of green, lemon and cream. All have air-con and televisions. Beds are positively sleep inducing and mounted in custom designed teak frames. Bathrooms are spotless and elegantly finished with attractive fixtures and colorful ceramic tiling. Our large open air lobby gracefully leads to a lush garden patio. Located in the heart of downtown for your continence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Thapae Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thapae Boutique House Hotel Chiang Mai
Thapae Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing