We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An amazing little gem of a place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banilah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Banilah
Ranked #32 of 690 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing little gem of a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

Would recommend this place to all. The staff are really lovely and are so keen to help where they can. Rooms are cute and comfortable and the place itself is modern with plenty of authentic charm. Only down fall is that it's a little out of town, but only encourages you to explore the wonderful city of Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Book directly via their own website, much cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenjulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    54
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
3
90
44
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

For the second time in the last year I stayed at Banilah for over a month and it feels like home when I arrive there. The office girls, Ob, Nan and Ann, make the lives of guests so easy, making tour arrangements, giving transportation advice, restaurant recommendations, etc. The rooms are well cleaned everyday and stocked with two large bottles of water. The majority of guests are Thai IE generally clean, quiet and respectful. The rooms are on the small side but very well designed with excellent lighting and comfy beds. It is located in a Thai residential neighbourhood with many good, cheap food outlets nearby and the huge fresh food market is also within walking distance. There are a few bicycles available to borrow, an excellent way to get around Chiang Mai. I hope I can return to Banilah soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b_rad40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taoyuan, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

The Staff are nice and very good in tourist guide.
They will prepare map and highlight famous points for you .
The room is clean and comfortable.
There have one traditional market nearby 500m
You can buy any various thai food you like. cheap and yummy.
Don't miss their coffee.
I'd like to recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrunoWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

The girls at Banilah are great tour guides as well, they gave us a lot of great recommendations. The rooms are clean. Towel, wifi and drinking water are provided free. If you plan to rent a bike during your stay at Chiang Mai, this place is very convenient, the girls can arrange for the bikes to be delivered to the hostel and it's only a 5 minutes ride to the old city and 15 minutes ride to the zoo.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geckobump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

This hotel is really good value for money.

We paid 800baht for one night. The hotel is in a tricky location and even though a tuk tuk ride is about 8 mins into town and doesn't cost much, you can't walk the journey really as it's not really a touristy area so at night I wouldn't feel super safe.

However, the hotel has been one of the FRIENDLIEST hotels we've discovered on our journey. After we'd checked in our hotel manager sat us down with a map and highlighted all the places around us and what she suggests we do whilst we're in Chiang Mai (do the Sunday night market, it's great) without any pushiness.

Our room was pretty small, but nicely decorated. The thing we weren't keen on was our bathroom. To ge to the bathroom you have to open the door to the balcony (well not really a balcony, it's tiny) and then turn right into the bathroom and shut the door. Wasn't always keen on doing this at nighttime as didn't want to let bugs into our room.

Overall... good value for your money in the city of Chiang Mai. Good wifi signal in rooms! and tv but no fridge which would have been good as we'd been on a cookery course and had our dinner in plastic bags to have later on..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emee37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.6 km away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#29 of 690 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.8 km away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#19 of 690 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.1 km away
Nonni Guesthouse
Nonni Guesthouse
#33 of 690 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Dozy House
Dozy House
#44 of 690 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.8 km away
BED Changkian Hotel
BED Changkian Hotel
#10 of 690 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 km away
Santitham Guest House
Santitham Guest House
#62 of 690 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banilah? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banilah

Property: Banilah
Address: 11 Sotesueksa Road | Changphuek Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 690 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): ₹ 887 - ₹ 1,297
Hotel Class:3 star — Banilah 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chiang Mai and warm welcome to Banilah guest house. Banilah has renovated a building and transformed it into a unique style, comfortable, eye-pleasing fusion with Lanna senses. The combinations of Lanna arts and modern designs will penetrate through your please and touch your heart. You will value your relaxation time more than ever at Banilah. Banilah offers more than what you've expected for what you pay. All of our rooms are decorated with boutique and unique stye, with en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Banilah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banilah Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing