We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable beds, ugly rooms, and limited restaurant”
Review of I'm Happy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
I'm Happy
Ranked #289 of 833 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

My family and I recently stayed at the Charcoa House for one night in Chiangmai. The beds in the hotel rooms were rock hard and you were only provided one pillow per bed. The bathroom and shower were quite foul and unsanitary. The restaurant attached to the hotel had a limited selection of food but the food available was ok. I would only recommend this hotel to backpackers or travellers with little money who only need a roof above their heads.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank HuntoBlunto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 164 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
81
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel was kind of a lame place. Based on the reviews we thought it would be cozy and inviting. The rooms were kind of grubby and the beds were as hard as a rock. The cafe was supposed to be filled with European pastries....very limited. The coffee was pretty good and the banana pancakes were tasty.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

After the hustle & bustle of Bangkok we were glad to find this cozy place.
Very relaxed,peaceful & cozy Bed&breakfast.Room has everything you need. 4 star as bed is hard as concrete & shower small area causing mould on back of door.
To be 5stars regrout tiles & change matress :-) lovely people here, we will be back to Chang mai as its lovely.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank crashing c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

It said "bed and breakfast" but we had to buy our own breakfast .
The shower head in the bathroom was useless and dysfunctional.
The walls of the adjoining rooms are thin----we were kept awake
till early morning two out of three nights.
The sofa/couch in the living room was so small, only my wife and
daughter could comfortably fit on the seating area.
The hotel has a laudermart across the road, and several good
and reasonable cafes to eat dinner or breakfast. The location
is a magnet for Tuk-tuk transportation----and there are plenty
of bike-rental shops nearby.
The accomodations were above average but could not earn
a "GOOD RATING."

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HungryJoeTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

The staff at reception was always friendly and helpful, with useful advice. We really liked the outdoor common patio area for gathering morning and night. Breakfast staff tried hard, but more training would get improved results. Room was spotless every day.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Charles_and_Debbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 km away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#86 of 402 in Chiang Mai
304 reviews
3.2 km away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 402 in Chiang Mai
976 reviews
4.3 km away
Get Zleep Premium Budget Hotel
Get Zleep Premium Budget Hotel
#176 of 991 in Chiang Mai
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
We Valley Boutique Hotel
We Valley Boutique Hotel
#101 of 402 in Chiang Mai
113 reviews
0.2 km away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#33 of 833 in Chiang Mai
497 reviews
1.9 km away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 402 in Chiang Mai
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I'm Happy? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I'm Happy

Address: 4 Soi 1 Sriphum Rd., Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Charcoa Bed and Breakfast)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 833 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: ₹ 1,799 - ₹ 2,635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — I'm Happy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are sure you will enjoy your stay in this beautiful European country house Hotel. Our lovely Restaurant serving you an international meals, original Thai food, different appetizers and delicious coffee grown in the surrounding mountains of Northern Thailand. We would like to invite you to stay at our exclusive Bed & Breakfast and enjoy your holidays in Chiang Mai - The Rose of Thailand. We will be always at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your I'm Happy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charcoa b&b
Charcoa Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing