We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great base to roam Bangkok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Grand at CentralWorld

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Ranked #124 of 844 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great base to roam Bangkok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Fantastic location next to Paragon and above Central World malls, this 4-star hotel is also a stone's throw away from Pratunaum clothes mall and Siam Square shopping district. Lots of street food and restaurant options abound though not many 24-hour or late night ones. The nearest convenience store is about 10mins walk away. The skytrain station is also 10mins walk away. Regular rooms are small but comfortable.But the suite quite is quite amazing.

Once from my room, I also witnessed the peaceful 'red shirt protests' happening right below along the main road. It clogged up the main artery road for a few hours and was a sight to behold.

Room Tip: Get a high floor facing the main road for a fantastic view and trade up to a suite if you can afford...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Density
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,109
    833
    271
    71
    43
See reviews for
500
694
129
524
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Great location for shopping! We love coming to Bangkok for the shops, and this hotel is within walking distance to Siam paragon, central world, mbk, platinum mall ; to name a few. We booked a world executive club room which was located on the 49th floor. Views from our room were absolutely stunning. complimentary fruit basket was nice, and we were given a free bottle of champagne. Free wifi and free access to the club lounge on the 51st floor was a bonus! Club lounge offered awesome views, free snacks and drinks round the clock, they even had free alcohol in the evening: all with great service and a smile!

The staff on the club lounge floor were very attentive and even wished my husband a happy birthday as he was walking in the corridor. Totally unexpected. We were even more surprised when a cute little birthday cake was left in our room after we returned from dinner!!!

Breakfast was extensive, we had the choice of the club lounge breakfast or the one for all guests on the 23rd floor. Variety was huge, but the down side is that nothing tasted good, everything was just okay. We've stayed in other five star hotels in Thailand and centara grands breakfast menu/chefs have a lot of room for improvement.

Hotel staff were lovely on the 51st floor, we were offered a complimentary Late check out and free access to the club lounge until we needed to leave for the airport in the late arvo.

All in all, great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lauryn_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

This is a genuine 5 star hotel with facilities and service to match. It receives my normal criticism as wi-fi is expensive but there is nothing else to complain about. The rooms are excellent, the service is excellent, the swimming pool is fantastic for a city centre hotel. It's location is attached to the huge Central World shopping centre but it is a little walk to the Skytrain but no big deal.The area near the hotel is a shopper's paradise, bad for me but good for my wife! Entrance to the hotel rooms is by 2 lifts which is slightly strange but nothing to worry about.The restaurants are not cheap but they are surprisingly good value for money because the food is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Location wise, the hotel is perfect for shopping since it's attached to Centralworld and within walking distance to other shopping complexes and train stations. The hotel is clean and the service is good. I was upgraded to Executive Floor at level 44, as the hotel was full so the skyline view is impressive. The drawback probably is that the reception is at the 23rd floor and you have to change lift to go to your room as there is no direct lift from the ground floor.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor if possible so that less noise from the traffic and better Bangkok view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

I stayed at the hotel for two nights as a business trip. I did not use the bar or restaurant at the top floor which was evaluated as "worth to visit," however, I felt this hotel was a good option to enjoy bangkok. As to breakfast, I think there is no problem for taste and variety even for US, European and Asian including Japanese. They serve American such as bacon, sausage, omlet and scramble egg, and also Chinese such as dumpling. Of course, some kinds of bread, salad and five kinds of juice. All of them are acceptable.
As to the place, the hotel is in the huge complex mall Central World. Tha mall is really huge, even compared with American malls. Because the hotel is connected to the mall directly through the convention center at 23th floor, we do not have to go out of the hotel. As you know, Thai is so hot, but we do not sweat if we stay in the mall. this is one of the advantage for staying this hotel I was personally impressed by the restaurant floor. I had no time to try the restaurant but I really wanted to try some of them, especially Thai one. The mall also has "Isetan" Japanese department stoor. Isetan sells delicious Japanese food at the suparmarket floor (maybe 4th or 5th floor), so you can buy some appetizers there and bring them to the hotel for a small party. The mall also has movie theaters which opens until 1:00am and also ice skating link. Finally, the hotel was just for sleeping for me, but the bath is quite clear and wide. I am sure people can enjoy bath time also. One thing I would advise, Thai taxi drivers cannot under stand english, so if you go out by taxi, you should prepare for returning to the hotel with the assistance of hotel staff. I asked the hotel staff to write the destination on paper in Thai langage, from hotel to the destinations including the same hotel for return. I would return to this hotel if I visit thailand on business. I hope this would be helpful for the Thai visitors.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TabibitoMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Siam
Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#63 of 844 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,672 reviews
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#23 of 844 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand at CentralWorld? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand at CentralWorld

Property: Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Address: 999/99 Rama 1 Road | Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#71 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#106 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#121 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,253 - ₹ 16,506
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand at CentralWorld 5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right at the heart of the city, Bangkok has a state of the art Convention Centre, fully integrated with a Five Star Hotel and world class shopping and entertainment facilities. The Bangkok Convention Centre and the Centara Grand together make a stunning landmark on the city skyline. Inspired by the shape of a blooming lotus and its symbolic theme of the four elements of life: water, earth, air and fire, Bangkok has a new icon. Connected to CentralWorld, Bangkok's world class shopping centre which incorporates hundreds of retail and dining outlets including leading brand names such as Isetan Department store and 15 movie theatres, the whole development constitutes a unique and unbeatable combination of meeting, business, accommodation, entertainment and shopping facilities all together in one place - CentralWorld. Situated in the heart of Bangkok's business district, delegates will also find many Tourist attractions within easy reach. Easy access to the BTS (Skytrain), which also links to the MRTS (Sub Way) network and convenient access by car and coach to Rajdamri Road and Rama 1 Road provide convenient connections to other areas in the city centre and the inbound and outbound expressway - and Suvarnabhumi Airport is just half an hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Centara Grand at CentralWorld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand And Bangkok Convention Centre At Centralworld:
Centara Grand & Bangkok Convention Centre At Centralworld: Hotel Bangkok
Centara Grand At Centralworld Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing