We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location to Khao San Road”
Review of Erawan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Erawan House
Ranked #343 of 868 Hotels in Bangkok
Odiham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location to Khao San Road”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had a triple room and although it was a small room it was perfect as somewhere affordable to stay with a great location to Khao San Road. The room and bathroom were both kept really clean and there was bottled water in the room when we arrived. We were on the 4th floor so there was no noise from the street below, this was a bit of a struggle with a backpack at first. The shower was really powerful and had warm water all the time. We were not hassled once by the tailors or travel agents. The staff were very helpful and even looked after our bags for us in a locked room after we had checked out. The reception is 24 hours so you could hand your key in when you went out and explored the city. Great value for money.
If you are looking to use the internet then go next door its about 25 baht for an hour which is the cheapest I'd seen anywhere in Thailand. I will be staying here again if I return to Bangkok as its well worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etfireball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    217
    120
    28
    14
See reviews for
38
194
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We booked rooms extremely last minute and weren't sure what to expect. Luckily, our cabbie knew the area quite well and dropped us of on Phra-artid Road just at the beginning of the alley on which this hotel resides. We've been to plenty of budget hotels, but this one's par excellence. For an extremely economical rate, they provide you with free access to WiFi.

But what makes this place special are the two girls at the reception. They are always helpful and sometimes go out of the way to accomodate you. If asked they'll store your luggage for a few days (comes handy when you use Bangkok as a hub). Other advantages to their location are:

Proximity to Khaosan Road
Proximity to a 7-Eleven
Proximity to Tour Agents
Proximity to Grand Palace (and its surroundings)

Blindly pick the place, you'll love the locality!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the ground floor. Allows you to access the coffee vending machine ever so often...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preetham V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed at Erawan House in Bangkok for two nights and were very disappointed. The hotel lobby is recessed from the street and requires that you pass through two travel agencies and a tailor to get to the hotel. Every time we walked past these places the touts were on us to buy a suit or book a travel trip. The hotel isn't easy to find and to have to run the gauntlet each time just to get to the room is too much to ask.

The room was on the second floor and was small. The bathroom is tiny but it did have hot water. The room and bathroom had dead cockroaches in the corner so at least they spray for bugs here. TV reception was poor- lots of static and only CNN in English.

There are plenty of tourist hotels in this part of town and Erawan House is one of the worst. Save the aggravation and book elsewhere.

Room Tip: This hotel is in the tourist ghetto near the Chao Praya river. There are lots of cheap hotels in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank movsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here because we wanted a place with wi-fi (preferably in our room), close to Khao San, and cheap (as in living out of a backpack for 4 months, cheap). A lot to ask for, so we knew it would be hard to find in a city like Bangkok. Erawan house worked well for us. 750 baht a night (usually it's 800, apparently) for an air-con room is a lot, looking back on it, but it was the beginning of our trip and.....the wi-fi in our room worked great (room right at the top of the stairs), the location was perfect (on Rambuttri, a chill version of Khao San Road), Lamoon — the woman who basically runs the place — is fantastic, the beds were clean and comfortable and they let us store our suitcases in a spare room until we were able to unload them elsewhere. Which was necessary because the room is quite small, as was the bathroom. Anyway, overall, a great place, we stayed there for almost 2 weeks at the start of our trip, but the rooms and bathrooms are small for the price you pay, and we ended up staying over at the Shanti for 600 a night when we got back to Bangkok 4 months later.

p.s. Be prepared for the young guy next door to Erawan who will undoubtedly ask you every day if you want to buy a suit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PostcardPress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

i spent 3 days with my friend at erawan. staff is very nice and helpful. even sits in front of noisy Wild Orchid, feels like very very quite. room and bathroom are clean and maintained. wifi connection is not good in room so we need to stay outside room when use it, but maybe that's because we stay on 3rd floor. and cost per night is very affordable thanks to location of backpacker area.
overall, comfortable place to say.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zalarakh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#312 of 868 in Bangkok
235 reviews
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#217 of 868 in Bangkok
204 reviews
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#334 of 868 in Bangkok
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#358 of 868 in Bangkok
1,299 reviews
Banglamphu
Mango Lagoon Place
Mango Lagoon Place
#517 of 868 in Bangkok
115 reviews
Banglamphu
Diamond House
Diamond House
#299 of 868 in Bangkok
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erawan House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erawan House

Property: Erawan House
Address: 17 / 1-2 Chanasongkhram Phra-artid Rd | Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,284 - ₹ 2,119
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Erawan House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Erawan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erawan House Hotel Bangkok
Erawan Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing