We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Key Bangkok Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #228 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
“Excellent budget hotel”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The location of Key Bangkok is key (pardon the pun :P). It is within walking distance from the sky train (250m), Asok BTS and Terminal 21 which is quite an excellent mall which offers a pleasant shopping experience.

My wife and I checked into a Platinum Deluxe Premier Double room. Despite the fancy name once inside the room I was a bit underwhelmed, as it seemed to be a bit smaller than what I had anticipated. The bathroom was clean and well maintained as was all the fixtures in the room. Being on the 2nd floor, the room had windows on one entire side but the view was blocked by a wall. I am assuming that rooms on higher floors might have a better view of the road outside.

Breakfast was a mediocre affair, but is better than nothing. For ppl who like McDonalds breakfast, I'd recommend the McD which is also about a 250 m walk from the hotel.

The best thing about this hotel is that we saved loads for transportation as we could usually take the sky train to almost all the places that we wanted to go to. also saved us the trouble of Negotiating with taxi drivers or tuk tuks.

The staff at the hotel were quite helpful and reception staff spoke english which was a huge plus in our books.

we stayed at this hotel for 5 days and overall were quite pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hussa1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    346
    122
    23
    17
See reviews for
40
80
134
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila. Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The Key may not be the easiest of hotels to find but the location is great. Being right behind the Westin and a a short walk to Sukhumvit makes this the ideal place to stay for shopping and nightlife and restaurants.

Yes, the lobby is small and with a low ceiling it might make some people feel a bit claustrophobic but the rest of the experience makes up for it. The rooms are large and very well appointed with all the trimmings you might expect from a large 5 star brand except that there are hardwood floors. All good!

Breakfast was included in the price and is served from a buffet in a small area of the lobby. Although definitely not elaborate or grand in scale it was certainly sufficient.

On your way out pick up a calling card that has the address in Thai and a map on the back - handy for taxi drivers.

If you are not looking for an expensive well known international hotel brand and want a comfortable well priced option this is the place for you. I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMS_PEK_MNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Pinas
Level Contributor
1,448 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 687 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Rooms are clean and quiet but then hotel itself is small and cramped. Good location but Signage is not easy to see from the street. Other choices in same price range close by.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEmmanuelLasPinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

LOCATION: Conveniently located at 2 min walking distance from SkyTrain Station Asok, this is a really good hotel to spend a few days while visiting Bangkok. Nearby the hotel, there are 2 Malls: Terminal 21 & Robinson, the first one is a good place to have a dinner or a lunch as the food court on the 5th floor is really cheap and delicious.

ROOMS: The rooms have a modern, nice look and the are spotless. We were short on toilet paper but its not a big deal.

SERVICES: You got free wifi, and some rates include breakfast.

PRICE: For less than 40 euros, you get a great place to spend the night or a few days in Bangkok.

STAFF: The staff was always friendly and helpful, they have good English skills but you have to speak slow so there are no confusions.

SLEEP QUALITY: We slept like a baby, the rooms have some small noises coming from the street but you covert them with the air conditioner.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilfrido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The Key was everything it advertised.

We had a Gold Master Key room on the 2nd floor with a free day pass on BTS and Hotel to Airport transfer (we booked this through Asiaweb) The cost for our 4 nights was AUD350.00
.
'The Hotel was easy for our Taxi driver to find as we came up from Pattaya,

The Hotel and rooms are very well maintained and daily service to all rooms. The very Large bed is so comfortable and all furnishing are well kept.

Breakfast cafe is small (not everyone eats at the same time) so it is ok, choice was both Thai & Contenintal. For our other meals we ate mostly the very good street food available everywhere.

Staff were always pleasant & helpful at all times, oddly we never saw the housemaids at any time on our stay, but the room was always clean & fresh.

Close to all services and shopping,Terminal 21 is only 2 mins walk as is the BTS & MRT. Using the BTS is extremely easy even for 1st timers.

Avery good Hotel for Couples only 6 floors with a lift. and no noise, No smoking floors are available.
We liked the Key much better than the larger Hotels we have stayed in before in Bangkok,(5 times).

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with seperate bedroom, well worth the little extra for comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curtis20_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sacha's Hotel Uno
Sacha's Hotel Uno
#251 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Sukhumvit
SilQ Bangkok
SilQ Bangkok
#171 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Sukhumvit
S Sukhumvit Suites
S Sukhumvit Suites
#204 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
FuramaXclusive Asoke
FuramaXclusive Asoke
#262 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Sukhumvit
CityPoint Hotel
CityPoint Hotel
#86 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Sukhumvit
S15 Sukhumvit Hotel
S15 Sukhumvit Hotel
#260 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Key Bangkok Hotel by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Key Bangkok Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Key Bangkok Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Address: 19 Sukhumvit Soi 19 | Sukhumvit Rd, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly The Key Bangkok Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,038 - ₹ 4,719
Hotel Class:3 star — The Key Bangkok Hotel by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keeping in mind that you're travel for business or leisure should be as comfortable as your home, our rooms were designed to welcome you with warmth for the full extent of your stay. We have all the comforts of the convenience of a hotel. Striking a harmony between Price, Service and an Ideal Address, "THE KEY" is definitely an incomparable choice. With our ambition of providing the most flexible & comfortable accommodation. "THE KEY" is a wise choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Key Bangkok Hotel by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key Hotel Bangkok
The Key Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing