We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deteriorating service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Bangkok
Ranked #51 of 895 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Having used this hotel over the last 5 years, I must say that all previous experience has been pleasant with the staff being friendly, polite and helpful.

Sadly, I cannot say the same for this visit (3-8 October 2011). Check in at was unpleasant as the receptionist was somewhat unfriendly, questions were answered with just a no or shake of head and did not have any eye contact at all.

Ae, a service staff at the restaurant was by far fairly 'un' Marriott like with her service attitude. We have been at the MoMo Cafe almost every night and have seen her serving other guests which I would say didn't even meet minimum service standards, by Marriott, even at a Courtyard. As we walked into the cafe this evening, no one showed us a table, so we sat an an empty table at the outdoor area and Ae came over and told us that the table was reserved, though there we no reserved sign on placed on the table. She didn't even have the courtesy to show us the next available table. what ever happened to basic courtesy? So we moved to another table on our own and she didn't even come back with menus or to take our orders.

I would still like to believe that this doesn't reflect the usual Marriott standards which one would expect but first the receptionist, followed by F&B staff....? It does leave a doubt.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TrekDeuler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,353 - 2,357 of 3,071 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2011

Recently I stayed at Courtyard Bangkok for 3 nights. I found this hotel very comfortable, well maintained and modern. It is just 10mins walk from Central World shopping mall and if you want to go farther, the hotel offer free tuk tuk (operated by the hotel) to the nearest BTS station, which takes about 5 mins. The food at their MoMo Cafe was excellent and they offer so much choices of Thai dishes!! I also tried their M@Mood Spa. Although it has no reception area, carrying the "Marriott" name, the Spa centre offers everything you need at reasonable prices. The hotel offers free wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lilian853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Probably one of the best bargains in Bangkok! A little tough to find and many cabbies don't know how to get there, but it is worth getting to for the value. The rooms are clean, the staff very friendly, it is a bargain priced hotel! Great proximity (walking distance) to shopping and BTS. The pool and fitness center are very well maintained, never busy the times I have stayed there and the spa has experienced staff with excellent pricing in comparison to other major hotel spa services. Food is always good and consistent at Momo Cafe

Room Tip: Don't get any of the -01 rooms if you are tall or wide. The showers in those rooms are quite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights for the 1st half of our honeymoon trip to thailand. It's a great location and perfect service. The rooms are a great size and it's right next to the sky train. Although I can say that the taxis are so cheap you can take one anywhere. Just ask for a meter. anyway I would skip the breakfast if it's not included in your room booking. Its nice but seriously, you can get mcdonalds or lots of other stuff for cheaper just around the corner. The bed is kinda hard but it's not that serious. The pool is nice too! Stay there, you won't regret.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bklyntravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for just 1 night before moving on to Pattaya. The staff are friendly and helpful (help us book the van to Pattaya). We also enjoyed the lunch time at the Momo cafe. Always trust the Marriott brand:-)
The location is the only thing not perfect. It's only 10-min walk from the shopping malls and BTS station, but it was a little bit inconvenient for us since it was raining all day. Taxi may be your best choice then.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex_Unique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#67 of 895 in Bangkok
6,136 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Bangkok

Address: 155 / 1 Soi Mahadlekluang 1, Rajdamri Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand (Formerly Courtyard Bangkok)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#47 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#49 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#50 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#73 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: ₹ 6,481 - ₹ 12,314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore this central Bangkok hotel. Comfort and convenience combine seamlessly at the Courtyard Bangkok. Boasting a central location near Silom and Pratunam Market, as well as CentralWorld, our hotel welcomes you with 316 well appointed rooms and suites, all of which feature Bangkok views. Additional room amenities include 32-inch flat-screen TVs, pillowtop mattresses, in-room safes, and 24-hour room service. Dine on international fare at our hotel restaurant, MoMo Cafe, or sit outside by the pool and enjoy the sunshine. If you're planning an event in central Bangkok, you'll be delighted with our nearly 4,200 square feet of function room space and creative catering. And of course, thanks to our prime hotel location, the very best of the area is right at your fingertips. Explore Pratunam Market, discover Silom and the vibrant Central Business District, or attend an event or convention at the Bangkok International Trade & Exhibition Centre. The city is yours to enjoy when you stay here at the Courtyard Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Bangkok
Bangkok Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing