We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean, very affordable, helpful staff”
Review of Soi 1 Guesthouse

Soi 1 Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Soi 1 Guesthouse
Ranked #716 of 1,253 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Dasmarinas City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Basic, clean, very affordable, helpful staff”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

My family - husband, 2 kids, age 9 and 7 went to Bangkok for a short vacation and we wanted to explore Bangkok on a tight budget. We found this hostel/backpacker's place on the net. We were given a family room. it has a shower room,, double deck queen-sized bed and the air con works. on the plus side, it is very affordable, for 4 nights we spent around $200. The place is clean because the guest leave their slippers downstairs.
it is beside 7-11 so, food is no problem. there are also street foods which my kids love - sausages, fish balls etc. There are also fruit stalls below.
please see my complete review at www.infocomrade.com

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marvifromdasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    11
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
2
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Rooms - I stayed at the 10 bed dormitory, which was airconned and cost 400B. Aircon worked nicely, quiet and made the room nice and chilly. The beds where comfortable, the towels kind of stank. But nothing to stimulate a gag reflex.

Staff - Some of them struggled to remove their eyes from the laptop when were approached. Some of them were helpful. In general pretty apathetic and disinterested.

Toilet - clean, with toilet paper. hot water in showers.

there was wi-fi reception everywhere in the guesthouse.

All in all, at 400B per bed in a 10 bed dormitory, this guesthouse is definitely not a budget option. Overpriced is the word. Nothing in the guesthouse was above average, and when you pay 400 for a bed, you expect it too be. The general attitude of the information on the walls is pretty cocky, and trying to play down the other guesthouses in area, which I didn't like.

Location is good, walking distance from skytrain and siam's big malls, very nice food markets nearby, 7/11, barber, massage and the infamous Nana area are also nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NimoDoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korea
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I'm not sure why this place keeps touting how clean the bathrooms are, because they're not that clean. The dorm room was small and windowless, with the AC cranked to the limit. The bed were creaky and curved in the middle. The owner (?) was an expat was a kind man who had a lot of information for us, not only in Bangkok but to our next destination.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brainsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soi1David, Owner at Soi 1 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
While true that Only our 3 bed PVT dorm has no window ( if it did we'd get complaints from the noise on the street from that side) Most people love the "Cranking" Air con. I can only assume that you did not see the remote control, which if you did could have adjusted it to a warmer setting. the last guest must of liked it Cold, so left that temp on remote control.
About the bathrooms, We are a hostel and with 35+ guest we do a great job keeping our showers/toilets clean. But we can't look at them after every shower, and some people are a bit messy than others and don't consider the next person who may use them.
As the signs say on every level " If you see something that needs cleaning do not hesitate to notify the desk (24hrs) " We are more than happy to sort it out for you.
About the information you received from us,We are Glad you asked us and even more happy that it was useful to you on your journey!
Enjoy!! the journey is the Joy!!
Soi1david
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I stayed here in 4 bed dorm for 4 nights. The rate is uniform 400 baths. rooms are basic with AC only. Its a bit crappy place, though the behavior of staff is very good. The reception is on 2nd floor so when one arrives, s/he gets confused. There are many travel books available.

The place is not easily connected by public transport to Suwarnabhumi airport, and the nearest skytrain station Phloen Chit is also not very near (its around 800-1000 meters).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ImDrMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayman Islands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I've stayed here several times and it has become my home in Bangkok. It's close to the skytrain and canals taxis. Only a short hop and you're at the major shopping malls of Siam. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable. Close to lots of nightlife. It's a great place to meet other people as I've made some good friends there. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soi1David, Owner at Soi 1 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Thanks for your respected review, I say that because I see you have 21 reviews and 67 helpful votes. With your experience a review from you ,in my opinion, carries a bit more weight.
I'm Sure I'll see you again..
We Love the Irish!!
Soi1david
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
FuramaXclusive Sukhumvit
FuramaXclusive Sukhumvit
#387 of 868 in Bangkok
402 reviews
Sukhumvit
Oasis Inn Bangkok Hotel
Oasis Inn Bangkok Hotel
#585 of 868 in Bangkok
48 reviews
Sukhumvit
Skyy Hotel
Skyy Hotel
#465 of 868 in Bangkok
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Zenith Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Best Western Premier Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Ad Lib
Ad Lib
#56 of 868 in Bangkok
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soi 1 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soi 1 Guesthouse

Property: Soi 1 Guesthouse
Address: 220/7 Sukhumvit Soi 1, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit , Wattana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #716 of 1,253 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,275 - ₹ 6,999
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Soi 1 guesthouse' is an Australian/American influenced, Thai owned 24 hour, guesthouse, and youth hostel, now being over-seen by our diligent, on-site English speaking owner, Nai. The Friendships made and the Adventures shared are what we are about. It's partly but, more than just the Parties, Game-room, Bar, Live Sports from Satellites, Free Wi-Fi, Free maps, Hi speed internet, Clean rooms, New linen and Mattresses Plush towels and Hot showers (did we mention that 'Nai' keeps the place clean enough to walk bare-foot in?) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing