We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always glad to be back to Boonsiri”
Review of Boonsiri Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boonsiri Place
Ranked #401 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 22 March 2012

this february, me and my husband have returned to Thailand (after 5 years) and choosed the same hotel - Boonsiri. It did not let me down this time either. It is still a quiet, clean and best-value hotel that was years ago.
Pluses:
- location - old town, close to Khao San, and king's palace, the streets around are ok (taking into consideration you are in BKK)
- clean room, good shower, no smells - not very luxurious, but the furniture is in very good shape and the beds are great
- staff is friendly ( we came from the islands back to BKK after a 15 hours bus-trip, arrived at 8AM and we were checked-in right-away, even though check-in time is 12AM)
- free wi-fi in room
- they arranged for taxies for us
- breakfast is ok
I cannot find any minuses. Although , on one side of the hotel, the windows are to a school yard and from 6.30AM there is some music starting on (that you get used to after a while :) )

Room Tip: rooms 304 and 403 (double) are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmihaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 111 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

May be Boonsiri is not the most sexy place (no swimming pool, no palm tree backyard, staff is not considerably friendly, …) but it is save (there is a guard outside all day and night), it is very centric (walking distance to temple area), all items work well (AC, shower, TV, WiFi, …) and I did not have any trouble with my online payment.

The walls are not too thick (one night there was a school bus with screaming teenagers until 2am!). It is close to, but off the Khao San tourist trail, which makes the feel more authentic but there is prostitution going on around the hotel.

Room Tip: I took the upgrade room, bigger and facing towards the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yonzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This is never a 3.5 star hotel as advertised but in fact a 2 star at best . We spent 5 nights here with no refrigerator (In Bangkok are they kidding ?!) and totally inadequate storage for clothes. The view from our balcony such as it was was of a concrete wall and a rusty air conditioning unit on the next building about 4 feet away (see picture). Despite being on the 5th floor not much light got in and as a consequence of this and our room felt like a cell. Breakfast was inedible dry rice egg and tinned sausage every morning.

Now for the really bad stuff. This hotel is situated in a very poor seedy 3rd world neighbourhood. After dark prostitutes were on every corner and our front door was manned by an armed security guard complete with body armor. Not exactly conducive to a feeling of confidence when one chose to venture out. This was brought home to us when we were returning to this hotel from the Khaosan road when we were stopped and frisked for drugs and weapons by Thai police . Given we are in our 50s and 60s this was a scary situation to be in as I suspect if they had found more money on us they would have been after a bribe.

Its not all bad . The aircon was good and the staff were helpful. If you brave the location on foot its not far from khaosan road nor the Royal palace. However there really must be safer better value locations elsewhere that would suit your needs far better.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxbat25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed here for 1 night on our last night in Thailand.It was nice but the hot water didnt work at 4 am when we had to get up to go to airport. Its a little bit of a walk from khao san road and if you are walking back late at night its a bit dicey in the area.

Room Tip: make sure you tell the guy at the desk if mini bar is empty. when we check out early in morning he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seamillfarmcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Jan 2012. The hotel is about 7 mins walk from KSR, so very good location. It was quiet but still near to all the tourist areas. As other reviews have said there are prostitutes in this area but we didn't actually notice them till the 2nd night. You can ignore them and they will ignore you, they just look like anyone else sitting on the side of the street they will not approach you (unless you are a single man.) The area is quite safe, we walked home at 2am really drunk and had no issues.

The reception staff ok - english is only mediocre but there is a security man outside the door 24/7. There is a elevator up to room, which is good if you are on the 5th floor. Rooms were clean, had a/c and are fairly spacious. The balcony serves more as an area to dry clothes than to see anything, this didn't really bother us.

The breakfast was ok, had a reasonable spread and freshly cooked eggs to your liking with tea or coffee withg uht milk.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kermit_MissPiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangkok
Taris Art Hotel Phrae
#4 of 10 in Phrae
2 reviews
Banglamphu
Royal Rattankosin Hotel
Royal Rattankosin Hotel
#718 of 887 in Bangkok
374 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#348 of 887 in Bangkok
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Swana Bangkok Hotel
Swana Bangkok Hotel
#357 of 887 in Bangkok
324 reviews
Banglamphu
D&D INN
D&D INN
#625 of 887 in Bangkok
1,651 reviews
Banglamphu
Sri Krungthep Hotel
Sri Krungthep Hotel
#468 of 887 in Bangkok
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boonsiri Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boonsiri Place

Address: 55 Buranasart Road | San Chao Pho Suea, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: ₹ 2,011 - ₹ 3,178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boonsiri Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boonsiri Place Bangkok hotel is the right place to start your exploration of Thailand’s capital city, a city where past, present and future collide. Not only is Boonsiri Place considered part of the ‘Khaosan hotel’ but is also right in the middle of the entire famous tourist in the area; The Grand Palace and the Emerald Buddha Temple, Wat Po, Wat Arun, Loha Prasart, and the ancient and ever important Chao Phraya River, etc. One of the budget hotels Bangkok, you can witness the exciting lives of local inhabitants of the area which in many cases have stayed for more than half a century.Boonsiri Place, Khaosan hotel, has a total of 48 rooms divided into 32 Superior Rooms, 16 Deluxe Rooms, All guest rooms are non-smoking and has windows and balconies, private bathroom, hot and c old showers, colour TV, minibar. We also provide IDD phone, safety deposit box at the reception, WIFI internet, tours and travel services, elevator, limousine/van services and many more services to make your stay with us more comfortable.Boonsiri Place Hotel is ‘The Gallery Hotel’ of Bangkok consisting of more than 100 traditional oil paintings, seen in temples of the old city Bangkok area. These paintings are commissioned to Thai traditional temple artist Chanok Chunchob who also promotes Thai art with the Ministry of Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Boonsiri Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boonsiri Place Bangkok
Boonsiri Place Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing