We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
47
166
106
30
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
166
106
30
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand palacekhao san roadwalking distancetuk tukenglish channelswould stay againbooked this hotelreceptionistasia
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This is never a 3.5 star hotel as advertised but in fact a 2 star at best . We spent 5 nights here with no refrigerator (In Bangkok are they kidding ?!) and totally inadequate storage for clothes. The view from our balcony such as it was was of a concrete wall and a rusty air conditioning unit on the next building about 4 feet away (see picture). Despite being on the 5th floor not much light got in and as a consequence of this and our room felt like a cell. Breakfast was inedible dry rice egg and tinned sausage every morning.

Now for the really bad stuff. This hotel is situated in a very poor seedy 3rd world neighbourhood. After dark prostitutes were on every corner and our front door was manned by an armed security guard complete with body armor. Not exactly conducive to a feeling of confidence when one chose to venture out. This was brought home to us when we were returning to this hotel from the Khaosan road when we were stopped and frisked for drugs and weapons by Thai police . Given we are in our 50s and 60s this was a scary situation to be in as I suspect if they had found more money on us they would have been after a bribe.

Its not all bad . The aircon was good and the staff were helpful. If you brave the location on foot its not far from khaosan road nor the Royal palace. However there really must be safer better value locations elsewhere that would suit your needs far better.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxbat25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed here for 1 night on our last night in Thailand.It was nice but the hot water didnt work at 4 am when we had to get up to go to airport. Its a little bit of a walk from khao san road and if you are walking back late at night its a bit dicey in the area.

Room Tip: make sure you tell the guy at the desk if mini bar is empty. when we check out early in morning he want us to pay for potato chips we never ate.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seamillfarmcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Jan 2012. The hotel is about 7 mins walk from KSR, so very good location. It was quiet but still near to all the tourist areas. As other reviews have said there are prostitutes in this area but we didn't actually notice them till the 2nd night. You can ignore them and they will ignore you, they just look like anyone else sitting on the side of the street they will not approach you (unless you are a single man.) The area is quite safe, we walked home at 2am really drunk and had no issues.

The reception staff ok - english is only mediocre but there is a security man outside the door 24/7. There is a elevator up to room, which is good if you are on the 5th floor. Rooms were clean, had a/c and are fairly spacious. The balcony serves more as an area to dry clothes than to see anything, this didn't really bother us.

The breakfast was ok, had a reasonable spread and freshly cooked eggs to your liking with tea or coffee withg uht milk.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kermit_MissPiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Rooms were very basic, no safe, old tv balcony isn't really a balcony. Hotel is clean and well run.

Close to khaosan road 5 min walk. The hotel is in a red light area though with prostitutes about in the evening. We didn't feel any danger though and the people are really nice.

We stayed 4 nights but only had breakfast once because the buffet had cold fried eggs and I didn't know how long they had been there. They weren't on a heat plate.

A gripe was the internet they charge 60p for half hour and £1 for an hour. Many other places are free and for the price this hotel should do the same.

There are other places near and on khaosan road that are cheaper with the same if not better facilities. I wouldn't stay here again although our stay was ok.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baileysblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I recently stayed here with some friends and on arrival I was so happy to see how clean it was. Unusual for Bangkok! Breakfast was small but nice. The rooms are large and staff are friendly with average English. The area is very authentic and local so if you want a nice tourist area dont stay here. Nothing to do on that road but it is so close to Khaosan road (10min walk) and Wat Pho and the Grand palace (10min tuk-tuk) that it makes the location perfect. If staying in the Khaosan area I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tibstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews