We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,782)
Filter reviews
2,782 results
Traveller rating
1,486
974
223
67
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,486
974
223
67
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heart of china town chinese style mu dan busy chinatown jazz bar four poster bird cage chinatown area the free mini bar live jazz no natural light street food boutique hotel tuk tuk golden buddha dim sum beautiful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 2,782 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Loved this hotel - great bar, good cocktails and good snacks. Rooms are stunning and it smells divine!

Great for a one night stop over but I'm not a lover of Chinese food so we ate in the bar.

Fantastic massage just around the corner (turn left and first left again)

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank X2465AYmichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasari G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear X2465Amichele,

Thank you for your 'fabulous' review! So happy to hear you enjoyed the food and cocktails at Red Rose, our restaurant on site.
Our rooms decor is inspired by Shanghai circa 1930, and the scent is lemongrass, a classic Thai aroma!

Kind regards,
Netnapit "Net" Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

I read many reviews of people going back bc of this hotel and it is absolutely true! This hotel and their amazing and warm staff made me wish I stayed in Bangkok longer! The hospitality is superb. The bed and linens, and towels, were great! Good size rooms and showers especially for the price and compared to other comparable hotels. Great location at the heart of Chi a town and very close to other locations and the metro.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank C2855GYsandrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasari G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear C2855GYsandrah,

Thank you for your great comments. Indeed, we outfit our rooms with excellent linens, beds and amenities to make sure that our guests sleep well and enjoy a restful stay. Glad you enjoyed our warm staff service and close proximity to the charms of Chinatown and greater Bangkok.

Kind regards,
Netnapit "Net" Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile



Pros:
Nice Bar at the entrance of the hotel
20 to 25mins drive to the famous malls in Bangkok
The rooms had a nice decor with authentic Chinese feel to it.

Cons:
Since the hotel is located on the main road of Chinatown which is crowded and full of traffic, there is no parking space available when you reach the hotel with all your luggages.

The room had a lot of small cockroaches.

Its very disappointing that even small things like extra tea coffee pouches were not provided.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Kavitha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasari G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear Kavitha A,

Thank you for your comments and the pros of the hotel you mentioned.
Regarding the other issues:

We provide coffee and tea in our Standard Rooms upon request, and it is included in our Deluxe Rooms. Our records indicate that we provided you with tea and coffee whenever you requested this, and it was our pleasure to do so.

Chinatown is in an older part of Bangkok, and that is part of the charm. We are located right on the wide Yaowarat boulevard, and there is ample room for cars and taxis to pull over, and our bellman are always ready and happy to assist with luggage. There are of course street vendor and pedestrians, but again that is the nature of the neighborhood and part of the exprience of being in Chinatown.

Our pest management is very thorough, and we are always on top of any pest issues. Our housekeeping team is also meticulous in keep the room clean and fresh. In all of your conversations with our Front Desk, you never mentioned a pest issue in the room, and you did not do so again during check out.

Kind regards,
Netnapit "Net" Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

WOW - what a gorgeous hotel - we absolutely loved it! The rooms are beautiful, clean and very comfortable - the whole place smells incredible. Good location in Chinatown, great bar and restaurant - my only comment would be to beware of the tuk tuks outside the hotel. We asked for massage and we taken miles away when there was a fantastic massage place just outside.

Room tip: All rooms are fabulous
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MicheleGar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasari G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear MicheleGar99,

Thank you for your kind comments about our rooms and Red Rose Restaurant and bar. I am so sorry to hear you had a bad experience with the local tuk-tuk drivers. They are not affiliated with our hotel or services in any way. In the future, please do ask one of our bellman to assist you with hiring a tuk-tuk and negotiating the price. This often helps our guests from getting 'taken for a ride', so to speak.

Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Netnapit "Net" Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

We were happy with this hotel. Friendly staff. Stylish room. A pungent smell from the toilet and a variety of little insects in the room were a little bit distracting but they did not affect our overall experience

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 223wolfgangk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasari G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear Wolfgang K.

Thank you for your kind review.
We are sorry to hear that there were unpleasant odors and insects. We do our outmost to keep our facilities clean and well-maintained. That said, issues to occur from time to time. In the future, please do let our reception desk know and we will gladly move you to another room.

Kind regards,
Netnapit "Net" Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews