We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need for just two quid each a night!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Merry V Guesthouse
Ranked #278 of 1,185 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Nottingham
1 review
“All you need for just two quid each a night!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is no hotel, it's a basic backpackers hostel. On that basis it's a decent place to stay. We had a double fan room which cost less than five pounds a night. It's pretty much four walls, a fan, mesh windows and a bed. For the cost you can't expect anymore and most importantly it was reasonably clean. With no glass in the windows it's a little noisy if you're in a street front room but again remember the price. We had a shared bathroom which was absolutely fine. The location is also right in the middle of backpacker central. If you're backpacking on a budget then get there early for a room. I'll more than likely be heading back next year when I return to Bangkok.

Overall for the cost it's well worth staying!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickThePanther44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    74
    43
    15
    3
See reviews for
12
58
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for just the one night and whilst it is only 500 Baht the place is very basic. Staff are OK but I wouldn't say more than that. Don't think I will go back.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
Thank perkins4108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I've been to this place several times. The rooms are really basic but are clean. The beds are really hard and there are no blankets, but then again, you don't pay a lot either.
The food in the restaurant is good and not too expensive.

There is no Wifi, but if you sit in the corner near the reception you can use the neighbors wifi!

Room Tip: The single rooms on the first floor can be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veroniqueinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
154 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

i couldn't believe the price in this area (160b for a shared bathroom single), also cant believe how my polish neighbours could pay 550b, i've seen the double rooms as well, and i would just put in extra 200b and went next door to a perfect new siam II. Anyway the single room had fan, was clean, no bugs, 2 windows into the walls, clean shared bathrooms (on each floor 3 showers and 2 'sinks'), walls were pretty thin but still seemed quiet, u can pay hourly for quite fast wifi.
If you just want to spend a quick night in Bangkok, this might be the place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank czhunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswiecim, Poland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We spent 4 nights there. Staff is perfect, rooms ( back side- with bathroom and A/C) are clean and quiet. Prices 550-590bht for double room. Highly recomend!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krotasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#407 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Banglamphu
Phra Arthit Mansion
Phra Arthit Mansion
#361 of 628 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Banglamphu
Rainbow Khaosan Hostel and Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
New Siam Riverside Guest House
Banglamphu
Thara House
Thara House
#101 of 628 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House I
New Siam Guest House I
#159 of 628 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Merry V Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Merry V Guesthouse

Property: New Merry V Guesthouse
Address: 18-20 Phra Athit Road, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 1,185 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
New Merry v Guesthouse Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing