We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average buffet so average score”

The SQUARE Restaurant - Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit
Ranked #57 of 12,649 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 37
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The SQUARE Restaurant at Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit, serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and all day snacks in between. This modern, bright 170-seat main dining is divided into different dining cuisine zones for guests' convenience. Don't miss our famous buffet offers featuring delicious international cuisines and fresh seafood.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The service was good so nothing to complain about there, but I was there for the seafood and that was disappointing. The crab was just tasteless and at the most did I taste the frozen water.
The rest of the food was OK, but I was there for the seafood which was not a pleasure..

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ofaneka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Bangkok P, Manager at The SQUARE Restaurant - Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Ofaneka,

Thank you very much for your choosing the Square in Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit and to write this great comment on our tripadivsor page.

Thank you very much to comment about the quality of our service.
Please allow me to apologize on behalf of my entire team and we are sorry to learn that somes details need to be improve in terms of the seafood quality. We had taken notes of your comments and we already did action to improve the matter.

We are hoping to look forward for the opportunity to serve you better and welcome you in person.

Kind regards,

Claire GRUEL
F&B Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 64 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

This is very nice place to have food.They serve different varieties of food with a good taste and presentation.

Thank pankajtuptewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Bangkok P, Manager at The SQUARE Restaurant - Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Pankajtuptewar,

Thank you very much for your choosing the Square in Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit and to write this great comment on our tripadivsor page.

We are happy to read that you had a great experience with us and to mention about the quality of food.

Looking forward to welcome you again,

Kind Regards,

Claire GRUEL
F&B Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Seafood is great quality. Staff is happy pleasant even they have a full house.
Buffet dinner is highly recommended.

Thank Jitchaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Bangkok P, Manager at The SQUARE Restaurant - Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Jitchaya,

Thank you very much for your choosing the Square in Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit and to write this great comment on our tripadivsor page.

We are happy to read that you had a great experience with us and to mention about the quality of food.

Looking forward to welcome you again,

Kind Regards,

Claire GRUEL
F&B Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Good Service staff - Palm. He is very smart and work hard. Thank you very much for your good service!

Thank KittyT301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Bangkok P, Manager at The SQUARE Restaurant - Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Kitty T,

Thank you very much to take time to share comment about your experience with us at the Square in Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit,

Kind comments have been passed to Khun Palm to support him to keep his service's mind.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Claire GRUEL
F&B Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

I was surprised to see how highly rated this restaurant is....of course I am happy for Square to be so high up in tripadvisor...but then again, we have just eaten in some of the top restaurants in town which are decorated with Michelin stars and more....and they are far behind this restaurant....

This means we had only breakfast here....5 days in a row and I have to admit, breakfast is good but is it that good?

Firstly I can honestly say that the service is up to standard what is expected in such an establishment, quick, efficient and friendly, from day 3 they remembered our coffee preferences which is difficult in such a big hotel and impressive

The food....was good, just good. The pastries and breads where nothing amazing, the eggs where on the buffet, omelet done a la minute but overdone every time, the garnishes were all good but always the same.

The juice station....orange juice superb, the rest tasted like it has been stretched with concentrate or was concentrate. The cereals were nothing great, not much choice, Bircher Muesli tasted lovely...always the same fruit, melon, water melon and pineapple

So overall it was all good, but not very good, average....it is a 5 star hotel after all and the expectations are different then when one goes in a bed and breakfast or low budget hotel

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CountryGourmetTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Bangkok P, Manager at The SQUARE Restaurant - Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear CountryGourmetTravel,

Thank you very much for your choosing the Square in Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit and to write this great comment on our tripadivsor page.

Thank you very much to comment about the quality of our service.
Please allow me to apologize on behalf of my entire team and we are sorry to learn that somes details need to be improve in terms of the quality of our breakfast. We had taken notes of your comments and we already did action to improve the matter.

We are hoping to look forward for the opportunity to serve you better and welcome you in person.

Kind regards,

Claire GRUEL
F&B Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The SQUARE Restaurant - Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit also viewed

 

Been to The SQUARE Restaurant - Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing