We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New World City Hotel
Ranked #483 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Hotel was fine for 2 nights was here on my own. didnt use any of the facilities but pictures online are of the fancier hotel next door. Bathroom was a little grotty with mould, Check in was fine, staff were fine. Was ok for price I paid. Location was great, bout 5-10 mins from khao san road. Little noisy at night but mostly traffic and what you would expect from Bangkok. Meets flashpacker status but not tourist status,

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    131
    82
    38
    28
See reviews for
25
87
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I stayed here for 1 night at the start and end of my Intrepid Tour (2 nights total).

On both occasions my rooms were infested with bedbugs, I captured one in a glass and took it to reception who offered to upgrade my room IF I WANTED TO PAY $40 AUD. I paid the $40AUD (total rip off) and was given a room up on a higher floor with no bed bugs (what a luxury).

Same scenario on my return trip however my tour guide was able to negotiate a free upgrade. While we were packing up, the hotel staff brought some insect spray in and sprayed around the bed. Ewww.

I would never stay at this filthy hotel again. Book elseware if your tour starts or ends here.

Room Tip: If you HAVE to stay here, ask for a room on a high floor, they seem to not be infested with bedbugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallie032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The hotel is extremely old! location is ok, 5 minutes away from Khaosan Rd.
sheets had holes and stains, pillows as hard as rock. breakfast non existent. air-conditioner was as big as a civic and very noisy. out of all hotels we stayed at in Bangkok this one was the worst.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariushka63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay happily and sleep happily and wanted to keep in touch with your friends and family, this is a nice place to stay. Me and my family are quite picky about where we will stay, we have stayed in many famous hotel in Bangkok which were told by the "word of mouth" but most of them turned out to be terrifying. Once, I swear that I paid such a great amount of money to stay in a room with termites! But when I came here at New World City Hotel, it is like the first impression, the people are so kind and they are willingly to service you at their best. Food is very good and the place is surrounded by many popular tourist sites so you should not be afraid that you will not have a place to go in the night. Free high speed wifi access code. I can't believe that I will get a great room with low cost. I'm so happy to find this great hotel!! No insects, local cuisine, great room services!

Room Tip: Ask for deluxe rooms (rooms on lower floor, the upper is the superior which is cheaper) :) I'm s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tata T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Ok. So I was there for helping out a music festival and I spent almost a week there.
This hotel is old but being old is not an issue if they provided good service and anything else.
But this hotel, is, just not worth it.
I usually not enjoy reviewing negative comments about things but this hotel is just not the hotel you want to stay if you are around the area. Its totally not worth the price. the service is bad. While I was there everytime at the front desk there're always customers saying about their issues like the air con. is not working, the light is not working, and etc...
I also face an issue of air con is not working properly, also the next night the air con is just broke down. and the really bad thing about this hotel is TERRIBLE breakfast. The food is more like something that was leftover from last night dinner. Rice, some badlooking and tasting side menu like stir fry veggies, fried DRY eggs, sucky waffles, almost-go-wrong (decay) roman lettuce for salad (out of their 3 veggies items of salad: lettuce, onion, tomatoes) and bad dressing, the coffee is bad (im gonna go on with this breakfast thing because you know its the first thing that could make up your good mood for the day, I mean for me if I had a good breakfast, Im most likely to be a happy girl all day so breakfast is a big deal for me). OKAY so its bad. for breakfast. oh and even the buffet dinner. its bad.
This hotel is bad in every aspect, just. DONT GO THERE. ok.

PS: they have sister hotel which is NOUVO CITY HOTEL. and they provide the same set of breakfast. so. same. not worth the price. just try to stay out of these two hotel because the service is bad. they have only on receptionist, and the customer complaint a lot about their mistaking of booking the room and else.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maymii237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#173 of 858 in Bangkok
1,182 reviews
Banglamphu
Diamond House
Diamond House
#299 of 858 in Bangkok
303 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#362 of 858 in Bangkok
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Banglamphu
Bhiman Inn
Bhiman Inn
#357 of 858 in Bangkok
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New World City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World City Hotel

Property: New World City Hotel
Address: 2 Samsen Soi 2, Samsen Rd | Banglumphu, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #483 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,814 - ₹ 6,723
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New World City Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Bangkok close to Khaosan Road on Rattanakosin Island old city and historical part of Bangkok. It's also easily accessible to the Royal Grand Palace, The Emerald Buddha Temple (Wat Phra Keaw),Wat Pho (Temple of the Reclining Buddha), the Golden Mountain and National Museum. Just a 10 minute walk to Banglumphu Market and Khaosan Road, the place for the best in nightlife, shopping, and dining in the area.For 20 years, the New World City Hotel has been proudly serving and accommodating guests from around the world and has built a reputation for being one of the friendliest hotels in the city.The hotel provide its guest with modern, bright, well-appointed guest rooms with inter-connecting rooms also available. All guest rooms have windows and balconies, private bathrooms, hot & cold showers, IDD telephones, satellite televisions, in-room safes, minibars and refrigerators, along with 24-hour Halal room service food.Sara Restaurant services Thai, European, and Indian Cuisine with a wide A La Carte menu and 24-hour room service. Guests are welcomed by friendly and courteous staff that are always ready to greet you with a smile and Sawadee, Thai custom for a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your New World City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New World City Bangkok
Hotel New World City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing