We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room was not as per spec” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Unico Express Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Unico Express Hotel
Ranked #772 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Room was not as per spec”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I was told "Room is standard". But when reached to hotel...it was totally different. Hotel staff do not want to listen.
Room was dirty, naked wire, freez with patchy spots.
Size of room is also not standard. Even room was smelling.

After fighting with hotel staff and tour operator for more than 2 hrs...I was transferred to better room. new room was not good but at least you can sleep
Overall bad exp.
I ll not recommend it in general scenario

Room Tip: Ask for photograph at time of booking, keep it in record, you may need to use it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank iimb_iimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    113
    140
    105
    101
See reviews for
41
68
85
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

At night love-making sounds from a female were loud for about 1/2 hour coming from somewhere on the same floor. Very entertaining.

I paid for the economy room king size bed on the internet. But one wasn't ready with a king bed yet. I was given an "upgrade" to the Deluxe room, and told I had to move to the economy room the next night. No problem. Good. I needed to move anyway, because the Deluxe room had bugs that kept crawling on my body. Some sort of medium sized black bugs. What are they? I don't know. I would flick one away and then another one kept coming. Luckily the economy room didn't have any bug problem, only that the bed was too soft.

The room numbers are completely confusing. Really stupid.

The breakfast was small, but okay. At least there was fresh but watermelon and pineapple. They will close the buffet very promptly at 10am, so get down at 10:01am and the staff will be putting things away.

Decent free wifi throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JasonRupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Bangkok
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

just had a visit to the hotel 2 weeks ago.

My friend booked the room on Agoda which we got a good rate.

We try the lowest category because it just for sleep 1 night.

The whole thing is we spent more than 30 mins in Soi Nana just to find the hotel as the map was unclear and calling the hotel, doesnt help you. Even i'm Thai, i still have some communication issue with the staff.

The hotel look good, quiet but the upper floors seems to be so run down. They might need a soft renovation.

We got a free upgrade, the room has no window, it is good if you stay for only 2 persons, not 3 like us :P

The bathroom door is unlockable :( but that's ok for us. The only bad point is that they dont have much space for our cloths.

I will call it the hostel for the room we got not a hotel but I dont have more ideas about other category.

I'm not really sure what room we got in Agoda it should be Superior, but photo is much more nicer than what we got. Economy? i dont think so as their Economy seems to be big.

Ok, now i think the problem is the Photos then.

**

The location is soso cuz u have to walk around 15-20 mins to the BTS but if u take a cab it's ok just a short distance to shopping area.

**

Shopping Tips : Try MBK better buy at Nana street, ask for discount. We are not like some countries with 70% mark up but u can try to ask them to give u something more or a bit discount.

Attractions :
Try night life at Khaosarn Rd, try the bucket of Redbull Vodka and Shisha, u can buy some t-shirts with the good price there as well.
Sa-Paan-Put, night market, famous for Thai, near flower market called "Paak Klong Talad", take a cab not a tuktuk if you want to be secure on spending too much money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polar b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panchkula
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

This is probably the worst ever hotel in whole Bangkok I've ever stayed in. Hotel is full of mosquitoes and bugs, rooms are very dirty and linen is stinking. Toilets are dirty and leaking continuously. Hotel staff is full of thieves and scoundrels. Indians are the most frequented nationality in this hotel and they only loot Indians. Hotel has no adequate arrangements in case of fire and a tragedy is waiting to happen at any given time. There are no firefighting instruments at the hotel and no fire escape passages at all. How can Thai government allow such property to run? Authorities must take serious action against the hotel.
While guests are taking their breakfast, they'll snatch their plates on pretext of 10 am deadline which I've never witnessed in any hotel in any country in my life. Please ban this property.

Room Tip: don't even think about staying in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
25 Thank rajindermittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margarita
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

My first impression of my room was it's great value for money. It was well furnished with a king size bed, big flat screen tv and a modern, well designed shower room. The furniture, too was above the standard of usual $25 a night hotels. I did not even notice the lack of a window for half an hour as I was enjoying relaxing in my commodious surroundings. As I was on a short journey it was a small flaw that I could put to the back of my mind. Room service was very good value for money with a 24 hour, good choice of affordable Thai and international fare. Sandwiches are served with chips and tlc. Swimming pool smallish but fine. Internet free and adequate. Location is good for restaurants, bars and street shopping.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank locopoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok
Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok
#771 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#284 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Sukhumvit
Pinnacle Sukhumvit Inn
Pinnacle Sukhumvit Inn
#753 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
The Euro Grande Hotel
The Euro Grande Hotel
#477 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Sukhumvit
Aspira Hiptique
Aspira Hiptique
#702 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Sukhumvit
Oasis Inn Bangkok Hotel
Oasis Inn Bangkok Hotel
#622 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unico Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unico Express Hotel

Property: Unico Express Hotel
Address: 74 Sukhumvit Soi 3 | Khlongtoey-Nua, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #772 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,505 - ₹ 2,814
Hotel Class:3 star — Unico Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unico group is pleased to be able to introduce The Unico Express Sukhumvit, situated in the heart of Bangkok with easy access to a wealth of amenities and some of the most specular sights Thailand has to offer.This property offers excellent value for money to price conscience guests with a transparent pricing scheme that is affordable for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your Unico Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unico Leela Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing