We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rate, good service, well located”
Review of The Sukosol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sukosol Hotel
Ranked #105 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We had three rooms and stayed three nights, we all agree that service and rate was very good. I requested for an extra pillow and without hesitation was given one, where as in other hotels we've been they would not. Washroom did not have any ventilation, therefore it got quite humid and foggy after your shower.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siamcity, General Manager at The Sukosol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Good afternoon !
Thank you ever so much for writing - and telling us about the evacuation of the air, it might have been overlooked that the fan(speed) was not adjusted correctly, thanks to you we checked now all rooms thouroughly.
Many thanks once more for the hint !
Always,
Hans H. Spoerri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 919 of 1,835 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

The Siam City is just yards away from the end of the airport railway link at Phaya Thai Skytrain station, so really handy for getting to most parts of Bangkok. It's just been done up, and the reception area now is stunning. I tried a couple of the restaurants while I was there - the Chinese and the Italian - and found them both excellent. The Mayor of Bangkok was in a private room in the Chinese restaurant the evening I was there - a sure recommendation of good food. The breakfasts are great too, with the executive chef producing an excellent asparagus omelette - and the coffee is worth a second cup (or even a third). The friendly staff remember your name and speak very good English, unlike in many other Bangkok hotels. The hotel is part of the Sukosol group, and is likely to changing its name soon, but it's worth a visit whatever its name.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a busy road, so choose a room on a higher floor or away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KieronWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siamcity, Manager at The Sukosol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear KieronWood,

Thank for posting such a rave review! So glad to hear you love our new lobby as much as us 
We are well-known for our fabulous food, so happy you enjoy it.

And yes, are staff our top-notch; we pride ourselves on their training and friendliness.

As you noted we did/have changed our name, we are now THE SUKOSOL. But besides that it’s business as usual and you’ll find everything is still ‘beautiful inside & out’, as our new motto
goes.

We hope to see you again soon.

Ms C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed at the hotel in April 2011. The staff are very friendly and very beautiful. The hotel was full of pilots, who had just landed in Bangkok. The hotel pool is wonderful and the rooms are fab. The rooms have British style thick duck feather duvets, and have quiet air con. Rooms cleaned to a very high standard every morning and fresh fluffy towels provided daily too. Ten mins walk from massage parlours (genuine, not seedy types), shops and food halls. Worth a visit- TRUST ME

Room Tip: Twin room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leahmacattack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siamcity, Manager at The Sukosol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear leahmacattack,

Thank you so much for your very kind review. And we agree, we are worth a visit — or two!!!

We are always pleased to hear that guests enjoy our facilities, amenities, service and location.
We hope to see you in the City of Angels again very soon.

Kind regards,

Ms C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Good location, Friendly and helpfull staff. Good pool. Fine food.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siamcity, Manager at The Sukosol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear John W,

Thanks for the good review. You were spot on, we pride ourselves on our amazing location, staff, facilities and food!

Please come and visit us again soon!

Ms C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed there one night. Reception quite friendly. Some renovation going on in the ground floor near the elevators.
Room clean, not new though. In my room there was a bathtub, not the best to have a shower. Toilet big enough. The bed was very good (specially since previous week stayed in poor hotel with a very poor bed). One problem was the lighting system, quite complicated to use.
WiFi is included but at least I could not make a connection with my phone to the WiFi station.
Aircon was quiet and worked properly.
A good choice to stay.

Room Tip: Top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptrajam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siamcity, Manager at The Sukosol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear ptrajam,

Thanks for your review and nominating us as a ‘good choice to stay’.

We are particularly gratified to hear you liked our receptionists, cleanliness, bed, air-con and complimentary Wi-Fi.

Ms C.Rafferty
Corporate Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
AETAS bangkok
#65 of 891 in Bangkok
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phayathai
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
#357 of 891 in Bangkok
329 reviews
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#80 of 891 in Bangkok
1,239 reviews
Vince Hotel
#187 of 891 in Bangkok
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukosol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukosol Hotel

Address: 477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Phayathai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#96 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#109 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#112 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#112 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: ₹ 5,421 - ₹ 9,311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sukosol Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing colonial-style architecture, modern amenities and Asian aesthetics, The Sukosol Hotel (formerly Siam City Hotel) is a wonderful place to stay for a truly unique, five-star Thai experience. The 470-room hotel is located beside the Phayathai Skytrain and Airport Rail Link stations. In the middle of Bangkok’s famed royal district, the hotel is within easy reach of the best sightseeing, shopping and dining that the City of Angels has to offer. The hotel boasts award-winning restaurants, rooftop pool, fitness centre, gift shop, jeweler, tailor, travel counter and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sukosol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam City Bangkok
Bangkok Siam City Hotel
Siam City Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing