We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Place to Stay - A Few Small Issues” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dream Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dream Bangkok
Ranked #99 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Reasonable Place to Stay - A Few Small Issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Another day, another hiptique Bangkok hotel in the Sukhumvit Area!

Decided to try this hotel after getting a great deal on http://www.thaihoteldiscounts.com/
(Very good service - highly recommend them. And no, I have no connection with them!)

I didn't realise that the hotel was quite so far down Soi 15. (It's about a 10 minute walk to the Skytrain and/or subway stations, but they have a free Tuk Tuk that'll take you there too. They also provide a mobile number to call if you want a pick up).

Public areas are quite nice and done in a funky design.

There are two towers - 1 and 2. Pool is in tower 2, and wasn't crowded when we were there.

Room was a standard room on the 4th floor. Decent size, not too big. Fine enough for two people. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Good cable TV. Bathroom nicely laid out and designed.

However, water pressure in the shower wasn't very good at all and seemed to go from hot to col to hot to cold again very quickly! I mentioned this to reception but nothing seemed to be done about it. (I didn't expect it to be to be honest - TIT: This is Thailand).

Beware that the minbar and room service are VERY expensive! Buy snacks / drinks out at the 7-11 and on the street to save money.

Breakfast was good. Lovely staff and very helpful. More than enough options for people at breakfast, however, not a lot for Thai people if they don't eat western food - 1 dish, a fried egg and rice and fruit is about all they'll be able to choose from. For farangs though, the breakfast is fine. Good coffee!

Reception staff were friendly and helpful, although I was wondering why at prime check-out time (11.00am) they only had one girl struggling at the desk by herself - it took about 20 minutes for me to be attended to. Not her fault - management/staffing issue.

I also was frustrated that one of the two lifts wasn't working during my stay here. I see on other reviews this has been the case for quite a while. Why not just fix it?
At some times I was waiting up to 5 or 6 minutes for a lift - not really acceptable.

Other than these small things, it was a nice enough hotel. However, I get the feeling that there might be better value in the area, however and will look around next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lachlan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    1,051
    234
    57
    27
See reviews for
172
874
507
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
346 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We spent a week in Bangkok in this hotel. Nicely designed with quirky artworks - the hotel caters mostly for the individual tourist (no group tours thankfully & not many business types). We checked in & were handed our keys only to find the room occupied when we unlocked the room door. Very embarrasing situation followed as we did not expect to confront a couple in bed. The manager apologized for the mix up & upgraded us to a deluxe room. The room itself is spacious & included all the necessary mod cons one expects - nice flat screem TV, sufficient electrical sockets, coffee/tea msking facilities, good wardrobe space with ample hangers. There is even a funky UV blue light that surrounds the bed base. Pretty cool when you turn it on & switch the other room
Iights off. The bathoom is fine but the soap provided was of inferior quality that doesn't lather well. Something better would have been nicer. There is also only 1 telephone located next to the bed. A 2nd phone in the toilet would have been nice.

Breakfast is served on the 2 nd floor & doesnt vary much. But overall no complaints. The swimming pool is located in a new building (Dream 2) across the road on the rooftop. Whilst small, it was nicely designed & never seemed crowded when we were there (usually around 10am). They provide a free tuktuk service to Asoke BTS where the Terminal 21 mall is. This shopping mall is the newest one in town & vey nicely laid put. Quite a pleasure to shop here & loads of eating options.

The only thing which wasn't up to standard was wifi connectivity. This kept dropping & was at times extremely slow. Management should do something about this as wifi is essential to today's modern traveller. 1 lift was out of action duting half our stay so it took forever to get a lift duing the busy times but this was fixed & once a 2nd lift was operating, all was fine. Service in the hotel was very good - always a cheerful smile & greeting & most staff spoke basic English. While not the cheapest in the area, this hotel is a good place to stay (especially if you can get a good offer via Agoda or one of the booking agencies). Overall, a vety pleasant stay in a good & convenient location.

Room Tip: Healthland Spa is a 5 min stroll away. Probably one of the best places to get a massage. We bought a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scorpioshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Really a special style – I like it! The hotel is located in 2 buildings but it is every time a special event when you cross the little street and the security officer stops traffic for you. The staff is very friendly and attentive - a good service. I always see the same people there so they do not have a lot of changes (staff).
Pleasant location for different activities (and also very close to the next stations of the Skytrain). Every time when I am there I am very satisfied.
Great breakfast-buffet – no luxury but charming rooms with special design. Your stay should be a “Dream” ....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Singtoo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Good Location, Excellent Breakfast, Good Decor of the room and Friendly Stuff. There is free Tuk Tuk (taxi) available most of the time which will drop you to nearest mall/BTS. Overall experience was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jolfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

I stayed at the dream hotel in feburary 2011 and recently stayed here in August 2012. It has a great location - close to all the fun. The interior is very cool and unique, the staff are very very friendly. Food is very nice too (ordering to the room) - and it is very clean

BUT !!!!!!! Paper thin walls!!!!! - if the guest next door to you has their tv on, or coughs or has a shower, u will hear everything!! I was placed next to a rather deaf than normal guest, who watched koean chat shows very loudly most of the time. I really have never complained before in my life, but i asked to be moved to another room.... they were unable to do this at 2am and said they were full, but in the morning they moved my room ( i guess the hotel has to say they are fully booked late at night ??? )

The spa is a bit over priced for what you get, the normal 90 min massage will set you back 3000 baht, its in an average room, and has loud dogs barking outside, - for the same price u can have luxurious 90 min massage with a nice therapist at the sheraton hotel which is top class for the same price!!!! - in complete silence with nice water and spa music playing )

the hotel is very guest friendly.

would i stay here again? - At the end of the day, hotels are selling you a good nights sleep. I know bangkok is a pretty crazy place, but good sleep is very important, and if you are a light sleeper, i think you would be woken up by people above, beside and below 24 hours a day..

Room Tip: ask for a quiet floor, not next to anyone, or get a suite to ensure u wont hear next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisatkinsonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Sukhumvit Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#94 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,045 reviews
Sukhumvit
Four Points By Sheraton Bangkok, Sukhumvit 15
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#85 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Sukhumvit
Hotel Icon Bangkok
Hotel Icon Bangkok
#111 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Bangkok

Property: Dream Bangkok
Address: 10 Sukhumvit Soi 15 | Kloengtoey Nua, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit , Wattana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#88 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#91 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#106 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#132 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,516 - ₹ 7,593
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream Bangkok is a fabulous 5 star service boutique hotel with a trendy and modern design. It is conveniently situated in the heart of Sukhumvit, Bangkok’s pulse for fashion, business, entertainment, nightlife, international hospital and shopping centres, within a short walking distance to the BTS Sky Train and MRT Metro station (Asoke); thus connecting its guest to the city’s famous tourist sites and attractions. It is an ideal for business and leisure travelers seeking a new hotel experience in one of Bangkok’s best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dream Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Dream Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Dream Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing