We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Dream Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dream Bangkok
Ranked #92 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I've stayed at The Dream twice, once about 5 years ago soon after it opened and a second time about a month ago and I have to say for the cost what you get there is excellent. Great location on a quiet soi, just off Sukhumvit, nice comfortable rooms with good amenities that they must renovate often because given the 5 years between stays my room 1 month ago was identical in condition as when I stayed there 5 years earlier. Very pleasant and helpful staff ( the porter that came to my room with my bags actually remembered me from 5 years ago, Amazing!), a nice restaurant and even a pool. During the long break between stays I stayed at hotels that were much more expensive (Starwood) but from now on I will stay at The Dream when in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank celtic53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,650)
There are newer reviews for Dream Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,405 - 1,409 of 2,650 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed 2 nights in the Dream Hotel. I was influenced by the several good reviews found here. However, as with most travel tales, there are usually some negatives to go with the positives. First of all, I had requested for a twin bed room through a website booking but upon checkin, the reception could only offer my colleague and I a room with 2 single beds (sort of 2 separate mattress on a double bed?). Ok if one doesnt move alot at night!! Room amenities was sufficient, big flat TV with DVD player. Although the shower glass partition definitely needs to be enlarged to prevent water falling outside, you do however get the rain shower head which was nice for a change.

Only big issue we had was checking out. We asked for an hour's extension but was declined. Then the maid came in to check the mini-bar and found a full bottle of Bacardi with its cap twisted . We had to explain at the reception that this was not our doing etc. They had initially wanted to charge us for it but we were adamant that it was not our duty to check every item for correctness! So they then gave us a pad to write and sign off - apparently for their accounts department.

Called it bad luck whatever, but we thought this matter could have been handled differently. It just left a sour taste in our mouths after our stay.

Room Tip: Take rooms higher than the 3rd floor cos the noise from the bar floor below doesnt shut down until l...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenttan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelJaun, Manager at Dream Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Dream Bangkok. I am truly disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations.

I would like to respond to the comments raised on your review:
Not assigning a proper TWIN room for your stay was clearly a mistake from our staff, please accept my sincere apologies for this mistake. According to the Front Desk Staff helping you upon check-in, you have unfortunately not advised us of this error upon arrival. We would have been happy to rectify this situation for you immediately.

Regarding your check-out: Please be advised that the normal check-out time at our hotel is 12.00 (noon). Our records show that the Front Desk Staff extended this for one hour until 1pm. We were unfortunately not able to provide a later check-out time as the hotel was fully booked on your departure day.

Regarding the bottle of Bacardi: I absolutely agree with you that it is not your duty to check that every item in the minibar is untouched. Kindly be advised that prior to check-in of every guest, our Housekeeping Team does check the guestroom minibar. As you confirmed upon check-out that you didn’t open said bottle of Bacardi, our Front Desk assumed that the minibar hasn’t been properly checked by Housekeeping prior to your arrival.

I hope you will allow us the opportunity to show you this level of service is not indicative of the usual high standards at our hotel and will come to visit us again.

Thank you and best regards,
Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I've traveled to Bangkok three times this year, staying in somewhat random hotels found on Agoda. I also found the Dream Hotel randomly and booked two nights on Agoda. Two nights in case I just didn't like it and wanted to move.

Now, two weeks later and I'm still staying at the Dream Hotel, it's quite simply the best hotel for money (tip - book a night, then go to the front desk and extend your stay they'll discount it a further 10%). If you've ever been to a W hotel, that's very much the atmosphere at the Dream. Fashionable rooms, attentive service, expert room cleaning, fast wifi, rooftop pool, decent gym equipment, free water, amazing buffet breakfast 6:30-11 every day. Oh... free fruit and cookies in your room every day.

I don't write many reviews and I rarely rave about anything, but I'm enjoying my stay here. I'm here for business and to enjoy myself. Dream hotel makes both a pleasure. When I return to BKK, I'll be staying at the Dream.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the 10th floor on in the Dream 2 building. It's the top floor with the gym on the...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PinkBoxDonuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We initially booked for just 2 nights, but were impressed enough to extend our stay to the whole week. The hotel is much pricier than other hotels, but is value for money when you take all things into consideration. The service is excellent throughout the hotel, we checked in at 2 am with ease and were made to feel special and welcome. The price of all food & drinks is high with a compulsory 10% service charge and 7% tax, though this is found in just about all upmarket hotels/restaurants in Bangkok. The hotel provides free mineral water though in the rooms which is a nice touch. The breakfast is.excellent with a wide range of choices from British fry up, to continental and Asian, including made to order omelettes which are delicious. I was a little disappointed that there was no wifi in the rooms, only a data cable, useless for iPads - although the Wifi in public areas is very fast. I was also disappointed with the service when we tried to extend our stay, we were quoted different prices from two different lobby staff, both of which were more expensive than our initial per night booking with Agoda , l was surprised that they did not seem interested in offering a longer stay discount and only after showing them the quote on the Agoda website would they agree to reduce the price to that. The last point I will make is that the location is excellent, the hotel is located on a quiet street (which is perfect after a day in Bangkok's chaotic streets), but it is just a few minutes walk from the Asok Sky train stop and a few minutes from the nightlife at sukhumvit 11 or the more daring Cowboy Sol. All in all an excellent place to stay in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are the only ones with the under floor blue lighting, a chill out feature that is worth...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times and it got better each time, always booked a delux king room however the 3rd time we got a free upgrade to Dream suite which was nice as it was not expected at all. On returning to the hotel each afternoon we always found nice suprises in our room - cookies, chocolates, fruits,etc we loved it an

The staff is so nice especially the porters who always remembered us. The pool is on the roof top of Dream 2 across the road from the hotel and it didnt bother us at all having to walk over to the next building and there is a bar by the pool with lovely cocktails.
If you will be arriving with lots of bags make sure you know which building you are booked in as the taxi drivers (depending which side of the road you coming from) might take you to the wrong building.
Location is perfect, in the heart of everything however away from the noise.

Have read other not so good reviews and I just dont see why the negativity. This is not The Ritz hence you havent paid £500/night so quit complaining. For a hotel like this in London for example you will probably pay 3 times more than what you are paying at this hotel... Infact some of the expensive hotels in London are not as good, you dont get this service unless you are a celebrity or pull up in a porsche.

Adivice - like any other hotel in Thailand (except Pacific Clup in Phuket) avoid eating at the hotel restaurant as the prices are a bit high and probably not as good and exotic as what you get outside. This includes the spas.

So to sum it up, we always enjoy our stay at Dream hotel and we get what we pay for and then some.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NonosSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#100 of 879 in Bangkok
4,408 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#87 of 879 in Bangkok
2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#15 of 879 in Bangkok
1,365 reviews
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#55 of 879 in Bangkok
1,500 reviews
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#187 of 879 in Bangkok
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Bangkok

Address: 10 Sukhumvit Soi 15 | Kloengtoey Nua, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit , Wattana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#82 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#91 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#131 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: ₹ 4,178 - ₹ 6,686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream Bangkok is a fabulous 5 star service boutique hotel with a trendy and modern design. It is conveniently situated in the heart of Sukhumvit, Bangkok’s pulse for fashion, business, entertainment, nightlife, international hospital and shopping centres, within a short walking distance to the BTS Sky Train and MRT Metro station (Asoke); thus connecting its guest to the city’s famous tourist sites and attractions. It is an ideal for business and leisure travelers seeking a new hotel experience in one of Bangkok’s best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Dream Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Dream Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Dream Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing